SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2281 (Misses' Dress, Cynthia Rowley Collection)

14 more reviews
Viewed 921 times 
Reviewed by:sewtofit
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About sewtofitstar
Member since: 6/1/11
Reviews written: 36
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 26 people
patterns reviewed: 35
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/20/11 10:15 PM
Last Updated:4/28/14 7:39 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2281 by sewtofit

Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2281
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Linen  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Misses' Dress

Pattern Sizing: I cut a size 14 bodice, and graded to 16 in hips

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? The dress looked that same, but the fitting was not. I guess the model in the picture was 5 inches taller then me, because the sleeves were falling off me and the skirt was long.

Were the instructions easy to follow? The zipper with lining insertion technique was not the easiest way this dress could be made.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love the shoulder and sleeves.

Fabric Used:Lightweight Linen

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I lined the skirt and straightened the sideseams, but I think I will go back and put the taper back in. Because I have more in the oven I made the front hem shorter than the back to stop the hem from being uneven. When I make another one, I will take some width out of the sleeves so they will stay on the shoulders, these fall off because I am short from bust point to shoulder. And because I am short in the torso, I will also shorten the yoke next time. It rolls up when I'm seated. The hem called for 1.25 inch but that was way too long, I did a 3in hem.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I will be making this dress again in the maxi length with a more drapable fabric.

Conclusion: This is a fun flirty dress.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CynthiaSue said...
Thanks for reviewing! Can't open the dress picturento seebyou in it! Can younpost it to an online photo album such as flicker, google or pattern review?
6/21/11 0:27 AM
Sew tell me said...
This dress looks great on you!
6/21/11 2:01 AM
Terri A said...
CUTE - and love the wedges!
6/21/11 2:09 AM
lakaribane said...
I love your dress (I think I'm getting this pattern soon), love your fabric, ADORE your shoes!!!
6/21/11 9:26 AM
Sue Parrott said...
That dress is very cute on you and your shoes rock!
6/21/11 10:48 AM
sewbehind said...
That is one sweet dress. You look very nice in it.
6/21/11 10:48 AM
ArtAttack said...
So, so cute! I couldn't see the pic yesterday...it is dynamite!
6/21/11 11:08 AM
DD1104 said...
I love this dress!! better than the pattern picture. Now its a must have pattern for me. Thanks for the Review. Oh yeah LOVE the shoes!!!
6/21/11 11:39 AM
Erin D said...
I have this pattern, too, and have been looking forward to getting to it at some point. Your version is really fun and you look great!
6/21/11 11:43 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great looking dress.
6/23/11 5:35 PM
Triniaob said...
Your dress looks great, I attempted this exact pattern and it didn't quite work out, something was kinda off and I abandoned the project, but you have motivated me to try it again!
4/28/14 8:05 PM
norie creates said...
Beautiful dress!
4/28/14 8:32 PM
beanchor said...
Looks so fun!
4/28/14 10:28 PM
supizoo said...
You wear this dress so well!
4/29/14 4:35 AM
egreen42 said...
This dress is stunning on you...love you choice of fabric. I have this pattern you have inspired me to make it.
4/30/14 10:10 AM
Re Becca said...
That is just too cute! Love the pattern, love the fabric, love everything.
6/9/14 4:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Other Fair and Square Dress

photo
by: ShelleyA

Review
Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Buy Now