Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 380 (1940's Jacket, skirt and top) - Type:Coordinates
Review submitted in Vintage Pattern 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 288 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:ALY
photo
Friend of PR
About ALYstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 2/21/03
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/11 12:21 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
loral15 said...
Lovely ensemble- very classic style that looks great for today!
6/30/11 1:21 PM
jennafurry said...
The skirt and blouse are really lovely! Do you have a closer up picture of the blouse? The darts are quite interesting. Also, could you reccomend some place to find information about resizing patterns based on a sloper? It seems like that would be a very useful skill to have!
6/30/11 1:57 PM
21wale said...
Wow, it's very fun to see the interesting, uncommon details in both pieces. I think they both look great - unique, but not out of place today. Nice work on the resizing - I hadn't seriously considered resizing vintage patterns more than a size or two (wouldn't know where to start!). I had thought more of using my sloper and mimicking the design features.
6/30/11 2:26 PM
ALY said...
Within the next few days I will be puting posts on my blog www.sewtawdry.blogspot.com on how I resized the blouse pattern and drafted the pattern for the skirt, with lots of pictures. The information on using a bodice sloper to resize a vintage pattern is from Lynda Maynard's self published book De-Mystifying Fit: Using the moulage to adjust commercial patterns. It is available on Kenneth King's web site. The book has a very negative review here on PR by someone who did not read the description of what she was ordering. I personally found this book extremely helpful.
6/30/11 2:57 PM
Aroura said...
Beautiful outfit! The blouse really stands out. It might be "dated", but it is so unique, I think it looks lovely on you. :)
6/30/11 3:47 PM
marec said...
You are rockin' that 40's look- I love it.
7/1/11 10:47 AM
CAgirl said...
My, you really did a lot of work! Kudos to you for your high standards - they show in your finished outfit! Beautiful.
7/1/11 7:23 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking skirt and top!
7/1/11 11:48 PM
fourkid said...
Very nice - vintage is so much fun.
7/2/11 3:45 PM
lbrundage said...
Audrey, it's beautifully done!
7/6/11 9:50 AM
Margaret said...
Lovely skirt and top! I think both pieces look great on you and I really like the fabric combination.
7/9/11 3:42 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Butterick 4063
photo
Review by TalyQ on 1/29/09
Read Review

Butterick 5786 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5786 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6700 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6700 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2007-126 Trousers
photo
Review by Pinkytoo on 10/6/07
Read Review

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us