SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2181 (Misses' knit top with a twist)

31 more reviews
Viewed 626 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/24/11 6:24 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
I love it!!!
6/24/11 6:41 PM
SewWil said...
Your top turned out great!
6/24/11 6:55 PM
Christas said...
Very pretty top! It looks very nice on you!
6/24/11 7:00 PM
MNBarb said...
I second my comment that this top will look good on a variety of figure types. Yours looks fantastic! I agree that it could use a different plan for the facing, front and back neck, and would love to be led to a tutorial for a satisfactory alternative.
6/24/11 7:01 PM
MNBarb said...
Oh, and thanks for the photos of the similar RTW tops. I feel so much better about how much money I have spent on my sewing hobby this month.
6/24/11 7:03 PM
michellep74 said...
Cute! It's nice to see some reviews of other views for this pattern. Ultimately, I'd like to try them all out.
6/24/11 7:48 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Really cute and thanks for the facing information!
6/24/11 9:31 PM
Mufffet said...
Very nice top. Really different design, and it does look well on you! Very flattering. The design is impressive on that and with that fabric, well, it pops. :)
6/24/11 10:29 PM
Jali said...
It's lovely! I think the top looks great overall and the sleeve length on this more practical than the Burda version. I used Sandra Betzina's no-gap wrap technique from Power Sewing to finish the "V" neck for the Burda mock wrap. Basically, to cut a stabilizer tape just a little shorter than the neckline on the pattern piece and sew it folded into the seam alllowances so that the neckline does not stretch out.
6/25/11 0:05 AM
Heatherrique said...
Thanks for your comments! @MNBarb: Have you seen this? It looks very helpful: The Quest for the Mitered V-Neck
6/25/11 0:33 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Lovely top - love the sunny colour and the ruching detail!
6/25/11 5:24 AM
pdiddly said...
top looks great on you love the colour
6/25/11 5:26 AM
happytobehere said...
This is a great color for you. Looks terrific!
6/25/11 8:02 AM
FreyaStark said...
Agreed: a cute top that looks good on you.
6/25/11 8:27 AM
cleverkitty said...
love your fabric print and your review, very informative
6/25/11 9:02 AM
imsewcrazy said...
Very pretty top. It looks great on you!!
6/25/11 9:03 AM
Barbara V said...
Looks so nice on you. Appreciated your review as I am interested in making this one up! Very interesting to learn and see how the twist can be placed in different areas. At first, mostly center front, but now moving around. Nice work as usual :-)
6/25/11 10:32 AM
Terri A said...
Totally cool!
6/25/11 10:52 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
What a GREAT looking top. I keep saying that need to start making more tops but you really have inspired me with this one! I love the style and your fabric choice. They go hand in hand! Nice work!
6/27/11 5:01 PM
fattyboomboom said...
I think it's very flattering on you--both in style and in color.
6/29/11 9:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

McCall's 5525

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Mini Miranda Bag

Mini Miranda Bag

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

Buy Now