SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6405 (Knit Tops)

33 more reviews
Viewed 1663 times 
Reviewed by:kirianth
photo

 
 
About kirianthstar
WA USA
Member since: 2/16/03
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/26/04 3:46 AM
Last Updated:8/26/04 3:52 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JDpenelope said...
Your photo is a great advertisement for this pattern--I can see from your review that you are very particular, but it looks beautiful on.
8/29/04 8:08 AM
kirianth said...
Aww, thanks everyone for the kind words! Just to clarify--this is perhaps even more of a mock-wrap than a mock-wrap. There is no overlap in fabric, so absolutely NO possibility of gaping, no matter how well-endowed you are (unless you regularly spill out of t-shirts). It's not a T with trim stitched on, it's a T with trim stitched into a seam.
8/27/04 10:48 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I like your top very much. I like the crossover above bust. I think it would work for full busted as well as smaller, no gaping at actual bust level. Thanks for the review. Like the contrasting band with this.
8/27/04 5:50 AM
Lori V said...
cute top, I just bought this pattern for my dd. Thanks for the review
8/26/04 10:39 PM
Liana said...
Very cute top! jlg, I always heard it was the itty bitty t*tty committee! Alliteration, you know. No, I was never a member, so I may be wrong.
8/26/04 9:30 PM
gabrielle said...
Hey, I really like it! Good job. I'm thinking this could have an advantage for larger cup sizes, since the wrap wouldn't cut across the full part of the bust the way they normally do. Anyway, nice top, and I hope you at least got a nap in later.
8/26/04 6:31 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
Thanks for a helpful review - I think I might get this one as I'm always on the lookout for a good Tshirt pattern. I like the look of the other styles in the pattern too.
8/26/04 5:26 PM
JoleneF said...
I also have been eyeing this top, I really like yours. I think I will be picking this one up.
8/26/04 5:15 PM
Gina Marie said...
What a great review !! I have been mulling picking this pattern up for a while, and now I think I will !! Your top looks so nice !
8/26/04 1:16 PM
Hilary said...
Cute, cute cute! It looks really good on you. I'd love to see your next version, and hopefully you can get those fitting issues resolved. I may have to try this one :o)
8/26/04 9:59 AM
Sew it seams said...
I really like your T. The color combo is great. The higher cross-over is very flattering, and you don't have to worry about 'gap-osis'.
8/26/04 8:04 AM
Tiner W said...
Great top! And as a B- cup size (or A+?), it's great to see a modestly cut crossover! Thanks for the review!
8/26/04 7:55 AM
Karla Kizer said...
I'm so glad you reviewed this one. I bought the pattern for my daughter, but after seeing your version, I think I can use it for myself, too. And thanks for the warning about the fit; I'll definitely measure before cutting. The fit might not be exactly what you wanted, but it is certainly wearable and provides plenty of inspiration for all of us. I noticed when I read the back of the pattern, that this one is drafted with negative ease; I think the 'pulls" that you are complaining about were inevitable because of the snug fit NL was aiming for. Think of the snug knit shirts in RTW - they PULL and wrinkle - but still the public buys them. You are right in style. Thanks for the review.
8/26/04 6:55 AM
Deepika said...
I just got this pattern! Your review is very helpful! Can't wait to try it. Love your t!
8/26/04 6:55 AM
kira said...
Love it! You did a great job!!
8/26/04 6:34 AM
jlg said...
It is a cute top and being a member of the club (sewsue, that would be the itty bitty t____ club), I'll need to hunt this pattern down.
8/26/04 5:50 AM
sewsue said...
Lovely top! What is IBTC? I realise I'm probably the only person left in the world who doesn't know, but I just had to ask. Thanks for the review and all the detail, I really like the pattern and I intend to make it.
8/26/04 4:54 AM
AnneM said...
2 AM! You have to get some sleep. Great top. I really like that style. It might not be a perfect fit for you, but it is certainly wearable. I am probably going to have to pick up this pattern!
8/26/04 4:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

PerfectFuse Light White

PerfectFuse Light White

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Buy Now