SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6363 (Women's Dresses in two lengths)

1 more reviews
Viewed 775 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 193
Favored by: 389 people
patterns reviewed: 180
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/26/11 0:30 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 34 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
I clicked on this review because I loved the look of your dress from the thumbnail, not realising it was YOU. :) Fabulous dress, love it! The print and style is so flattering and you are looking fabulous too. Great job on the weight loss. Keep up the good work.
6/26/11 1:15 AM
SewSho said...
Really lovely dress, fabric is gorgeous! Sounds like it was a total nightmare to put together though, so well done you on a great looking dress from a terribly drafted pattern!
6/26/11 4:17 AM
Kisha said...
The dress looks wonderful on you. Perseverance paid off! I understand your pain with the pattern. I made it for my mother. I attached the ties TWICE because I knew the directions were wrong. My attempt looks very close to your first muslin. I will have to go back and fix the pattern based on your tips. THANKS!
6/26/11 7:55 AM
happytobehere said...
Most of us would have given up! Finished product looks great on you. BTW- enjoy your blog and reading about your boys.
6/26/11 9:27 AM
sewbehind said...
This looks so good on you, Debbie. You look fantastic. Too bad the pattern was 'half-baked'.
6/26/11 9:58 AM
sewing for fun said...
I love your final dress - you are looking great, too! Perhaps they will fix the problems and re-issue in non-plus sizes... I think you are going to need them :)
6/26/11 10:15 AM
Riesie said...
I was following your progress on this dress on your blog. I'd even put the pattern in my shopping bag on the McCall's site for the next sale, but think I'll take it out again. Love the dress on you but nothing with just 5 pattern pieces should cause that much grief. Thanks for the review.
6/26/11 11:03 AM
JTink said...
This style looks great on you. After all that work, you did end up with a very nice dress.
6/26/11 11:08 AM
ButtonFaith said...
This is a gorgeous dress on you! I love the style as it HAS style yet is modest....but I won't bother adding it to my collection...thanks for the VERY helpful review and pictures!
6/26/11 12:28 PM
OP Gal said...
Only you could pull that pattern out of the wadder category and make it look so good. I just love the fabric. Especially the ay the design points on way on the top and another on the lower half.
6/26/11 1:39 PM
Ms. Bijou said...
Well, it LOOKS great!! Thanks for the review!
6/26/11 6:58 PM
ArtAttack said...
Well, it is adorable...but I will take your suggestions and run from this one. Thanks for a great review. Also, love the fabric...
6/26/11 8:05 PM
Steffie said...
Wow! You have much tenacity to have stuck with it and fixed the pattern. I am very happy I read your review as I was hoping to make this dress up for myself. Bummer because your finished dress looks great!
6/26/11 9:17 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Great fitting dress and great fabric too! Nice wrk!
6/27/11 4:51 PM
Karendee said...
Despite the trouble you had with the fitting, this dress is really worth it. I absolutely love it on you; you look wonderful!!!
6/29/11 7:31 PM
SondraG said...
Thanks for the review. The final product looks great on you! I don't have the drafting skills to fix the pattern, so I'm glad you warned me away.
8/5/11 1:37 PM
paulakiss said...
Wow! I saw this pattern on sale for $3.99 today and almost bought it! I'm so glad I read your review first! Thanks so much sweetie! Three tries. I think I would've given up after the first! You're awesome!
8/7/11 12:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

StyleArc Kate Top

photo
by: Dilliander

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Buy Now