Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 380 (1940's Jacket, skirt and top) - Type:Coordinates
Review submitted in Vintage Pattern 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 288 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:ALY
photo
Friend of PR
About ALYstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 2/21/03
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/11 12:21 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
loral15 said...
Lovely ensemble- very classic style that looks great for today!
6/30/11 1:21 PM
jennafurry said...
The skirt and blouse are really lovely! Do you have a closer up picture of the blouse? The darts are quite interesting. Also, could you reccomend some place to find information about resizing patterns based on a sloper? It seems like that would be a very useful skill to have!
6/30/11 1:57 PM
21wale said...
Wow, it's very fun to see the interesting, uncommon details in both pieces. I think they both look great - unique, but not out of place today. Nice work on the resizing - I hadn't seriously considered resizing vintage patterns more than a size or two (wouldn't know where to start!). I had thought more of using my sloper and mimicking the design features.
6/30/11 2:26 PM
ALY said...
Within the next few days I will be puting posts on my blog www.sewtawdry.blogspot.com on how I resized the blouse pattern and drafted the pattern for the skirt, with lots of pictures. The information on using a bodice sloper to resize a vintage pattern is from Lynda Maynard's self published book De-Mystifying Fit: Using the moulage to adjust commercial patterns. It is available on Kenneth King's web site. The book has a very negative review here on PR by someone who did not read the description of what she was ordering. I personally found this book extremely helpful.
6/30/11 2:57 PM
Aroura said...
Beautiful outfit! The blouse really stands out. It might be "dated", but it is so unique, I think it looks lovely on you. :)
6/30/11 3:47 PM
marec said...
You are rockin' that 40's look- I love it.
7/1/11 10:47 AM
CAgirl said...
My, you really did a lot of work! Kudos to you for your high standards - they show in your finished outfit! Beautiful.
7/1/11 7:23 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking skirt and top!
7/1/11 11:48 PM
fourkid said...
Very nice - vintage is so much fun.
7/2/11 3:45 PM
lbrundage said...
Audrey, it's beautifully done!
7/6/11 9:50 AM
Margaret said...
Lovely skirt and top! I think both pieces look great on you and I really like the fabric combination.
7/9/11 3:42 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Lutterloh Brochure Brochure
photo
Review by JEF on 8/30/10
Read Review

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern
Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at home)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at home)

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 305387-1000 Peplum Top
photo
Review by Novy on 7/9/13
Read Review

Simplicity 1786 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 1786 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6232 Pattern( Size )
McCalls 6232 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us