Online Sewing Class: Leather 101
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 380 (1940's Jacket, skirt and top)

Review submitted in Vintage Pattern 2011 Contest
Viewed 291 times 
Reviewed by:ALY
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ALYstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 2/21/03
Reviews: 53 (patterns: 53)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 50 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/11 12:21 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Margaret said... (7/9/11 3:42 PM) Reply
Lovely skirt and top! I think both pieces look great on you and I really like the fabric combination.
lbrundage said... (7/6/11 9:50 AM) Reply
Audrey, it's beautifully done!
fourkid said... (7/2/11 3:45 PM) Reply
Very nice - vintage is so much fun.
Danvillegirl said... (7/1/11 11:48 PM) Reply
Great looking skirt and top!
CAgirl said... (7/1/11 7:23 PM) Reply
My, you really did a lot of work! Kudos to you for your high standards - they show in your finished outfit! Beautiful.
marec said... (7/1/11 10:47 AM) Reply
You are rockin' that 40's look- I love it.
Aroura said... (6/30/11 3:47 PM) Reply
Beautiful outfit! The blouse really stands out. It might be "dated", but it is so unique, I think it looks lovely on you. :)
ALY said... (6/30/11 2:57 PM) Reply
Within the next few days I will be puting posts on my blog www.sewtawdry.blogspot.com on how I resized the blouse pattern and drafted the pattern for the skirt, with lots of pictures. The information on using a bodice sloper to resize a vintage pattern is from Lynda Maynard's self published book De-Mystifying Fit: Using the moulage to adjust commercial patterns. It is available on Kenneth King's web site. The book has a very negative review here on PR by someone who did not read the description of what she was ordering. I personally found this book extremely helpful.
21wale said... (6/30/11 2:26 PM) Reply
Wow, it's very fun to see the interesting, uncommon details in both pieces. I think they both look great - unique, but not out of place today. Nice work on the resizing - I hadn't seriously considered resizing vintage patterns more than a size or two (wouldn't know where to start!). I had thought more of using my sloper and mimicking the design features.
jennafurry said... (6/30/11 1:57 PM) Reply
The skirt and blouse are really lovely! Do you have a closer up picture of the blouse? The darts are quite interesting. Also, could you reccomend some place to find information about resizing patterns based on a sloper? It seems like that would be a very useful skill to have!
loral15 said... (6/30/11 1:21 PM) Reply
Lovely ensemble- very classic style that looks great for today!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

New Look 6779

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Lazy Girl Designs Slicker Tote Paper Pattern

Lazy Girl Designs Slicker Tote Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Butterick 5457

photo
by: akyramoto

Review