SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2172 (misses costume)

19 more reviews
Viewed 595 times 
Reviewed by:jmma
photo

 
 
About jmmastar
Member since: 5/24/11
Reviews written: 31
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 30
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/15/11 12:03 PM
Last Updated:6/15/11 12:19 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Trephas2003 said...
It looks beautiful!
6/15/11 12:26 PM
Christas said...
Very nice workmanship! Amazing dress!
6/15/11 1:04 PM
Claverie said...
WOW! Your skill definitely shows through this project.
6/15/11 2:15 PM
Red Curtain said...
Very cool. Very cool.
6/15/11 10:36 PM
ladylola said...
Amazing!
6/15/11 11:13 PM
MarianS said...
WOW!
6/16/11 1:36 AM
margk said...
This is lovely!
6/16/11 4:17 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Amazing! That was a load of work. Congratulations on a beautiful product.
6/16/11 8:00 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
WOW! great job, your fabric choice really makes it over the top. I'd be hard pressed to part with such a dress after working so hard on it.
6/16/11 8:25 AM
DreinPA said...
I know this might sound dopey, but in addition to being an awesome piece of work, I was impressed with your pressing. The second thing I thought about when I saw this was just how much ironing it must take (the first was how much I wanted to try it on).
6/16/11 9:03 AM
RottenTots said...
Beautiful! I'm crazy for the design elements in Steampunk and you did an amazing job with this dress.
6/16/11 9:17 AM
jmma said...
Thanks for your comments. I appreciate the encouragement.
6/16/11 9:19 AM
Trinity. said...
This is gorgeous! I'm just on my way today to JoAnn's to pick this pattern up, I'm so glad I got to see your review first. You did an awesome job!
6/16/11 10:16 AM
manybellsdown said...
I've made the bustier, and I'm about to embark on the coat, but I wanted to ask you: did you line it with the same material? How much does the coat lining show? I'm not planning on making the skirt so I'm debating what to line it with. It's such a fun pattern and a cool fabric. I love the material you used to for ruffle too.
6/16/11 2:21 PM
jmma said...
manybellsdown: I used a different lining material, and no, it doesn't show all that much.
6/16/11 4:28 PM
The Funky Seamstress said...
Wow! Gorgeous dress! I love the irridescent taffeta, and I love the lacing at the back. Unfreakingbelievable!!! :D
6/16/11 11:36 PM
sewbarbie said...
You did a beautiful job on this. The fabric and color choice make a beautiful outfit.
6/17/11 5:20 PM
rozzybabe said...
Fabulous look, obviously tons of detailed sewing. Great job, I hope you get to wear it!
6/18/11 11:48 AM
lbreton said...
I'm putting together a couple of steampunk costumes. I saw this pattern and I'm glad to read your review. I think I'm gonna make the jacket out of teal taffeta. I've already used it to make my underskirt. Thanks for the review!
6/21/11 5:32 PM
BenaeQuee said...
That is beautiful! I love the colors especially! It's nice to see a review of this pattern since I want to use it as a base for a friend's custom steam punk costume.
6/21/11 7:43 PM
Pinkpegasus said...
I LOVE everything about this. All that work was worth it.
6/23/11 1:53 AM
Princess Aurora said...
Ahem, Jealous, party of one? Awesome workmanship! I have this in my stash as well, I just might be brave enough to cut out and give this pattern a whirl! Thanks for the review!
7/18/11 7:32 PM
Princess Aurora said...
BTW what part of AZ?
7/18/11 7:32 PM
Mieuw said...
Unfortunately the links to the photos won't work. I'd love to see the final result :) I'm about to make this coat/skirt for myself, I can't wait to have it finished :)
1/28/12 11:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Keyka Lou Zip Clutches

photo
by: pajamapart...

Review