Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7823 (Today's Fit Bias Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1634 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Jo-Anne Kristensen
photo
About Jo-Anne Kristensen
MI USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/1/04 1:12 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
joan said...
I'm glad to read your enthusiastic review of this pattern. I am considering it for the next 75%off sale for Vogue. Is there a chance we could see see photo of you wearing it?
9/1/04 1:33 PM
Jo-Anne Kristensen said...
Joan- I'm sorry I'm not computer savvy enough to get photos uploaded, but I'll talk to my DH computer guru about it! In the meantime, "Izzie" wrote a review a few days ago and included a photo. I would say mine has a similar fit, except I didn't change the neckline.
9/1/04 3:09 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I see from your bio that you have a pair shape. Do you think this would be flattering for an apple shape?
9/1/04 7:20 PM
Jo-Anne Kristensen said...
Sherril- My daughter, who is more of an apple shape than me, tried it on and it looked great on her, too.
9/2/04 0:19 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Ya know, that's two positive reviews of this pattern in recent days. I'm definitely going to add this one to my collection. Thank you, Jo-Anne.
9/2/04 5:31 AM
AuntieShel said...
Thank you for this review. I also have a pear shape, weight is in my thighs, and every time I try on a bias garment in the store, I look ridiculous, honestly. My hips above my thighs are fairly straight, so there is a definite large bump when the garment hits my thighs. For this reason, I hesitate to sew anything on the bias. Am I trying on a bad cut or do I need to stay away from bias? Would love to see a photo of you in your dress.
9/2/04 12:11 PM
Jo-Anne Kristensen said...
Franatic, I think the key to bias garments is to have enough ease. Bias garments tend to get longer and narrower because the nature of the bias . Therefore, you need to start with enough ease. Don't be thrown by the look of the pattern piece because it has this ease built in. SB also has added 1" just in case seam allowances. Try this pattern in an inexpensive fabric and make yourself a quick muslin. It only has 2 main pattern pieces and see what you think.
9/10/04 6:43 AM
Sew it seams said...
What a great looking pattern. I'm looking forward to seeing your photo. Thanks for mentioning the power sewing tips. I must get that book *and* this pattern.
9/10/04 12:57 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Butterick 5713
photo
Review by LoriB on 1/28/11
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Super Socks Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Super Socks Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $3.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Vanilla House: P150 My Bag
photo
Review by kkkkaty on 2/15/10
Read Review

McCalls 5989 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 5989 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5276 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 5276 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us