SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7823 (Today's Fit Bias Dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1637 times 
Reviewed by:Jo-Anne Kristensen
photo

 
 
About Jo-Anne Kristensen
MI USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/1/04 1:12 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
joan said...
I'm glad to read your enthusiastic review of this pattern. I am considering it for the next 75%off sale for Vogue. Is there a chance we could see see photo of you wearing it?
9/1/04 1:33 PM
Jo-Anne Kristensen said...
Joan- I'm sorry I'm not computer savvy enough to get photos uploaded, but I'll talk to my DH computer guru about it! In the meantime, "Izzie" wrote a review a few days ago and included a photo. I would say mine has a similar fit, except I didn't change the neckline.
9/1/04 3:09 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I see from your bio that you have a pair shape. Do you think this would be flattering for an apple shape?
9/1/04 7:20 PM
Jo-Anne Kristensen said...
Sherril- My daughter, who is more of an apple shape than me, tried it on and it looked great on her, too.
9/2/04 0:19 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Ya know, that's two positive reviews of this pattern in recent days. I'm definitely going to add this one to my collection. Thank you, Jo-Anne.
9/2/04 5:31 AM
AuntieShel said...
Thank you for this review. I also have a pear shape, weight is in my thighs, and every time I try on a bias garment in the store, I look ridiculous, honestly. My hips above my thighs are fairly straight, so there is a definite large bump when the garment hits my thighs. For this reason, I hesitate to sew anything on the bias. Am I trying on a bad cut or do I need to stay away from bias? Would love to see a photo of you in your dress.
9/2/04 12:11 PM
Jo-Anne Kristensen said...
Franatic, I think the key to bias garments is to have enough ease. Bias garments tend to get longer and narrower because the nature of the bias . Therefore, you need to start with enough ease. Don't be thrown by the look of the pattern piece because it has this ease built in. SB also has added 1" just in case seam allowances. Try this pattern in an inexpensive fabric and make yourself a quick muslin. It only has 2 main pattern pieces and see what you think.
9/10/04 6:43 AM
Sew it seams said...
What a great looking pattern. I'm looking forward to seeing your photo. Thanks for mentioning the power sewing tips. I must get that book *and* this pattern.
9/10/04 12:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Simplicity 5197

photo
by: JanineMck

Review
Beginner Sewing Lab 101 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 101  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now
No Pattern Used Dress Reconstruction

photo
by: julliams

Review