SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 380 (1940's Jacket, skirt and top)

Review submitted in Vintage Pattern 2011 Contest
Viewed 288 times 
Reviewed by:ALY
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ALYstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 2/21/03
Reviews written: 53
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 53
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/11 12:21 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
loral15 said...
Lovely ensemble- very classic style that looks great for today!
6/30/11 1:21 PM
jennafurry said...
The skirt and blouse are really lovely! Do you have a closer up picture of the blouse? The darts are quite interesting. Also, could you reccomend some place to find information about resizing patterns based on a sloper? It seems like that would be a very useful skill to have!
6/30/11 1:57 PM
21wale said...
Wow, it's very fun to see the interesting, uncommon details in both pieces. I think they both look great - unique, but not out of place today. Nice work on the resizing - I hadn't seriously considered resizing vintage patterns more than a size or two (wouldn't know where to start!). I had thought more of using my sloper and mimicking the design features.
6/30/11 2:26 PM
ALY said...
Within the next few days I will be puting posts on my blog www.sewtawdry.blogspot.com on how I resized the blouse pattern and drafted the pattern for the skirt, with lots of pictures. The information on using a bodice sloper to resize a vintage pattern is from Lynda Maynard's self published book De-Mystifying Fit: Using the moulage to adjust commercial patterns. It is available on Kenneth King's web site. The book has a very negative review here on PR by someone who did not read the description of what she was ordering. I personally found this book extremely helpful.
6/30/11 2:57 PM
Aroura said...
Beautiful outfit! The blouse really stands out. It might be "dated", but it is so unique, I think it looks lovely on you. :)
6/30/11 3:47 PM
marec said...
You are rockin' that 40's look- I love it.
7/1/11 10:47 AM
CAgirl said...
My, you really did a lot of work! Kudos to you for your high standards - they show in your finished outfit! Beautiful.
7/1/11 7:23 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking skirt and top!
7/1/11 11:48 PM
fourkid said...
Very nice - vintage is so much fun.
7/2/11 3:45 PM
lbrundage said...
Audrey, it's beautifully done!
7/6/11 9:50 AM
Margaret said...
Lovely skirt and top! I think both pieces look great on you and I really like the fabric combination.
7/9/11 3:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
JSM-Pant 1

JSM-Pant 1

Buy Now
Other Avalon Jacket

photo
by: DeJa Chic

Review