Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1661 (60s Jo Mattli two-piece dress) - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Vintage Pattern 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 471 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
NA GERMANY
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 290
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 270
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/21/11 3:54 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KatieA said...
Nice look, and the fabric really suits it. I found that on my 1960s skirt too the side seams were a lot more flared than I'd choose.
6/21/11 5:44 AM
ejvc said...
what a beautiful piece of work! Thanks for the interior shots. You put a lot of work into it and it's rather wonderful.
6/21/11 6:44 AM
FreyaStark said...
A cute and distinctive outfit. I'm impressed by the effort you've put in, especially given that the fabric must have been hard to handle.
6/21/11 6:59 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Ahaa!! UP to "your level" of construction!! Kudos!! ;)
6/21/11 9:14 AM
MNBarb said...
You're looking very Jackie O In this suit. As always, I admire your sewing skills. I think this is a very distinctive outfit and I love the look with tights and shoes. Kudos to you on your hard work.
6/21/11 1:16 PM
Hilary said...
I love your suit, its a beautiful color and it looks good on you-I like it with the tights also!
6/21/11 2:51 PM
PittyPat said...
Wonderful creation... love the turquoise hand-sewn accent threads on the top. Beautiful job... well done.
6/21/11 3:02 PM
sewbarbie said...
Great review- I love these vintage designer patterns. You did a wonderful job on this and it looks great on you.
6/22/11 0:10 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks for all the very nice comments! Freya, the fabric was not so bad to deal with -- it did fray, but the texture slowed that down some and also meant it was not at all slippery.
6/22/11 5:20 AM
pdiddly said...
beautiful work
6/22/11 6:56 AM
Karine said...
You did a beautiful job with this. The inside of your garment is as attractive as the outside. Love the fabric. Thanks for the detailed review - you obviously have a high level of understanding and skill related to fitting!
6/22/11 8:40 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
Another elegant, classic look for you. And another helpful review of the construction details.
6/22/11 11:24 AM
CAgirl said...
I think you put together a very attractive garment! The fabric and style suit you very well. I am impressed with your attention to detail. I'm applauding!
6/23/11 8:57 AM
Heatherrique said...
One nicely sleekly tailored ensemble, Margaret! Thanks for your details, especially your alterations.
6/29/11 10:23 PM
velosewer said...
This is so cool. I love this outfit. You look great.
6/30/11 0:12 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks!!
6/30/11 4:58 AM
Aroura said...
This is such a great outfit, and a very detailed and wonderful review! Very wearable vintage fashion, great job!
6/30/11 4:10 PM
fourkid said...
I love this - you are so cute in it!
6/30/11 10:14 PM
marec said...
What a wonderful stroll down memory lane for me. This style was my first real suit, and I wore it to Easter services I think. I appreciate your complete and detailed review as I always learn something from your work. Beautiful.
7/1/11 10:40 AM
AnneM said...
Beautiful. You could almost wear it inside-out. You did a fantastic job on it.
7/2/11 11:40 AM
moushka said...
Great review and your outfit looks terrific. No underlining recommendations were usually given in the 'sixties because everyone used something called Sibonne which was available in every colour of the rainbow. My mom still has some in her stash, lol. I think it disappeared sometime in the 'seventies. I have no idea whether it was a synthetic or a cotton/synthetic combo, but it had a hand like lightly starched cotton batiste.
7/21/11 9:10 PM
Margaret said...
moushka, thanks for the info, that's very helpful to know! Sounds like maybe one of those cotton/poly blend batistes might work as a replacement when the correct 60s amount of stiffness is needed. I do know of people successfully using all-cotton batiste -- which is probably a bit softer -- to underline some silks, too.
7/22/11 11:14 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Marfy 1637 jacket
photo
Review by Re Becca on 4/30/11
Read Review

Pants Sewing DVD
Pants Sewing DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2008-137 Boy's Shirt
photo
Review by EveS on 5/22/08
Read Review

Simplicity 2297 Pattern( Size ALL )
Simplicity 2297 Pattern( Size ALL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1269 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1269 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us