Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2181 (Misses' Knit Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1163 times 27 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 136
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/9/11 7:50 AM
Last Updated:6/14/11 10:37 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SandyTaz said...
Your top is so cute! It really looks nice. Good job!
6/9/11 7:57 AM
sewingsilly said...
Looks fantastic! Nice print too!!
6/9/11 8:01 AM
Gelbean said...
Love your top! The fabric is really nice. The lego surprised me and I burst out in laughter.
6/9/11 8:02 AM
Nan Kay said...
You got a great fit with this top! Another pattern that I need! Looks really good on you.
6/9/11 8:07 AM
Knitz said...
Very figure flattering -- nicely done! I hear you about ITY knits though -- although some do seem worse offenders than others, so don't give up on them all.
6/9/11 8:17 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
I'm so excited! This is so cute on you and I have the pattern! Giant facings....hmmmmm. Maybe binding or a narrow ribbing, would work better.
6/9/11 8:22 AM
sewbehind said...
Lovely top on you. Check out The Sewing Lawyer's tutorial (blog) on the Jalie dress. She has a review here too. (Kay Y) She explains the technique they use on the Jalie dress. It might be just what you are looking for.
6/9/11 8:36 AM
carolynw said...
Great looking top - fit is perfect
6/9/11 9:06 AM
SewWil said...
Very pretty top. I just picked up this pattern. Yours fits you very well. The lego picture made me laugh. Nice touch.
6/9/11 9:50 AM
JanieBee said...
In spite of its polyesterness, this looks wonderful on you! Great fit!
6/9/11 9:54 AM
marec said...
haha, clever woman with the lego analogy. I love the top on you and the fit is perfection for your lean self. I have not made this pattern but have made others with a lining through the bust area. Modesty issue?
6/9/11 10:05 AM
TanyaDenise said...
Very cute top.
6/9/11 11:35 AM
SewSho said...
Great top!
6/9/11 11:52 AM
StellaTB said...
I passed over this pattern many times but your photo makes me want to pick it up and give it a try, thanks!
6/9/11 12:36 PM
GlobalMom said...
Are we pattern twins yet again? I just picked up this pattern at the last Simpicity sale at Joann's.... I think it just went up a few notches on the "to be sewn" list. Thanks for the review!
6/9/11 1:09 PM
cleverkitty said...
I wrote this pattern down once I saw your top, love the style and fabric. As far as jersey I HATE working with it too, the coverstitch machine is the best answer to this fabric. I usually bind the armholes, stabilize the neck and by time I get to the hem I want to run out and buy a coverstitch machine, my serger does not have that feature :(
6/9/11 3:55 PM
blondieinparis said...
This top looks great on you! ITY jersey always behaves better for me if I use a walking foot.
6/9/11 4:52 PM
imsewcrazy said...
I really love your top. It looks better on you than it does the girl on the envelope!
6/9/11 5:26 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
Your "magical" top is perfect! Great fit, very flattering!
6/9/11 5:50 PM
Ms. Bijou said...
Very nice! Perfect fit!!
6/9/11 7:37 PM
loti said...
OMG too funny, you are not a lego, love the top it is beautiful!
6/9/11 7:54 PM
beginagain said...
Love the top! I find the #12 ballpoint needle gives better results than the stretch needle. Also I second the walking foot.
6/9/11 11:14 PM
MNBarb said...
Wow! Thanks everyone. I did use a walking foot and it was helpful. I think I'm just so accustomed to sewing natural fabrics like linen that stay where you put them. I need lots more practice with these wiggly knits.
6/10/11 8:09 AM
VivianZ said...
I love your top, especially with that fabric, so cute. I just bought an ITY knit to try. I have tried others knits , but then still want to forget it. I have a serger with a coverstitch, and still don't like it. But I just read to starch the dickens out of where you are having trouble, and that helps. So I will try that.
6/10/11 8:41 AM
Christas said...
WOW!!!!!! Barb, this is a very flattering top on you! Fantastic review!
6/14/11 11:02 PM
dingyadi said...
What a gorgeous top and fabulous colour fabric. You are definitely not Lego shaped! I've never noticed this pattern before but will be checking it out now for sure.
6/15/11 4:16 AM
sewbehind said...
Wow, Barb, that pink one is gorgeous. You look great in that top. In place of a coverstitch machine you can always try a twin stretch needle. That will give you the same look, but not quite the stretch of a coverstitch.
6/15/11 10:02 AM
marec said...
wow-very nice top Barb.
6/15/11 11:50 AM
JTink said...
Great looking top and I just love this color
6/15/11 11:54 AM
CarolynGM said...
It's a lovely, very flattering top. I love the toughened Jell-O description of ITY jersey.
6/15/11 2:18 PM
Barbara V said...
Love your "tickled pink" version. Had not noticed this variation of the twist top. I like the twist positioned lower. It is indeed very flattering on you. Great job and enjoyable review! Don't worry about the scary inside! No one will ever know ;-)
6/16/11 12:13 PM
ArtAttack said...
Great top...definitely your color
6/20/11 1:18 AM
Kathy7661 said...
I was just looking at this pattern. Wish I would have seen your review first, I would have purchased it. Very pretty and I love the color!
6/20/11 1:56 PM
JETrinity said...
This is a really cute pattern you have selected and it really looks nice on you. Trying to catch up with my PR email.
6/23/11 9:29 PM
JETrinity said...
This is a really cute pattern you have selected and it really looks nice on you. Trying to catch up with my PR email.
6/23/11 9:29 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very nice looking color and style on you! Thanks for your VH review.
6/24/11 3:33 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Your top is darling, I love the pink too!
7/17/11 11:32 PM
sewin said...
Great review. I'm about to start sewing this top with a really thin knit. I'm a little apprehensive. Yours certainly is becoming.
9/19/11 7:50 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Love your pink top! Helpful review too, thanks.
10/22/11 7:43 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

KnipMode Magazine 07-2009-22
photo
Review by squirrelly... on 11/13/09
Read Review

McCalls 6366 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6366 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size 311/2-32 1/2 )
McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size 311/2-32 1/2 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1224 misses dress
photo
Review by imsewcrazy on 5/21/12
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Camille's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Camille's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Annabelle Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )
Peek-A Boo Annabelle Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us