Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1242 (Misses' DressKay Unger) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 813 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:Christas
photo
Friend of PR
About Christasstarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 3/16/06
Reviews written: 118
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 107 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/15/11 11:25 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
55 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gelbean said...
All the time it took to sew up was well worth the end result. The dress is lovely and looks beautiful on you.
6/15/11 11:32 AM
Aixoise said...
Stunning mother of the groom. The dress is lovely in every way: fit, color, fabrication. And the pin is the perfect touch. Congratulations on your success.
6/15/11 11:38 AM
marec said...
You look lovely in this dress-how wonderful to have such thoughtful friends. Your sewing skills always amaze me and this is such a beautiful dress .
6/15/11 11:45 AM
CarolynGM said...
Your dress is absolutely sensational - color, fabric, style, and above all, perfect fit. It was clearly worth working your way through all 65 construction steps. I am very impressed!
6/15/11 11:58 AM
Karendee said...
What an amazing dress for an amazing woman. You are absolutely beautiful in every way and glow in your blush pink dupioni dress. Elegant as always, I bet you were the most beautiful MOG ever. Your workman and final product is quite couture.
6/15/11 12:12 PM
MNBarb said...
You look so glamorous in this dress. It was the right decision to make something really special for this important day. When I look at the photos, it's obvious you are feeling beautiful and rightfully so. Congrats on a job well done!
6/15/11 12:25 PM
Annette1 said...
Christa, I've never seen a prettier dress NOR have I seen a prettier woman WEARING such a dress, and that's not because I'm biased, either! Your wedding outfit is a work of art, resplendent with EXCEPTIONAL tailoring and fit details. I hope you'll display this on Meggie's dress form for a while, so you can enjoy it even longer. THANKS for including Karen and I in SO MUCH FUN, getting ready for the wedding. I'm STILL ticked at myself that I didn't send you a tiara! Heh-heh-heh. :o)
6/15/11 1:06 PM
Ejegmama said...
You look beautiful. I think it was worth all 65 steps.
6/15/11 1:15 PM
Rikki23 said...
It's beautiful!! And looks amazing on you!!!
6/15/11 1:28 PM
sew2little said...
A perfect dress for someone I suspect will be a perfect mother-in-law! You look absolutely beautiful in your exquisite dress.
6/15/11 1:48 PM
portercs said...
What a beautiful dress - just perfect for the MOG!
6/15/11 1:55 PM
Catbird said...
Christa, what a spectacular piece of work this is! Annette picked exactly the right word -- resplendent -- as well as picking exactly the right fabric for this gorgeous dress! And those shoes are perfect with it. I LOVE all the pictures. You look like you love what you're wearing and that's the essence of style.
6/15/11 2:08 PM
Claverie said...
Very nice, sharp and 'rich'... great shoe match too ;) ... *I* think you should make another in a hot deep color ... red. Very nice looking dress.
6/15/11 2:28 PM
livelife said...
Great style and fabric and you look so lovely in it!
6/15/11 2:28 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Wow, that is the best mother of the groom dress ever! You look more than gorgeous!
6/15/11 3:12 PM
Brides Mom said...
This is a beautiful dress! Congratulations on your son's marriage and the completion of obviously a super challenging project. Stunning project!
6/15/11 3:21 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Wow! You've made so many gorgeous garments, but this dress is couture perfection! You look beautiful. I am so proud for your family!
6/15/11 3:26 PM
Ann Smith said...
Fantastic! Gorgeous color and fabric. Perfect design. What a beautiful MOG.
6/15/11 4:01 PM
mochimo said...
This dress is really fabulous! And you look fabulous in it!
6/15/11 4:42 PM
Paris75008 said...
What an absolutely beautiful dress (and MOG, too). The pale pink silk is just the most perfect fabric for that dress. I also love the pin you used to hold the drape in place. Well worth those 65 steps!
6/15/11 4:56 PM
cleverkitty said...
I have to admit I was wondering if you made a dress for yourself for the Wedding. When it came to my mailbox that you wrote a review I said YES THIS IS IT!!! So glorious and impressive this dress is on you and your family looks wonderful thanks for the photo's. You have had a lot of commitment making dresses this year you deserve the best Mom Award!
6/15/11 6:52 PM
homejewel said...
What a stunning dress. The silk is an amazing color on you. I'm glad Annette intervened - lol. What a great story to go along with your beautiful dress and great occasion.
6/15/11 6:58 PM
CynthiaSue said...
i would have kicked you in the pants too to sew a dress!! It's a beauty. I bet you were the best dressed there.
6/15/11 7:14 PM
cmarie12 said...
You look absolutely fabulous in this dress!
6/15/11 7:16 PM
Sewiing Sue said...
Beautiful! I like the sarong look to the skirt. Actually I like everything about the dress!
6/15/11 7:21 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Soooo beautiful!
6/15/11 8:03 PM
Sweetheart3 said...
Beautiful! I love reading your reviews and looking at your pictures. Fun!
6/15/11 8:48 PM
JanJanB said...
Stunning. Absolutely stunning.........and the shoes are purrfect.
