SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2181 (Misses' Knit Tops)

31 more reviews
Viewed 1187 times 
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 145
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 80 people
patterns reviewed: 136
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/9/11 7:50 AM
Last Updated:6/14/11 10:37 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Love your pink top! Helpful review too, thanks.
10/22/11 7:43 PM
sewin said...
Great review. I'm about to start sewing this top with a really thin knit. I'm a little apprehensive. Yours certainly is becoming.
9/19/11 7:50 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Your top is darling, I love the pink too!
7/17/11 11:32 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very nice looking color and style on you! Thanks for your VH review.
6/24/11 3:33 PM
JETrinity said...
This is a really cute pattern you have selected and it really looks nice on you. Trying to catch up with my PR email.
6/23/11 9:29 PM
JETrinity said...
This is a really cute pattern you have selected and it really looks nice on you. Trying to catch up with my PR email.
6/23/11 9:29 PM
Kathy7661 said...
I was just looking at this pattern. Wish I would have seen your review first, I would have purchased it. Very pretty and I love the color!
6/20/11 1:56 PM
ArtAttack said...
Great top...definitely your color
6/20/11 1:18 AM
Barbara V said...
Love your "tickled pink" version. Had not noticed this variation of the twist top. I like the twist positioned lower. It is indeed very flattering on you. Great job and enjoyable review! Don't worry about the scary inside! No one will ever know ;-)
6/16/11 12:13 PM
CarolynGM said...
It's a lovely, very flattering top. I love the toughened Jell-O description of ITY jersey.
6/15/11 2:18 PM
JTink said...
Great looking top and I just love this color
6/15/11 11:54 AM
marec said...
wow-very nice top Barb.
6/15/11 11:50 AM
sewbehind said...
Wow, Barb, that pink one is gorgeous. You look great in that top. In place of a coverstitch machine you can always try a twin stretch needle. That will give you the same look, but not quite the stretch of a coverstitch.
6/15/11 10:02 AM
dingyadi said...
What a gorgeous top and fabulous colour fabric. You are definitely not Lego shaped! I've never noticed this pattern before but will be checking it out now for sure.
6/15/11 4:16 AM
Christas said...
WOW!!!!!! Barb, this is a very flattering top on you! Fantastic review!
6/14/11 11:02 PM
VivianZ said...
I love your top, especially with that fabric, so cute. I just bought an ITY knit to try. I have tried others knits , but then still want to forget it. I have a serger with a coverstitch, and still don't like it. But I just read to starch the dickens out of where you are having trouble, and that helps. So I will try that.
6/10/11 8:41 AM
MNBarb said...
Wow! Thanks everyone. I did use a walking foot and it was helpful. I think I'm just so accustomed to sewing natural fabrics like linen that stay where you put them. I need lots more practice with these wiggly knits.
6/10/11 8:09 AM
beginagain said...
Love the top! I find the #12 ballpoint needle gives better results than the stretch needle. Also I second the walking foot.
6/9/11 11:14 PM
loti said...
OMG too funny, you are not a lego, love the top it is beautiful!
6/9/11 7:54 PM
Ms. Bijou said...
Very nice! Perfect fit!!
6/9/11 7:37 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
Your "magical" top is perfect! Great fit, very flattering!
6/9/11 5:50 PM
imsewcrazy said...
I really love your top. It looks better on you than it does the girl on the envelope!
6/9/11 5:26 PM
blondieinparis said...
This top looks great on you! ITY jersey always behaves better for me if I use a walking foot.
6/9/11 4:52 PM
cleverkitty said...
I wrote this pattern down once I saw your top, love the style and fabric. As far as jersey I HATE working with it too, the coverstitch machine is the best answer to this fabric. I usually bind the armholes, stabilize the neck and by time I get to the hem I want to run out and buy a coverstitch machine, my serger does not have that feature :(
6/9/11 3:55 PM
GlobalMom said...
Are we pattern twins yet again? I just picked up this pattern at the last Simpicity sale at Joann's.... I think it just went up a few notches on the "to be sewn" list. Thanks for the review!
6/9/11 1:09 PM
StellaTB said...
I passed over this pattern many times but your photo makes me want to pick it up and give it a try, thanks!
6/9/11 12:36 PM
SewSho said...
Great top!
6/9/11 11:52 AM
TanyaDenise said...
Very cute top.
6/9/11 11:35 AM
marec said...
haha, clever woman with the lego analogy. I love the top on you and the fit is perfection for your lean self. I have not made this pattern but have made others with a lining through the bust area. Modesty issue?
6/9/11 10:05 AM
JanieBee said...
In spite of its polyesterness, this looks wonderful on you! Great fit!
6/9/11 9:54 AM
SewWil said...
Very pretty top. I just picked up this pattern. Yours fits you very well. The lego picture made me laugh. Nice touch.
6/9/11 9:50 AM
carolynw said...
Great looking top - fit is perfect
6/9/11 9:06 AM
sewbehind said...
Lovely top on you. Check out The Sewing Lawyer's tutorial (blog) on the Jalie dress. She has a review here too. (Kay Y) She explains the technique they use on the Jalie dress. It might be just what you are looking for.
6/9/11 8:36 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
I'm so excited! This is so cute on you and I have the pattern! Giant facings....hmmmmm. Maybe binding or a narrow ribbing, would work better.
6/9/11 8:22 AM
Knitz said...
Very figure flattering -- nicely done! I hear you about ITY knits though -- although some do seem worse offenders than others, so don't give up on them all.
6/9/11 8:17 AM
Nan Kay said...
You got a great fit with this top! Another pattern that I need! Looks really good on you.
6/9/11 8:07 AM
Gelbean said...
Love your top! The fabric is really nice. The lego surprised me and I burst out in laughter.
6/9/11 8:02 AM
sewingsilly said...
Looks fantastic! Nice print too!!
6/9/11 8:01 AM
SandyTaz said...
Your top is so cute! It really looks nice. Good job!
6/9/11 7:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

More Info