SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Mood Fabrics
Mood Fabrics

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8634 (Misses' Top)

54 more reviews
Viewed 604 times 
Reviewed by:CarolynGM
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CarolynGMstarstarstarstar
AR USA
Member since: 3/9/03
Reviews written: 122
Favored by: 146 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:6/16/11 9:06 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Zaneta said... (1/31/12 6:21 AM) Reply
I think your top is stunning... I love the A-line version and I think it compliments the horizontal line under the bust... this is lovely I am going to make this one up and also do the same ... gorgeous
marec said... (11/17/11 11:26 AM) Reply
I love all of your projects and this is no exception. It is distinctive and flattering.
jlg said... (11/13/11 5:40 PM) Reply
This is lovely. I've just started this and hope mine is as flattering.
Maree P said... (6/18/11 6:58 PM) Reply
I think it looks lovely on you Carolyn. And white suits you beautifully.
renren said... (6/17/11 7:02 PM) Reply
I think it looks quite nice. I like the line provided by the horizontal seam although I can imagine it getting lost in a print. With a solid color, as you have used, it adds a bit of interest and I like the hard edginess of the line in contrast to the cowl collar. Also, I was just thinking the other day how often I wish I had used a drapier fabric for a project. You almost never hear anyone say, oh, the fabric was too drapey. I guess I should only drag drapey fabrics home from now on! I guess that is the lesson to be learned! Enjoy your lovely top and I do hope you come to like it.
sewbarbie said... (6/17/11 5:32 PM) Reply
The top is so chic on you, great job!
pdiddly said... (6/17/11 2:39 AM) Reply
Despite your reservations I think the top looks fine and I am sure you will find yourself wearing it more often than you think.
AnneMarie60 said... (6/16/11 2:28 PM) Reply
A very flattering cowl top. At least you ended up with a wearable top, even if you weren't completely satisfied. I can see the horizontal seam offering an easy option to create a color-blocked top or dress.
nicegirl said... (6/16/11 2:21 PM) Reply
The cowl is very chic, but that horizontal seam is a puzzler! If there is no shaping, why did they put it in there??? Well, you can't go wrong with a classic white top.
CarolynGM said... (6/16/11 9:42 AM) Reply
I saw your dress Christa. In fact, that's such a good idea that I just might try it.
Christas said... (6/16/11 9:13 AM) Reply
Very nice looking top. I lengthened this pattern into a dress and wore it so often when the weather was cooler. Your version looks great, and I am sure you will get lots of wear out of it!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 9021

photo
by: gabc

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 117862-1011

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review
Pants Fitting DVD

Pants Fitting DVD

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Pattern Details