SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5522 (Misses shirts)

55 more reviews
Viewed 335 times 
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 143
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 77 people
patterns reviewed: 134
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:6/6/11 11:40 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mushywear said...
I just love the batik you used and I love rayon batik for skirts, so I imagine it would be great for a top too. I'm not sure about the pulling. I am curious what others might say. I do wonder if it is the lower armscye as well. The blouse looks great though and is so pretty. I hope you get lots of wear out of it.
6/7/11 2:59 AM
Margaret said...
Yes, it could be that the pulling means the armscye is too low, given that the body and sleeves are not very loose-fitting. But the shirt does look good on you, so I really hope the pulling isn't too bad to wear it!
6/7/11 3:03 AM
GlobalMom said...
Now you're running ahead of me! This pattern is in my to make pile for fall... Looks great!
6/7/11 4:31 AM
KatC83 said...
I really like this! The fabric turns it from a nice shirt to a stunning shirt. I don't know enough about sewing to offer advice on the fitting issues - but I can assure you that you are not alone with having an unmotivated cameraman!!
6/7/11 4:43 AM
cleverkitty said...
pulling when raising your arms is something my DD experience on the last blouse she made. I bought the book Fit for Real People by Pati Palmer & Marta Alto, if you do not already have this book I highly recommend it, I started on page 1 and I am reading it like a novel it is so good. The book has a lot of excellent easy to understand fit instruction that show every consequence. I also bought the Jacket and Pants books in the series. Blouse does look great on you regardless of the fit.
6/7/11 8:38 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Simplicity 2209

photo
by: sarahark

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2009-127

photo
by: Maree P

Review