SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4790 (retro whirlaway dress)

68 more reviews
Viewed 598 times 
Reviewed by:redbullandcupcakebatter
photo

 
 
About redbullandcupcakebatter
TN
Member since: 6/9/11
Reviews: 14 (patterns: 14)
Skill level:Intermediate
more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:6/15/11 9:54 AM
Last Updated:6/17/11 9:36 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pinkpegasus said... (6/23/11 2:43 AM) Reply
I have this pattern but haven't decided on what fabrics to use with it. I love the way you've combined the 2.
Sue Parrott said... (6/18/11 9:49 AM) Reply
I think this is adorable on you and I love the corset tie you made! I love sewing vintage-style patterns and I have looked at this one many times!
whirrclunk said... (6/16/11 4:05 PM) Reply
The colors are very nice, I'm sorry that you're not happy with the end result. Maybe you can salvage the top or the skirt as separates? Thank you for the review!
QueenZ said... (6/16/11 10:05 AM) Reply
Apparently it paid off 'cause it looks beautiful on you.
DreinPA said... (6/16/11 8:56 AM) Reply
I started to buy this the other day and then a really close look at the line drawing made me stop. In the illustration, the angle from the bust to CF is a straight line. In the line drawing the piece is more than gently curved- and not so it ends up straight on the body. I am learning the hard way things are not always as they are depicted, and generally to avoid pattern envelopes that do not use actual garment photos.
Sewiing Sue said... (6/15/11 7:13 PM) Reply

Sewiing Sue said... (6/15/11 7:13 PM) Reply
I bought this pattern recently just to have; on sale, of course. The yardage at 4 7/8 45" for size 14 tells me this is a lot of material to wear and that may be why you don't like the look. I like the way you altered the front closing.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Kwik Sew 2100

photo
by: Judy Kski

Review
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Pattern Details