SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4790 (retro whirlaway dress)

68 more reviews
Viewed 573 times 
Reviewed by:redbullandcupcakebatter
photo

 
 
About redbullandcupcakebatter
TN
Member since: 6/9/11
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:6/15/11 9:54 AM
Last Updated:6/17/11 9:36 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pinkpegasus said...
I have this pattern but haven't decided on what fabrics to use with it. I love the way you've combined the 2.
6/23/11 2:43 AM
Sue Parrott said...
I think this is adorable on you and I love the corset tie you made! I love sewing vintage-style patterns and I have looked at this one many times!
6/18/11 9:49 AM
whirrclunk said...
The colors are very nice, I'm sorry that you're not happy with the end result. Maybe you can salvage the top or the skirt as separates? Thank you for the review!
6/16/11 4:05 PM
QueenZ said...
Apparently it paid off 'cause it looks beautiful on you.
6/16/11 10:05 AM
DreinPA said...
I started to buy this the other day and then a really close look at the line drawing made me stop. In the illustration, the angle from the bust to CF is a straight line. In the line drawing the piece is more than gently curved- and not so it ends up straight on the body. I am learning the hard way things are not always as they are depicted, and generally to avoid pattern envelopes that do not use actual garment photos.
6/16/11 8:56 AM
Sewiing Sue said...

6/15/11 7:13 PM
Sewiing Sue said...
I bought this pattern recently just to have; on sale, of course. The yardage at 4 7/8 45" for size 14 tells me this is a lot of material to wear and that may be why you don't like the look. I like the way you altered the front closing.
6/15/11 7:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Vogue Patterns 8117

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Buy Now