SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 380 (1940's Jacket, skirt and top)

Review submitted in Vintage Pattern 2011 Contest
Viewed 289 times 
Reviewed by:ALY
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ALYstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 2/21/03
Reviews written: 53
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 53
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/11 12:21 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Margaret said...
Lovely skirt and top! I think both pieces look great on you and I really like the fabric combination.
7/9/11 3:42 PM
lbrundage said...
Audrey, it's beautifully done!
7/6/11 9:50 AM
fourkid said...
Very nice - vintage is so much fun.
7/2/11 3:45 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking skirt and top!
7/1/11 11:48 PM
CAgirl said...
My, you really did a lot of work! Kudos to you for your high standards - they show in your finished outfit! Beautiful.
7/1/11 7:23 PM
marec said...
You are rockin' that 40's look- I love it.
7/1/11 10:47 AM
Aroura said...
Beautiful outfit! The blouse really stands out. It might be "dated", but it is so unique, I think it looks lovely on you. :)
6/30/11 3:47 PM
ALY said...
Within the next few days I will be puting posts on my blog www.sewtawdry.blogspot.com on how I resized the blouse pattern and drafted the pattern for the skirt, with lots of pictures. The information on using a bodice sloper to resize a vintage pattern is from Lynda Maynard's self published book De-Mystifying Fit: Using the moulage to adjust commercial patterns. It is available on Kenneth King's web site. The book has a very negative review here on PR by someone who did not read the description of what she was ordering. I personally found this book extremely helpful.
6/30/11 2:57 PM
21wale said...
Wow, it's very fun to see the interesting, uncommon details in both pieces. I think they both look great - unique, but not out of place today. Nice work on the resizing - I hadn't seriously considered resizing vintage patterns more than a size or two (wouldn't know where to start!). I had thought more of using my sloper and mimicking the design features.
6/30/11 2:26 PM
jennafurry said...
The skirt and blouse are really lovely! Do you have a closer up picture of the blouse? The darts are quite interesting. Also, could you reccomend some place to find information about resizing patterns based on a sloper? It seems like that would be a very useful skill to have!
6/30/11 1:57 PM
loral15 said...
Lovely ensemble- very classic style that looks great for today!
6/30/11 1:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2012-104

photo
by: carolineG

Review
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Buy Now
Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Buy Now
Kwik Sew 2467

photo
by: rmusic1

Review