Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8726 (Misses' DressVery Easy Vogue) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 660 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:sfshaza
photo
About sfshazastar
CA USA
Member since: 9/12/07
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 85 people
patterns reviewed: 156
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/12/11 10:13 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
rutaliet said...
I LOVE this style on you - it is incredibly flattering. Combined with the fabric, perfect fit and workmanship, this is a DYNAMITE garment on you.
6/12/11 10:29 AM
Catbird said...
I really like this on you! Love how the piping pulls things together, love the pattern changes you made, love the fit, the shoes, tights, haircut, everything!! And the wrap looks excellent with it, a completely different look. That b&w dress is very cool, too. Congratulations to your daughter on her graduation! Thanks for the great review.
6/12/11 10:43 AM
Sewiing Sue said...
Generally I think more shape is more flattering and emphazing the shaping with piping provides a nice style addition. Great job with altering! P.S. Re your blog comment on mirrors--My Joann's has one mirror; the clerk didn't know where it was but took the time to find it for me. Mirrors are essential for holding up fabric next to one's face for skin-tone match.
6/12/11 11:31 AM
Riesie said...
I think this is a lovely dress. I've had the same out-of-my-comfort-zone experience with a dress I made recently. One of the commenters gave me the good advice to just wear it a couple of times and see what other people say - if you get compliments, it really does flatter you and you should keep an open mind about it.
6/12/11 1:25 PM
Ann Smith said...
I think it looks good too. Maybe it is wearing that much of a print that bothers you. The wrap eliminates half of it. I know it bugs me to wear a bold print all over.
6/12/11 2:13 PM
Dee2 said...
I also love this dress on you--it is "sophisticated pretty" & quite flattering. The shoes are TDF. I wish that the JoAnns here had sweater knits--it was the perfect choice!
6/12/11 2:14 PM
pegsewer said...
I too think it looks really good by itself---the piping and the shoes really make it! luv that hair!
6/12/11 4:05 PM
rmusic1 said...
I really like the fabric. I love vivid colours - there is enough grey in the world naturally, why add to it? You pull it off with style.
6/12/11 6:42 PM
pdiddly said...
I really like the dress and the fit is fantastic - also like the piping which defines the shape which without wouldn't show up with the pattern in fabric
6/13/11 3:41 AM
AuntieShel said...
LOVE your dress and think you look fantastic in it. I have considered this pattern so appreciate your review and especially the heads up about where the side panels start, including your lightened pics. Shoes are to die for...
6/13/11 7:15 AM
MNBarb said...
I am loving it on you. Did you SEE the photos? You look so super-stylish, especially with the ankle boots. The lines of this dress, with your black contrast piping are really flattering.
6/13/11 7:28 AM
DorothyK said...
You have a lot of people saying they love the dress on you - including me. I think you look fabulous. I also love it with the black top. The nice think about wearing a dress with a top like that is the effect of a long slim line with no break at the waist. It's extremely flattering. Wear it!
6/13/11 10:35 AM
JudyHan said...
Those shoes are awesome!
6/13/11 12:01 PM
JudyHan said...
Those shoes are awesome!
6/13/11 12:01 PM
taylormade said...
Well, I have to agree with everyone else. The dress looks really good on you and when I saw your shoes, it made me smile. Great look, and really good job with the dress. All your hard work shows!
6/13/11 11:03 PM
mm said...
I think you could start to consider yourself a dress person. Both dresses look great.
6/14/11 1:38 AM
bananaoil said...
Your dress looks great! Brave girl__ altering with those tricky pieces and choosing a knit instead--- brilliant.
6/24/11 10:01 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Butterick 5454 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by imsewcrazy on 1/2/12
Read Review

Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern
Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Fresh Bloom Frock Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Fresh Bloom Frock Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Named Clothing Andy coat Andy coat
photo
Review by thewall on 12/22/13
Read Review

Burda 7207 Pattern
Burda 7207 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8652 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8652 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us