SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3582 (simply baby)

14 more reviews
Viewed 339 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 368
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 303 people
patterns reviewed: 266
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/20/11 0:09 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Baby clothes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vintage Joan said...
It sounds like they made this way harder than it needed to be, but wow -- very professional (and cute!!) results. :)
6/28/11 8:54 AM
JEF said...
So NOT happy hands at home. It is totally adorable and she'll will look like a little fashion star in it!
6/26/11 10:15 AM
cindy-lou said...
Dee, I think it's terribly cute and not at all HHH. Plus, it's hard to call it "Happy Hands at Home" when you weren't happy making it. :) It is really adorable, and when it does fit her it will get loads of compliments! Also, I think that when sewing for children, too big is infinitely preferable to too little.
6/25/11 7:26 PM
drsue said...
I think it's pretty cute, the only potential "happy hands" part is the runching on the legs, which you could easily take off if you wanted. Do try to make other things, though. You will really have fun. No fitting issues!!!!
6/21/11 10:41 PM
Mufffet said...
Deepika, get your hands on OTTOBRE magazine right now! :)) Oh the cute stuff you will make. :)
6/21/11 11:04 AM
Runrover said...
Very cute outfit Deepika; sorry about the sewing frustrations. I agree it doesn't have the "happy hands" look. I love the Oliver and S patterns, as well as those from Octobre. I've also heard great things about their instructions and designs.
6/21/11 10:13 AM
Deepika said...
Eve I just ordered the latest Ottobre from sewzannes!
6/21/11 9:58 AM
Judy Kski said...
Your daughter's outfit will be so cute on her.
6/21/11 9:51 AM
Deepika said...
Thanks so much for such encouraging comments. You guys are too nice. I guess I should update my review. The style is cute and I might still make it again after shaving off the seam allowances (why waste fabric). Eve you're welcome to sew for Dia anytime you want :)
6/21/11 9:42 AM
KarenTeel said...
I agree with everyone, the outfit is just too cute and you will love it later. The pattern? Out it goes. I agree with EveS - get over to Ottobre. Their designs are to die for and easy to do. I make clothes for my grandkids and their mothers love them. There is a Yahoo group with pics on Flickr - check it out.
6/21/11 9:28 AM
Dagmar O. said...
Deepika, The outfit is cute as a button and will be lovely when it fits her. As for motherly angst arising from this project, those of us with older kids know that this kind of frustration will become second nature whether from sewing projects that seem not to reflect what they thought they wanted, their school work or sports. Everything connected with kids seems to create the biggest joy but also the most headaches!!!!!!!! Don't let one annoying and poorly written pattern deter you.
6/21/11 9:06 AM
Margaret said...
Sorry to hear about all the trouble with the pattern, but the outfit looks nicely made and very cute!
6/21/11 3:13 AM
Raye Ann said...
congratulations on getting at least SOME sewing done, although I know how disappointing it can be when it doesn't turn out so well:) The KS pants and tshirt I made in sz 3 months was pretty close to 9ms RTW. It looked quite cute on DD then, so perhaps you will say the same thing in a few months! I look forward to the Oliver + S review.
6/20/11 6:30 PM
EveS said...
Aw, Deepika, I'm so sorry!! I know what it's like to have very little time to sew and to have it ruined by a bad experience (BOO Simplicity!!...they deserve a letter for that kind of torture)!! :( That said, I think it's CUTE!! Honest!! Do yourself a favor and pick up a single issue or two of Ottobre. Their clothes are SO boutique and have great instructions and drafting. I'm always jealous of all of you moms that get to take advantage of the gorgeous girlie patterns in the magazine! :)
6/20/11 2:31 PM
kchow said...
I'm sorry, I think this outfit is super cute! I'm sure your daughter will look great in it when she finally fits into it.
6/20/11 1:10 PM
Anelie said...
Despite the pain of putting it altogether (3 different seam allowances? Ack!) I think the finished project looks lovely! I will be wary of the pattern as I look for baby options myself though, thanks for the warning ;-)
6/20/11 12:01 PM
ssssdeb said...
Don't give up sewing for your daughter! It can be witch and rewarding to sew for children. I think this outfit looks WAY better then you are giving yourself credit for. When my kids were small I loved Kwik Sew.
6/20/11 10:39 AM
Christas said...
You are too hard on yourself. Happy hands made at home.... definitely NOT! The outfit is very cute. Three separate seam allowances? HUH? That's crazy. When your baby gets to wear the outfit, it will all be worth the trouble!
6/20/11 10:15 AM
Terri A said...
Nooo it doesn't look happy hands AT ALL. I love it! It's so very darling.
6/20/11 2:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Simplicity 2360

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

More Info
JSM-Pant 1

JSM-Pant 1

More Info
Simplicity 4698

photo
by: princessju...

Review