SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1246 (Misses' ShirtMizono)

9 more reviews
Viewed 511 times 
Reviewed by:ClaireOKC
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ClaireOKCstar
OK USA
Member since: 9/22/07
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/11 10:20 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cmarie12 said...
I love how you matched the floral print! This is a lovely top!
6/9/11 9:27 AM
Tall Mary said...
This is a stunning match of fabric and pattern. I have looked at this pattern and will probably buy it, thanks to you. I appreciate the thorough review.
6/12/11 12:49 PM
Lirio said...
Hi Claire, Like your adjustments on this pattern very much. Would love to see the back though. It is obviously a very full back & you have used a dart. Does it make a big difference with all that pleated fabric??? Thanks so much for sharing...luisa lirio
6/12/11 11:47 PM
ClaireOKC said...
@Lirio....I didn't do the back, probably because it was so basic, but will include a photo of the back. I did diagonal darts like ones in front, that meet on the side seams - the detail is in a place where no one sees, unfortunately. Actually there's no pleating to it, I just took it up to fit, which is what I recommend for anyone doing this pattern, and some may not even have to take it up at all, but those darts give it a little shape that always makes anyone look prettier!
6/13/11 9:04 AM
Lirio said...
Thanks for your reply Claire. Sorry for being dense, but when you say you took the back up to fit, do you mean you eliminated the apparent fullness from the back altogether & made a flat back?
6/16/11 6:33 PM
Athene said...
An exquisite top and beautiful fabric print.
6/17/11 1:47 AM
ClaireOKC said...
@Lirio - yeah - I took the back up to fit....I put up a couple of croquis and hopefully this will show what I did. I took a lot out of center back and then put in a side dart to shape the waist, but I also shaped on the waist on the center back...I have a little video and I talked a little more in depth on that video - it's on YouTube so you should be able to see it. Here are the links to the croquis sketches http://clairekennedydesign.com/patternreview/mizono_croquis_redeux.jpg http://clairekennedydesign.com/patternreview/mizono_croquis_original.jpg
6/17/11 6:22 PM
Lirio said...
Got it. I think the pattern has been much improved by your changes! Will now try it. Thanks so much for your contributions.
6/22/11 6:15 PM
powderpuff said...
Thank you for the review and especially the link to Marci Tilton fabrics
7/20/11 8:45 AM
JillyBe said...
I haven't been looking through the Big 4 patterns for awhile - was browsing today & fell in love w/ this one & came home with it, hoping it had been reviewed. I'm thoroughly delighted & can't wait to make it after reading your very helpful review - thank you; your version looks fabulous!
9/2/11 10:57 PM
NJcowgirl said...
Just starting this. Thanks so much for your thorough review!
12/20/12 4:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

McCall's 5160

photo
by: ClioBklyn

Review
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Buy Now
DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

Buy Now