Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4599 (Sew News Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1930 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 266
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 231
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/4/04 11:18 AM
Last Updated:7/25/05 4:51 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jlg said...
Nikki, your jacket is very pretty. I was drawn to this pattern as soon as I saw it.
9/4/04 11:28 AM
Stilltheone said...
Great review. You did a super job on the jacket. I love it.
9/4/04 2:56 PM
Susan R said...
Nikki, your jacket is stunning!
9/4/04 3:10 PM
kathi s said...
Beautiful jacket- it fits you perfectly. I almost sent for this pattern and now I'm sorry I didn't.
9/4/04 4:10 PM
Deepika said...
Nikki, that jacket is adorable. And it fits you so well!
9/4/04 4:57 PM
alicia said...
Your jacket is beautiful - I like yours so much better than the pattern photo - the trim is stunning!! Great job.
9/4/04 4:58 PM
ladylola said...
Thanks for this helpful review. I've been eyeing this pattern, now I'm going to get it. You jacket is very pretty and I really like your closures.
9/4/04 5:49 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Very pretty!
9/4/04 6:04 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty jacket. I have been eyeing this pattern. Thanks for the review as it has helped me in deciding to try it.
9/4/04 6:08 PM
MaryBeth said...
Very unusual jacket. Would look great with a boot skirt.
9/5/04 4:09 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
I love your jacket, Nikki! That steam in the bust area really worked wonders, it looks like it fits you really well now!
9/5/04 6:46 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Nikki, that jacket is beautiful! I love the contrast. And yours fits you so much better than the picture on the model. -Ann
9/5/04 8:37 AM
Rebecca D said...
What a lovely jacket and, as usual, a wonderfully helpful review. I've never looked at this pattern before, but now I'm considering it. And I love your closures!
9/5/04 8:56 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Nikki, your jacket is gorgeous! I love the closure.
9/5/04 9:14 AM
SandraB said...
Nikki, your jacket is absolutely gorgeous. Your choice of fabric is just perfect for this style and the closures really add a very nice touch.
9/6/04 10:05 AM
sewing up a storm said...
Nikki I saw this pattern today and got it at the 99cents sale at JoAnns. I came here to see if anyone has revewed it and found your jacket. You made a really pretty version. I am planning on useing some navy couderoy that is about 20 ageing in my stash and I did not have enough to make a pair of pants. In any case I see that my fabric should work well because it is still. Since I am a quilter I will likely go thru the quilting stash to make the bias contrast and will also make the ball buttons from my own fabric in a third fabric to add just a touch more interest. Loved reading your review and look forward to making up one of my own.
10/28/04 8:52 PM
LiZ said...
A really beautiful jacket, the trim is just right and the jacket fits you nicely. A good job of the sewing and a great review.
10/29/04 2:50 AM
hut said...
View C is quite lovely and suits you well.
7/25/05 5:09 PM
QuickFade said...
Thanks for this review! I really like the way you bluntly say what you did for each figure/fabric/pattern issue, how it turned out and what you might do differently. Even though our shapes are different, I still learned from your review. I was a bit inspired to start thinking again about using those home dec remnants at WalMart for apparell sometime. Thanks!
7/25/05 6:05 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your tapestry version is stunning. I can also see how well this view lends itself to a stiff fabric. Good job!
7/25/05 6:09 PM
Schnauzer said...
Both jackets are really lovely Nikki.
7/25/05 6:32 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Wow Nikki, this other version really is great, the fit looks so much better than in the hemp version and the sleevelength is better too, good work!!! oh, and the color compliments your's really nicely.
7/25/05 9:38 PM
almost said...
Nikki, great review! I think view C is the most atrractive version and looks really great on you. I am curious whether you did anything to the tapestry fabric before cutting and sewing - washed, seamed, etc.??? I have seem many great tapestry fabrics but don't know how to prepare for a garment. Also did you line view C or just finish the seams on the inside? Thank you for sharing your work with us!
7/26/05 12:06 PM
Vivienne said...
This is perfection. I want a one exactly like it!
7/26/05 2:09 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your jacket is so gorgeous! Thank you for giving such great details in your review.
7/26/05 8:16 PM
JeanetteE said...
Honey, you should be wearing an ear to ear grin! Your jacket is magnificent. You look lovely in it. Thanks for another great review.
7/31/05 6:59 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

No Pattern Used 0000
photo
Review by MissParayi... on 2/21/13
Read Review

Simplicity 2468 Pattern( Size ONE )
Simplicity 2468 Pattern( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6100 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6100 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1886 Misses Top
photo
Review by Sewlful on 8/20/12
Read Review

PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus V202 VHS
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us