Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3064 (Misses Swimsuits) thumbsup - Type:Swimwear    printable version
Viewed 545 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 136
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/18/11 11:40 AM
Last Updated:6/19/11 9:35 AM


See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Time4me said...
Your suit looks very lovely and thanks for the link to the bra cups tip.
6/18/11 12:01 PM
Christas said...
Your bathing suit looks fantastic! I am sure you can tweak the fit on the next one, and it will be perfect! Kudos to you for even having the courage to sew a swimsuit! You are way ahead of me. I am still in the pattern and fabric stage. Thanks so much for your review.
6/18/11 12:13 PM
sewbehind said...
You look great in your new swimsuit. This is my favourite pattern. Will have to try the bra cups in mine next time. It looks really nice with the contrast in another colour as well. can you use the fabric from the sarong that didn't work for this piece? Looks great in any event.
6/18/11 12:28 PM
marjoriekh said...
Can you believe how much swimsuits cost these days?? Adventurous of you to make one, and if the length is your only problem, you've done extremely well. Looks great from the photo, too.
6/18/11 1:59 PM
marec said...
Great suit, and you are so much closer to a perfect fit than you were before starting. I am impressed.
6/18/11 2:46 PM
Mushywear said...
Thanks for reviewing this pattern. I really want to make a couple of swimsuits this summer too and have this pattern. I wondered about whether to lengthen the torso also, so thanks for the tip there. Great job!
6/18/11 3:15 PM
Sew it seams said...
Your swimsuit is very pretty. Thanks for this review. It really looks great on you.
6/18/11 7:50 PM
21wale said...
It looks fantastic! The style is very flattering. Wedgies are a no go, unfortunately, but hopefully your next suit will be easy to whip up with your newly gained knowledge. Thanks for the link, too.
6/18/11 7:54 PM
mary in FL said...
Lovely swim suit!
6/18/11 8:56 PM
cleverkitty said...
Really Nice Suit I'm impressed!!!!
6/18/11 11:49 PM
Terri A said...
WOW! Pretty!
6/19/11 0:48 AM
BexInMD said...
Beautiful color, and your perseverance gave a great fit. I'm sure your result will inspire many others to give swimsuits a try.
6/19/11 10:52 AM
sewing for fun said...
I think your suit is beautiful! Thanks for details on fitting. The stretch and sew wrap suit (style is very similar) has some good instructions for a shelf bra suitable for a wrap design - I just added bra cups to the shelf bra. Since the underbust elastic holds the bra portion in place, it helps keep the support on the correct level instead of dragging it down. I get swim bra cups from Needlenook fabrics - they have nice smooth molded cups in huge size range.
6/19/11 10:56 AM
Margaret said...
Great work on the suits! Glad you were able to get the length worked out. Maybe the sarong can be worn with the plum one?
6/19/11 11:03 AM
carolynw said...
WOW! Talk about a great fit and they look absolutely top end RTW! Great work and I am sure you saved yourself a huge amount of $$$$ - a good fitting bathing suit costs and arm and a leg these days. You have got it made in the shade!
6/19/11 7:04 PM
The Funky Seamstress said...
Thanks for the tip on checking length first. I am just about to make a Kwik Sew racer-back suit, and was just gonna cut it right out of the box. Now I will be more diligent and measure first! Thank you!
6/19/11 8:01 PM
ArtAttack said...
Great suit!
6/19/11 11:52 PM
cybermom said...
The suit look lovely. I'm trying to sew a suit this week. They look very complicated. You did great1
6/23/11 8:14 AM
redrockcity said...
Gorgeous color and beautiful suit! Link to bra cup tip is very helpful, thank you!
7/5/11 11:19 PM
lcdrbetty said...
Just got this pattern. Great review, & will be very helpful as I have a long torso. Still looking for the right fabric.
10/11/12 8:06 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Pate Meadows Cuff-top valance
photo
Review by halleyscom... on 6/15/08
Read Review

Vogue 1383 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1383 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2215 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 2215 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns V8507
photo
Review by MaryBeth on 8/13/08
Read Review

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern
Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us