SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4035 - Vintage (1941 Vintage Dress)

Review submitted in Vintage Pattern 2011 Contest
Viewed 352 times 
Reviewed by:renelope
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About renelopestar
IL USA
Member since: 11/27/03
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/29/11 11:15 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Budo Bear Designs


Asian Designs
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
velosewer said...
Your experience with this pattern is really well researched and implemented. The dress is really pretty and so special. Well done.
6/30/11 0:07 AM
ArtAttack said...
Your dress is darling! I really love the fabric you designed...very impressive...
6/30/11 0:10 AM
StitchQueen101 said...
Okay, so I had to go look it up http://www.karmakraft.com/ I feel so out of the loop. That is just so amazing! Not only did you make the dress you designed the fabric - fabulous. I have so much to learn! Excellent! :)
6/30/11 0:28 AM
Norsecross said...
It doesn't look costumy at all, huge success! I agree with you that the fabric makes the difference here, your cotton muslin reads as a vintage style but your pattern dress is completely modern! Nice twist!
6/30/11 1:54 AM
mm said...
Great fabric and a great dress. Well done you.
6/30/11 3:25 AM
pdiddly said...
such a lovely looking dress
6/30/11 5:56 AM
pdiddly said...
such a lovely looking dress
6/30/11 5:57 AM
FreyaStark said...
A really pretty and elegant dress, and the fabric is gorgeous.
6/30/11 6:18 AM
Haselinchen said...
Very very pretty dress! I love the fabric, I am impressed that you designed it yourself. I would have bought it at the store ;)
6/30/11 8:47 AM
marjoriekh said...
This looks both vintage-lovely and modern on you. I enjoyed the whole story of how you put this together. Are you a biologist? (Just wondering where you got your ideas for the fabric motifs.) And thanks for pointing out Karma Kraft.
6/30/11 10:32 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Wow, it's so great to see this fabric made up into the dress...I loved the fabric when you showed it to me and it's even more beautiful in the dress! Great job!!
6/30/11 10:55 AM
sewbehind said...
That is one sweet dress. Very nice.
6/30/11 11:00 AM
TaraDebbie said...
Wow! What a beautiful dress!! I definitely have to check out Karmakraft now too!!
6/30/11 12:48 PM
21wale said...
What a beautiful dress! The fit looks really good, too.
6/30/11 2:34 PM
Heatherrique said...
Fine looking dress! Nice merge of style and fabric.
6/30/11 3:30 PM
Aroura said...
The fabric you designed is amazing! The dress is a fantastic fit, and looks fabulous on you, not dated at all. Great vintage pattern adapted to modern wear.
6/30/11 3:52 PM
marec said...
How wonderful to have designed your own fabric. (are those shrimp?) The dress is so flattering and I would wear it anywhere with confidence.
7/1/11 11:14 AM
AnneM said...
Congratulations on your lovely dress. Great style, so classy but wearable.
7/2/11 11:01 AM
fourkid said...
This came out beautiful. I love your attention to details. It is indeed very flattering on you.
7/2/11 9:48 PM
homewerk said...
Your fabric design really captures that '40's vibe. Lovely work!
7/7/11 5:26 PM
Margaret said...
Wonderful print design and lovely dress! Great colors!
7/9/11 2:55 PM
ladybegood said...
Beautiful. A great testament to the modern wearability of vintage patterns!
7/10/11 12:02 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Great dress and I love the print you designed!
7/11/11 7:38 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
what a fabulous dress!
7/12/11 6:57 PM
Jill Giard said...
Gorgeous! Very wearable and not costume-y at all. Great job!
7/14/11 7:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2010-23

photo
by: myraminx

Review
Wonder Wallet

Wonder Wallet

Buy Now
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Buy Now