SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4599 (Sew News Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1930 times 
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 267
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 232
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/4/04 11:18 AM
Last Updated:7/25/05 4:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JeanetteE said...
Honey, you should be wearing an ear to ear grin! Your jacket is magnificent. You look lovely in it. Thanks for another great review.
7/31/05 6:59 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your jacket is so gorgeous! Thank you for giving such great details in your review.
7/26/05 8:16 PM
Vivienne said...
This is perfection. I want a one exactly like it!
7/26/05 2:09 PM
almost said...
Nikki, great review! I think view C is the most atrractive version and looks really great on you. I am curious whether you did anything to the tapestry fabric before cutting and sewing - washed, seamed, etc.??? I have seem many great tapestry fabrics but don't know how to prepare for a garment. Also did you line view C or just finish the seams on the inside? Thank you for sharing your work with us!
7/26/05 12:06 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Wow Nikki, this other version really is great, the fit looks so much better than in the hemp version and the sleevelength is better too, good work!!! oh, and the color compliments your's really nicely.
7/25/05 9:38 PM
Schnauzer said...
Both jackets are really lovely Nikki.
7/25/05 6:32 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your tapestry version is stunning. I can also see how well this view lends itself to a stiff fabric. Good job!
7/25/05 6:09 PM
QuickFade said...
Thanks for this review! I really like the way you bluntly say what you did for each figure/fabric/pattern issue, how it turned out and what you might do differently. Even though our shapes are different, I still learned from your review. I was a bit inspired to start thinking again about using those home dec remnants at WalMart for apparell sometime. Thanks!
7/25/05 6:05 PM
hut said...
View C is quite lovely and suits you well.
7/25/05 5:09 PM
LiZ said...
A really beautiful jacket, the trim is just right and the jacket fits you nicely. A good job of the sewing and a great review.
10/29/04 2:50 AM
sewing up a storm said...
Nikki I saw this pattern today and got it at the 99cents sale at JoAnns. I came here to see if anyone has revewed it and found your jacket. You made a really pretty version. I am planning on useing some navy couderoy that is about 20 ageing in my stash and I did not have enough to make a pair of pants. In any case I see that my fabric should work well because it is still. Since I am a quilter I will likely go thru the quilting stash to make the bias contrast and will also make the ball buttons from my own fabric in a third fabric to add just a touch more interest. Loved reading your review and look forward to making up one of my own.
10/28/04 8:52 PM
SandraB said...
Nikki, your jacket is absolutely gorgeous. Your choice of fabric is just perfect for this style and the closures really add a very nice touch.
9/6/04 10:05 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Nikki, your jacket is gorgeous! I love the closure.
9/5/04 9:14 AM
Rebecca D said...
What a lovely jacket and, as usual, a wonderfully helpful review. I've never looked at this pattern before, but now I'm considering it. And I love your closures!
9/5/04 8:56 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Nikki, that jacket is beautiful! I love the contrast. And yours fits you so much better than the picture on the model. -Ann
9/5/04 8:37 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
I love your jacket, Nikki! That steam in the bust area really worked wonders, it looks like it fits you really well now!
9/5/04 6:46 AM
MaryBeth said...
Very unusual jacket. Would look great with a boot skirt.
9/5/04 4:09 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty jacket. I have been eyeing this pattern. Thanks for the review as it has helped me in deciding to try it.
9/4/04 6:08 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Very pretty!
9/4/04 6:04 PM
ladylola said...
Thanks for this helpful review. I've been eyeing this pattern, now I'm going to get it. You jacket is very pretty and I really like your closures.
9/4/04 5:49 PM
alicia said...
Your jacket is beautiful - I like yours so much better than the pattern photo - the trim is stunning!! Great job.
9/4/04 4:58 PM
Deepika said...
Nikki, that jacket is adorable. And it fits you so well!
9/4/04 4:57 PM
kathi s said...
Beautiful jacket- it fits you perfectly. I almost sent for this pattern and now I'm sorry I didn't.
9/4/04 4:10 PM
Susan R said...
Nikki, your jacket is stunning!
9/4/04 3:10 PM
Stilltheone said...
Great review. You did a super job on the jacket. I love it.
9/4/04 2:56 PM
jlg said...
Nikki, your jacket is very pretty. I was drawn to this pattern as soon as I saw it.
9/4/04 11:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Take-Along Bags

Take-Along Bags

More Info
You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

More Info