SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8726 (Misses Dress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 999 times 
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Astarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 101
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 67 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/20/11 2:42 AM
Last Updated:6/25/11 11:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dingyadi said...
They have a rather variable definition of 'very easy' by the looks of your comments. The end result is stunning though - beautiful colour and a perfect match of fabric and pattern. I never would have realised how great the design lines are from the pattern pic, but your fabric really highlights the seaming. The dress looks quite sculptural and terribly elegant.
6/20/11 7:36 AM
Kim12469 said...
Thanks for such a detailed review. I hate when I'm surprised by a supposedly easy pattern. The end result is gorgeous though and worth the work.
6/20/11 8:48 AM
lakaribane said...
Thank you for the thorough review. I have this on my wishlist and appreciate the warning. Love the colour you chose, so pretty! The dress does have beautiful lines. ETA Now that I've seen the photo shoot, I love it even more (cute Lama btw)
6/20/11 8:58 AM
BexInMD said...
What a beautiful version of this dress! Thanks for the helpful comments. Can't wait to see the photos of the back.
6/20/11 9:42 AM
ArtAttack said...
Gorgeous dress and great review...I've often eyed this pattern but...if it is still in style when I retire (in my next lifetime) I'll make it then!
6/20/11 9:55 AM
Christas said...
Ooooh, how pretty! I want this pattern now. Thank you for your very thorough review. I can't wait to see pics of you wearing your lovely dress. Nice sewing!
6/20/11 10:10 AM
Sue Parrott said...
I too made this dress recently in a tan color. I wish I had made a more bold color choice as yours is great! I too didn't feel this was a very easy pattern and also had to take in the bust and waist area to make it fit. Great review!
6/20/11 11:56 AM
JillyBe said...
So pretty! And your dd wears it beautifully :)
6/20/11 9:03 PM
cindy-lou said...
Thanks for the detailed review. I have some black Armani fabric from PR weekend picked out for this pattern. Your details definitely will help me get the results I'm looking for.
6/20/11 10:49 PM
Terri A said...
Thx all and I'm so glad the review is useful! :-)
6/21/11 0:33 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
A home run, right outta da park! Just stunning, and the photo set really makes the color sing. thanks for the nitty gritty pointers too.
6/21/11 8:18 AM
becca a said...
What a fabulous dress! What a great photo shoot! You always do such a fabulous job on every aspect of your sewing projects from matching fabric to pattern all the way through an informative review with wonderful pictures that look like they tell a story.
6/21/11 9:02 AM
marec said...
This review is a mini sewing lesson-thank you! I love the resulting dress, especially in that color. Good contrast with the B/W llama :-)
6/21/11 11:34 AM
Terri A said...
Haha yes Inca (said llama) is such a Diva! He wasn't exactly helpful for my picture taking, although he graciously allowed his head to be seen twice.
6/21/11 12:47 PM
FreyaStark said...
A fabulous dress, an excellent review and a cute llama.
6/26/11 6:32 AM
Heatherrique said...
Very charming dress! Very nicely constructed!
6/26/11 11:06 PM
SewWil said...
Wow! Beautiful dress. Great job.Thanks for the detailed review.
6/27/11 1:36 PM
Sewphie said...
Thanks so much for such a detailed review -- am getting ready to make a muslin before cutting out the final fabric -- yours turned out wonderfully!
6/29/11 3:16 AM
Elke said...
Gorgeous dress and I love the photo shoot! Thanks for the review!
7/4/11 8:39 PM
Terri Smith said...
Thank you so much for such a nice review. I feel the pattern company bailed out on the home sewing enthusiast by offering "no provision" for the most often adjustments made to a garment! Your photos and review are a guiding light to the rest of us. Thank you so much.
7/5/11 6:50 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks for the encouraging comments! I don't deserve it - but it is always nice to have sewing support:-)
8/21/11 11:41 PM
Thera said...
That's a beautiful dress and lovely colour too. it looks expensive..
1/27/12 7:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Simplicity 1938

photo
by: Futuralon

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2011-105

photo
by: Dilliander

Review
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Buy Now
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Buy Now