Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3582 (simply baby) thumbsup - Type:Baby clothes    printable version
Viewed 337 times 13 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/20/11 0:09 AM


See other patterns in this category: Baby clothes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
Nooo it doesn't look happy hands AT ALL. I love it! It's so very darling.
6/20/11 2:56 AM
Christas said...
You are too hard on yourself. Happy hands made at home.... definitely NOT! The outfit is very cute. Three separate seam allowances? HUH? That's crazy. When your baby gets to wear the outfit, it will all be worth the trouble!
6/20/11 10:15 AM
ssssdeb said...
Don't give up sewing for your daughter! It can be witch and rewarding to sew for children. I think this outfit looks WAY better then you are giving yourself credit for. When my kids were small I loved Kwik Sew.
6/20/11 10:39 AM
Anelie said...
Despite the pain of putting it altogether (3 different seam allowances? Ack!) I think the finished project looks lovely! I will be wary of the pattern as I look for baby options myself though, thanks for the warning ;-)
6/20/11 12:01 PM
kchow said...
I'm sorry, I think this outfit is super cute! I'm sure your daughter will look great in it when she finally fits into it.
6/20/11 1:10 PM
EveS said...
Aw, Deepika, I'm so sorry!! I know what it's like to have very little time to sew and to have it ruined by a bad experience (BOO Simplicity!!...they deserve a letter for that kind of torture)!! :( That said, I think it's CUTE!! Honest!! Do yourself a favor and pick up a single issue or two of Ottobre. Their clothes are SO boutique and have great instructions and drafting. I'm always jealous of all of you moms that get to take advantage of the gorgeous girlie patterns in the magazine! :)
6/20/11 2:31 PM
Raye Ann said...
congratulations on getting at least SOME sewing done, although I know how disappointing it can be when it doesn't turn out so well:) The KS pants and tshirt I made in sz 3 months was pretty close to 9ms RTW. It looked quite cute on DD then, so perhaps you will say the same thing in a few months! I look forward to the Oliver + S review.
6/20/11 6:30 PM
Margaret said...
Sorry to hear about all the trouble with the pattern, but the outfit looks nicely made and very cute!
6/21/11 3:13 AM
Dagmar O. said...
Deepika, The outfit is cute as a button and will be lovely when it fits her. As for motherly angst arising from this project, those of us with older kids know that this kind of frustration will become second nature whether from sewing projects that seem not to reflect what they thought they wanted, their school work or sports. Everything connected with kids seems to create the biggest joy but also the most headaches!!!!!!!! Don't let one annoying and poorly written pattern deter you.
6/21/11 9:06 AM
KarenTeel said...
I agree with everyone, the outfit is just too cute and you will love it later. The pattern? Out it goes. I agree with EveS - get over to Ottobre. Their designs are to die for and easy to do. I make clothes for my grandkids and their mothers love them. There is a Yahoo group with pics on Flickr - check it out.
6/21/11 9:28 AM
Deepika said...
Thanks so much for such encouraging comments. You guys are too nice. I guess I should update my review. The style is cute and I might still make it again after shaving off the seam allowances (why waste fabric). Eve you're welcome to sew for Dia anytime you want :)
6/21/11 9:42 AM
Judy Kski said...
Your daughter's outfit will be so cute on her.
6/21/11 9:51 AM
Deepika said...
Eve I just ordered the latest Ottobre from sewzannes!
6/21/11 9:58 AM
Runrover said...
Very cute outfit Deepika; sorry about the sewing frustrations. I agree it doesn't have the "happy hands" look. I love the Oliver and S patterns, as well as those from Octobre. I've also heard great things about their instructions and designs.
6/21/11 10:13 AM
Mufffet said...
Deepika, get your hands on OTTOBRE magazine right now! :)) Oh the cute stuff you will make. :)
6/21/11 11:04 AM
drsue said...
I think it's pretty cute, the only potential "happy hands" part is the runching on the legs, which you could easily take off if you wanted. Do try to make other things, though. You will really have fun. No fitting issues!!!!
6/21/11 10:41 PM
cindy-lou said...
Dee, I think it's terribly cute and not at all HHH. Plus, it's hard to call it "Happy Hands at Home" when you weren't happy making it. :) It is really adorable, and when it does fit her it will get loads of compliments! Also, I think that when sewing for children, too big is infinitely preferable to too little.
6/25/11 7:26 PM
JEF said...
So NOT happy hands at home. It is totally adorable and she'll will look like a little fashion star in it!
6/26/11 10:15 AM
Vintage Joan said...
It sounds like they made this way harder than it needed to be, but wow -- very professional (and cute!!) results. :)
6/28/11 8:54 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Vogue Patterns 1060 MISSES' COAT
photo
Review by Barbara V on 5/8/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6571
photo
Review by elladee on 10/24/13
Read Review

Petite Plus 601 Pattern
Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)
Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5792 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5792 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6889 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6889 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us