Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8741 (handbags) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 253 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Karen61
photo
About Karen61
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 5/20/11
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/11/11 7:19 PM
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $25.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bunnykins said...
Thanks for the review and description of the problems you had with the pattern. I just bought this pattern for the View C/D bag and was wondering how huge it really was. This looks like a project for a day when I have lots and lots of patience.
6/12/11 1:24 AM
sfshaza said...
I posted my review of this bag a few days ago, so you probably didn't see it when you were making yours. It IS big, but I can wear the straps on my shoulder, though not if I were wearing a coat with big sleeves. Someone also suggested to me that I use it for a grocery bag and I almost beat them with it. ;) For me, this is a weekend bag and I think all the compartments will be useful. Vogue recently started to minimalize their pattern descriptions and I think it's a horrible move. I'm sure that Marcy Tilton had no say in that awful description.
6/12/11 12:45 PM
Karen61 said...
Hi sfshaza, You are so right, I didn't read your review until after I ahd posted mine (rats!). I was gobsmacked when I read that the bag was reversible, as it threw my understanding of the bag yet again. I am using the bag today, but I think that like you I'll only use it on the weekends. I was unaware of Vogue's minimalist description trend and will keep that in mind in future. Happy sewing! Karen
6/14/11 1:23 AM
xereta said...
I just received my pattern in the mail and I cannot even understand how much fabric to order as I don't understand where contrast 1 and contrast 2 come in to play for view D. which seems to be all one fabric. If i add up all the yardage required for 45" fabric I would need about 4 7/8 yds. This bag must be huge! I didn't think I was that stupid, that I couldn't even understand the fabric requirements. I decided to look for reviews of this pattern and was very happy to find this review. It made me feel better that I wasn't the only one who thought it was crazy. I'm glad the pattern was only $3.99 on the Vogue website.
6/22/12 10:31 AM
Nenewhis said...
I too cannot believe how confusing this pattern is. If this thing gets finished it is only because of your review and sfshaza and your tips that are helping me get through this.
8/10/12 5:54 PM
NJcowgirl said...
I thought it was a simple bag. OMG I wish I had read your review b/4 I started. I kept asking myself "what's the contrast, what's the inset". Big! OMG it's huge.
6/19/13 3:37 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

New Look 6557 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by svenskafli... on 6/30/08
Read Review

Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6575
photo
Review by ryan's mom on 2/3/13
Read Review

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears
10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

Details
Price: $89.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5419 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5419 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6024 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 6024 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us