SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5847 

12 more reviews
Viewed 588 times 
Reviewed by:Lynnelle
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lynnellestarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 58 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/18/11 8:01 PM
Last Updated:6/18/11 8:03 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kay Y said...
What a great looking dress! Enjoy it.
6/18/11 8:27 PM
1betsy1 said...
Very nice dress. And what a Great review! Thanks
6/18/11 8:38 PM
Sallygirl1 said...
I just finished looking at your dress on the Summer Dress Challenge. It looks like a purchased jean dress.
6/18/11 9:15 PM
bananaoil said...
Your topstitching is excellent! I have one of these on my to do list. Have yet to track down just the right lightweight denim. Get yourself a thimble that fits your middle finger. Use it to push the needle through anything. I suffered till I learned to sew with a thimble. Now hand sewing is actually pleasant.
6/18/11 9:29 PM
Patti B said...
This is such a classic and cute too. Nicely done!
6/18/11 9:47 PM
Lynnelle said...
Thank you all for the comments. To get the topstitching even, I use my machine's blind hem foot to sew the line closest to the seam. Then I switch to the zigzag foot and move the needle over a bit (1.0 on my machine). In both cases, I set my machine's speed to sew slowly; this gives me the greatest amount of control.
6/18/11 9:47 PM
SheBear0320 said...
Love your denim dress and the fit is fabulous -- a denim dress is on my future sewing list ... I'll definitely be keeping this pattern in mind. Thanks for a great review.
6/18/11 10:53 PM
Q Valley Mary said...
I wasn't overly impressed with this pattern till I saw what you did with it. Great dress!
6/18/11 11:15 PM
RobinE said...
You did a great job-- it looks beautiful on you! Thanks for the great review.
6/18/11 11:29 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
I love your shirtdress. The topstitching looks very professional and the button choice really works. This is my choice of pattern for a shirtdress too so I'm going to tuck your review away for future reference. Thanks.
6/19/11 0:00 AM
Terri A said...
Fabulous dress!
6/19/11 0:52 AM
Knitters Delight said...
It really does look like you picked it up at a store. Nothing homemade about this dress!
6/19/11 1:57 AM
Scheryka said...
Great job! You could not have bought it better!
6/19/11 7:53 AM
jbrewer said...
How clever to make the dress out of denim! I'm really impressed with your perfect topstitching and your fitting. The belt adds a lot too. Great job!
6/19/11 9:27 AM
becca a said...
What a great shirtdress! Your topstitching is gorgeous, and your fit is perfect.
6/19/11 10:56 AM
RLL said...
Nothing better than a shirtdress in denim. It will never go out of style!
6/19/11 11:12 AM
Margaret said...
Looks great on you, excellent fit! The topstitching is really nice!
6/19/11 11:16 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful, perfect topstitching. Love it on you as well.
6/19/11 3:25 PM
Erin D said...
Your alterations really paid off-the fit of the dress looks great. Love the topstitching!
6/19/11 6:34 PM
michellep74 said...
The dress looks great, and it fits you perfectly! I'm glad that you're making more of these.
6/19/11 9:42 PM
cmcarr said...
I love your dress. The fit is perfect. I recently made this dress but I have to work on the fit. I have another cut and ready to go. Very comfy.
6/19/11 10:43 PM
ArtAttack said...
Adorable! Looks great on you...
6/19/11 11:56 PM
Ruth Designs said...
You did a great job!
6/22/11 5:40 PM
Steffie said...
This dress looks even better in person -- I have had the pleasure of seeing it. You did such a great job on this one, Lynn. Very nice!
7/4/11 8:12 AM
AndreaSews said...
Your dress is fabulous! A great fit, and great construction. It's making me want to run out and get this pattern!
7/20/11 10:52 PM
madbadger said...
Really great dress - was looking at shirt dress patterns and your review (and dress) sold me on this one - thanks for writing an excellent review.
7/7/13 1:16 PM
MilongueraThreads said...
Thank you for this! I picked this pattern out to duplicate a denim shirtdress I had in college also, and we're the same size! Your dress looks great and I hope the second one you make turns out wonderfully as well!
7/18/13 10:13 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

New Look 6830

photo
by: wendlesue

Review
McCall's 6322

photo
by: Julia Bobb...

Review
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Buy Now