SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7823 (Today's Fit Bias Dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1639 times 
Reviewed by:Jo-Anne Kristensen
photo

 
 
About Jo-Anne Kristensen
MI USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/1/04 1:12 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew it seams said... (9/10/04 12:57 PM) Reply
What a great looking pattern. I'm looking forward to seeing your photo. Thanks for mentioning the power sewing tips. I must get that book *and* this pattern.
Jo-Anne Kristensen said... (9/10/04 6:43 AM) Reply
Franatic, I think the key to bias garments is to have enough ease. Bias garments tend to get longer and narrower because the nature of the bias . Therefore, you need to start with enough ease. Don't be thrown by the look of the pattern piece because it has this ease built in. SB also has added 1" just in case seam allowances. Try this pattern in an inexpensive fabric and make yourself a quick muslin. It only has 2 main pattern pieces and see what you think.
AuntieShel said... (9/2/04 12:11 PM) Reply
Thank you for this review. I also have a pear shape, weight is in my thighs, and every time I try on a bias garment in the store, I look ridiculous, honestly. My hips above my thighs are fairly straight, so there is a definite large bump when the garment hits my thighs. For this reason, I hesitate to sew anything on the bias. Am I trying on a bad cut or do I need to stay away from bias? Would love to see a photo of you in your dress.
Karla Kizer said... (9/2/04 5:31 AM) Reply
Ya know, that's two positive reviews of this pattern in recent days. I'm definitely going to add this one to my collection. Thank you, Jo-Anne.
Jo-Anne Kristensen said... (9/2/04 0:19 AM) Reply
Sherril- My daughter, who is more of an apple shape than me, tried it on and it looked great on her, too.
Sherril Miller said... (9/1/04 7:20 PM) Reply
I see from your bio that you have a pair shape. Do you think this would be flattering for an apple shape?
Jo-Anne Kristensen said... (9/1/04 3:09 PM) Reply
Joan- I'm sorry I'm not computer savvy enough to get photos uploaded, but I'll talk to my DH computer guru about it! In the meantime, "Izzie" wrote a review a few days ago and included a photo. I would say mine has a similar fit, except I didn't change the neckline.
joan said... (9/1/04 1:33 PM) Reply
I'm glad to read your enthusiastic review of this pattern. I am considering it for the next 75%off sale for Vogue. Is there a chance we could see see photo of you wearing it?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - SKIRTS
Fun with Fitting - SKIRTS

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Butterick 5997

photo
by: ButtonFait...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2015-109

photo
by: Lynnelle

Review
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Pattern Details