SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1105 (Brussels Skirt)

24 more reviews
Viewed 1620 times 
Reviewed by:Modiste Madness
photo

 
 
About Modiste Madnessstar
WI USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/6/04 3:28 PM
Last Updated:5/18/08 11:14 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CSM--Carla said...
HAHAHAHA! Love the flamingos and the Mai Tai Umbrella's too!!! Ask and ye shall receive!! You're great!! Thank you!! After writing yesterday, I got the creative urge too make this pattern up in a rayon! Carla
5/18/08 2:32 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Kathy, I have used your suggestion to use the darts on my One Seam Pants also. Thank you for this great review. I got here via your picture update on flickr. Do you still have the flamingo skirt? Would totally enjoy seeing that one! Love your portfolio! Carla
5/17/08 11:54 PM
JDpenelope said...
Great review with lots of tips--I've printed it out, because I'm going to sew this up. Also, thanks for the GREAT TIP about adding darts to the Burda one seam pants that I'm preparing to sew. I have some wool jersey that I want to use for this skirt--do you think that would be a good idea? (I'm not very Fabric Savvy.)
1/23/05 10:57 AM
Jan B. said...
Your skirts are very pretty. I appreciate your elastic hint. Although I'm not a fan of elastic waists, I may try this. I bought the famingo print for capris too. I'd better get it made for use this season. Thanks for the review.
9/7/04 12:31 PM
jlg said...
Very pretty skirts. I love the blue linen outfit. I agree with your assessment of this pattern; I've made several of this skirt all with good results.
9/7/04 5:14 AM
Modiste Madness said...
I am talking about the side that lays flat to form the bottom of of the vent. The pattern has you turn the raw edge under one time toward the inside on the skirt. I made a narrow turn then turned again so that none of the raw edge showed on the inside of the skirt. It is just a little thing that bugged me because the fabric is used raveled so much.
9/6/04 6:11 PM
Mini said...
This is one of my most frequently used patterns, and it never fails. Thanks for another helpful review-I will use the tip about changing the vent position.
9/6/04 5:20 PM
Rebecca D said...
Kathy, thanks for all your wonderful reviews of late, I've appreciated them. I think I know what you mean about the vent but was hoping you could clarify about the double folding. Are you talking about the finish on the side that just has the 1/4" seam? I'd like to know how to do that better. I just love this pattern!
9/6/04 4:56 PM
kathi s said...
Very cute skirts- I think I will have to send for this pattern because of all the favorable reviews. Thank you for the elastic tip!
9/6/04 4:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Truly Victorian TV261

photo
by: sezza899

Review
Chelsea

Chelsea

More Info
Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

More Info