6/15/11 9:04 PM
JoanneM said...
Your dress is more beautiful than the pattern picture. Simply lovely. Well done!
6/15/11 9:39 PM
Ericaeli said...
You look beautiful in your dress.
6/15/11 10:12 PM
carolynw said...
Christa this is so beautiful - I love the colour on you - the shoes are to die for and your smile makes everything absolutely perfect. Wonderful work and isn't it nice to have your son married and settling down? Been there so know how it feels
6/15/11 10:15 PM
cabrewer82 said...
You look stunning!
6/15/11 10:15 PM
cabrewer82 said...
You look stunning!
6/15/11 10:16 PM
Red Curtain said...
How especially pretty on you. You will be perfect as mother of the groom. I think it is neat that this is your most favorite garment the you have sewn ever.
6/15/11 10:41 PM
Karen Easter said...
The always-gorgeous Christa in an amazingly gorgeous dress! Fantastic! And... way to go, Annette and Karen! And wow, that's your dad? I thought he was your brother.
6/16/11 0:57 AM
MarianS said...
Drop dead gorgeous! Brilliant work!
6/16/11 1:30 AM
FreyaStark said...
A really lovely dress.
6/16/11 2:54 AM
QueenZ said...
I have this pattern and think it is elegant, but this color makes it even more elegant, well done!
6/16/11 10:17 AM
DorothyK said...
An absolutely stunning dress on a beautiful lady. You shine in that dress. What a good job you did. All that time and effort certainly paid off.
6/16/11 10:48 AM
janet said...
You look BREATHTAKING in your dress! It is truly PERFECTION in fit and construction!! Kudos. I hope you enjoy wearing this CLASSIC for many years.
6/16/11 11:45 AM
Cathee said...
You look so amazing!! Actually, you look better than the models on the pattern envelope (I mean it!). The fabric is a great choice (love the pale pink silk) and I am very inspired by your beautiful brooch. It looks you had a great time, too! (What a gorgeous family you have!)
6/16/11 12:46 PM
Barbara V said...
Christa, first of all I want to say Congratulations on your son's wedding and very happy occasion! How wonderful that you sewed a most beautiful and perfect dress for yourself. So special too was the involvement and support of your dear friends in the selection of dress and style. You did an absolutely outstanding job and you look so amazingly beautiful in it and so happy. "Joy"
6/16/11 1:07 PM
Sew it seams said...
Wow! You are gorgeous! And so is the dress!! I love it. I have to have this pattern. I will make it for myself and save it for..... I have no idea, but I just love it! Where did you purchase the applique? Or did you make it?
6/16/11 1:10 PM
pdiddly said...
congratulations on your son's wedding and the dress. You deserve a medal going through all those steps and the dress looks fantastic.
6/16/11 1:46 PM
Christas said...
Thanks SOOOO much for all the really nice comments!!! Sew it Seams, I used a brooch (also from my dear friend, Annette!) instead of an applique for the sash.
6/16/11 2:05 PM
Terri A said...
Gorgeous! YOu look so lovely and the color of the silk looks so divine! Beautiful!
6/16/11 2:49 PM
Kay Y said...
That is one beautiful dress Christa!
6/16/11 10:33 PM
rozzybabe said...
You worked hard & you looked absolutely beautiful! I read many of your reviews, you're a talented sewer. I'm sure you looked as stunning as the bride! Congratulations on making a fabulous drss & acquiring a new daughter!
6/18/11 11:54 AM
waltzqueen said...
Your dress is absolutely beautiful and the fabric is perfect. I love the brooch on the sash for an elegant touch. You must have received many compliments!
6/19/11 1:47 PM
SewWil said...
WOW!!! Your effort paid off. Your dress is stunning. Perfect match of fabric and pattern. I LOVE IT!!!!!
6/19/11 7:41 PM
Mahler said...
This is certainly THE most beautiful pieces I have seen. The dress is out-of-this-world. Chic, incredibly nicely fitted, gorgeous, excellent workmanship and the words are lacking !!! Sublime !
6/21/11 10:44 PM
mesewlot said...
Wow! You did a superb job on this dress, I love the fit ,color, and the brooch you added...the fit is impeccable!!
6/29/11 7:55 AM
Marla1 said...
Gorgeous dress. It fits very well.
7/16/11 11:04 PM
Braemar said...
Fabulous! Thank you for this review. I am just about to embark on this project for my own sons wedding! I hope mine looks as good as yours! Did you underline it and if so with what? I am concerned the silk will wrinkle.
3/11/12 7:59 AM
lamstu said...
What a gorgeous dress. I just picked it for DD to wear in a wedding party - next March. I'll get going on it soon, now knowing how much work it will be. You look so beautiful in the photos in your beautiful dress!!!!!
9/3/12 5:29 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Jalie 2804
photo
Review by JudyP on 1/12/09
Read Review

DVD - Will this fabric work for you?
DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4995
photo
Review by Lady_Mame on 3/3/08
Read Review

Butterick 5628 Pattern ( Size 32W )
Butterick 5628 Pattern ( Size 32W )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6594 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6594 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us