SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2181 (Misses' Knit Tops)

31 more reviews
Viewed 1188 times 
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 146
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 82 people
patterns reviewed: 137
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/9/11 7:50 AM
Last Updated:6/14/11 10:37 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Love your pink top! Helpful review too, thanks.
10/22/11 7:43 PM
sewin said...
Great review. I'm about to start sewing this top with a really thin knit. I'm a little apprehensive. Yours certainly is becoming.
9/19/11 7:50 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Your top is darling, I love the pink too!
7/17/11 11:32 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very nice looking color and style on you! Thanks for your VH review.
6/24/11 3:33 PM
JETrinity said...
This is a really cute pattern you have selected and it really looks nice on you. Trying to catch up with my PR email.
6/23/11 9:29 PM
JETrinity said...
This is a really cute pattern you have selected and it really looks nice on you. Trying to catch up with my PR email.
6/23/11 9:29 PM
Kathy7661 said...
I was just looking at this pattern. Wish I would have seen your review first, I would have purchased it. Very pretty and I love the color!
6/20/11 1:56 PM
ArtAttack said...
Great top...definitely your color
6/20/11 1:18 AM
Barbara V said...
Love your "tickled pink" version. Had not noticed this variation of the twist top. I like the twist positioned lower. It is indeed very flattering on you. Great job and enjoyable review! Don't worry about the scary inside! No one will ever know ;-)
6/16/11 12:13 PM
CarolynGM said...
It's a lovely, very flattering top. I love the toughened Jell-O description of ITY jersey.
6/15/11 2:18 PM
JTink said...
Great looking top and I just love this color
6/15/11 11:54 AM
marec said...
wow-very nice top Barb.
6/15/11 11:50 AM
sewbehind said...
Wow, Barb, that pink one is gorgeous. You look great in that top. In place of a coverstitch machine you can always try a twin stretch needle. That will give you the same look, but not quite the stretch of a coverstitch.
6/15/11 10:02 AM
dingyadi said...
What a gorgeous top and fabulous colour fabric. You are definitely not Lego shaped! I've never noticed this pattern before but will be checking it out now for sure.
6/15/11 4:16 AM
Christas said...
WOW!!!!!! Barb, this is a very flattering top on you! Fantastic review!
6/14/11 11:02 PM
VivianZ said...
I love your top, especially with that fabric, so cute. I just bought an ITY knit to try. I have tried others knits , but then still want to forget it. I have a serger with a coverstitch, and still don't like it. But I just read to starch the dickens out of where you are having trouble, and that helps. So I will try that.
6/10/11 8:41 AM
MNBarb said...
Wow! Thanks everyone. I did use a walking foot and it was helpful. I think I'm just so accustomed to sewing natural fabrics like linen that stay where you put them. I need lots more practice with these wiggly knits.
6/10/11 8:09 AM
beginagain said...
Love the top! I find the #12 ballpoint needle gives better results than the stretch needle. Also I second the walking foot.
6/9/11 11:14 PM
loti said...
OMG too funny, you are not a lego, love the top it is beautiful!
6/9/11 7:54 PM
Ms. Bijou said...
Very nice! Perfect fit!!
6/9/11 7:37 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
Your "magical" top is perfect! Great fit, very flattering!
6/9/11 5:50 PM
imsewcrazy said...
I really love your top. It looks better on you than it does the girl on the envelope!
6/9/11 5:26 PM
blondieinparis said...
This top looks great on you! ITY jersey always behaves better for me if I use a walking foot.
6/9/11 4:52 PM
cleverkitty said...
I wrote this pattern down once I saw your top, love the style and fabric. As far as jersey I HATE working with it too, the coverstitch machine is the best answer to this fabric. I usually bind the armholes, stabilize the neck and by time I get to the hem I want to run out and buy a coverstitch machine, my serger does not have that feature :(
6/9/11 3:55 PM
GlobalMom said...
Are we pattern twins yet again? I just picked up this pattern at the last Simpicity sale at Joann's.... I think it just went up a few notches on the "to be sewn" list. Thanks for the review!
6/9/11 1:09 PM
StellaTB said...
I passed over this pattern many times but your photo makes me want to pick it up and give it a try, thanks!
6/9/11 12:36 PM
SewSho said...
Great top!
6/9/11 11:52 AM
TanyaDenise said...
Very cute top.
6/9/11 11:35 AM
marec said...
haha, clever woman with the lego analogy. I love the top on you and the fit is perfection for your lean self. I have not made this pattern but have made others with a lining through the bust area. Modesty issue?
6/9/11 10:05 AM
JanieBee said...
In spite of its polyesterness, this looks wonderful on you! Great fit!
6/9/11 9:54 AM
SewWil said...
Very pretty top. I just picked up this pattern. Yours fits you very well. The lego picture made me laugh. Nice touch.
6/9/11 9:50 AM
carolynw said...
Great looking top - fit is perfect
6/9/11 9:06 AM
sewbehind said...
Lovely top on you. Check out The Sewing Lawyer's tutorial (blog) on the Jalie dress. She has a review here too. (Kay Y) She explains the technique they use on the Jalie dress. It might be just what you are looking for.
6/9/11 8:36 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
I'm so excited! This is so cute on you and I have the pattern! Giant facings....hmmmmm. Maybe binding or a narrow ribbing, would work better.
6/9/11 8:22 AM
Knitz said...
Very figure flattering -- nicely done! I hear you about ITY knits though -- although some do seem worse offenders than others, so don't give up on them all.
6/9/11 8:17 AM
Nan Kay said...
You got a great fit with this top! Another pattern that I need! Looks really good on you.
6/9/11 8:07 AM
Gelbean said...
Love your top! The fabric is really nice. The lego surprised me and I burst out in laughter.
6/9/11 8:02 AM
sewingsilly said...
Looks fantastic! Nice print too!!
6/9/11 8:01 AM
SandyTaz said...
Your top is so cute! It really looks nice. Good job!
6/9/11 7:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Simplicity 2460

photo
by: shannonsew...

Review
Mimi G Maxi Dress

photo
by: Julkane

Review
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now