Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5847 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 553 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:Lynnelle
photo
Friend of PR
About Lynnellestarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 55 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/18/11 8:01 PM
Last Updated:6/18/11 8:03 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $13.56 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $13.56  List Price: $16.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kay Y said...
What a great looking dress! Enjoy it.
6/18/11 8:27 PM
1betsy1 said...
Very nice dress. And what a Great review! Thanks
6/18/11 8:38 PM
Sallygirl1 said...
I just finished looking at your dress on the Summer Dress Challenge. It looks like a purchased jean dress.
6/18/11 9:15 PM
bananaoil said...
Your topstitching is excellent! I have one of these on my to do list. Have yet to track down just the right lightweight denim. Get yourself a thimble that fits your middle finger. Use it to push the needle through anything. I suffered till I learned to sew with a thimble. Now hand sewing is actually pleasant.
6/18/11 9:29 PM
Patti B said...
This is such a classic and cute too. Nicely done!
6/18/11 9:47 PM
Lynnelle said...
Thank you all for the comments. To get the topstitching even, I use my machine's blind hem foot to sew the line closest to the seam. Then I switch to the zigzag foot and move the needle over a bit (1.0 on my machine). In both cases, I set my machine's speed to sew slowly; this gives me the greatest amount of control.
6/18/11 9:47 PM
SheBear0320 said...
Love your denim dress and the fit is fabulous -- a denim dress is on my future sewing list ... I'll definitely be keeping this pattern in mind. Thanks for a great review.
6/18/11 10:53 PM
Q Valley Mary said...
I wasn't overly impressed with this pattern till I saw what you did with it. Great dress!
6/18/11 11:15 PM
RobinE said...
You did a great job-- it looks beautiful on you! Thanks for the great review.
6/18/11 11:29 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
I love your shirtdress. The topstitching looks very professional and the button choice really works. This is my choice of pattern for a shirtdress too so I'm going to tuck your review away for future reference. Thanks.
6/19/11 0:00 AM
Terri A said...
Fabulous dress!
6/19/11 0:52 AM
Knitters Delight said...
It really does look like you picked it up at a store. Nothing homemade about this dress!
6/19/11 1:57 AM
Scheryka said...
Great job! You could not have bought it better!
6/19/11 7:53 AM
jbrewer said...
How clever to make the dress out of denim! I'm really impressed with your perfect topstitching and your fitting. The belt adds a lot too. Great job!
6/19/11 9:27 AM
becca a said...
What a great shirtdress! Your topstitching is gorgeous, and your fit is perfect.
6/19/11 10:56 AM
RLL said...
Nothing better than a shirtdress in denim. It will never go out of style!
6/19/11 11:12 AM
Margaret said...
Looks great on you, excellent fit! The topstitching is really nice!
6/19/11 11:16 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful, perfect topstitching. Love it on you as well.
6/19/11 3:25 PM
Erin D said...
Your alterations really paid off-the fit of the dress looks great. Love the topstitching!
6/19/11 6:34 PM
michellep74 said...
The dress looks great, and it fits you perfectly! I'm glad that you're making more of these.
6/19/11 9:42 PM
cmcarr said...
I love your dress. The fit is perfect. I recently made this dress but I have to work on the fit. I have another cut and ready to go. Very comfy.
6/19/11 10:43 PM
ArtAttack said...
Adorable! Looks great on you...
6/19/11 11:56 PM
Ruth Designs said...
You did a great job!
6/22/11 5:40 PM
Steffie said...
This dress looks even better in person -- I have had the pleasure of seeing it. You did such a great job on this one, Lynn. Very nice!
7/4/11 8:12 AM
AndreaSews said...
Your dress is fabulous! A great fit, and great construction. It's making me want to run out and get this pattern!
7/20/11 10:52 PM
madbadger said...
Really great dress - was looking at shirt dress patterns and your review (and dress) sold me on this one - thanks for writing an excellent review.
7/7/13 1:16 PM
MilongueraThreads said...
Thank you for this! I picked this pattern out to duplicate a denim shirtdress I had in college also, and we're the same size! Your dress looks great and I hope the second one you make turns out wonderfully as well!
7/18/13 10:13 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Butterick 4978
photo
Review by Vellela on 1/24/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Isabella Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Isabella Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2403 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by chickenlip... on 10/2/11
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fanny Pack or Purse
Fanny Pack or Purse

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1357 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1357 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8807 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8807 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us