SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Advance Pattern Company> 4147 (Playsuit with skirt)

Review submitted in Vintage Pattern 2011 Contest
Viewed 763 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/11 2:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Carolyn C said...
When I grow up I want to sew as well as you do. And if I ever moved to New York I want to be best friends with you and Michael.
7/30/11 10:48 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Thank you, folks!
7/20/11 10:45 PM
DesignsByDenise said...
What a lovely story, and the perfect outfit to go sailor-hunting in! You've put our (secret) dreams into words and photos. Highly entertaining, as always, and the outfit was gorgeous! Lucky, lucky Cathy - to have her own personal seamstress/tailor. And she was pretty lucky to finally find those sailors too!
7/19/11 10:35 PM
cindy-lou said...
Great pattern, great story line, and technically-perfect outfit! I adore it. Love the look, the story, and all.
7/13/11 1:44 PM
FreyaStark said...
A gorgeous outfit and beautiful work. Well done.
7/12/11 8:36 PM
RachelStonebreaker said...
Great idea on reversible! Thanks for such a good review. I hadn't heard of the Advance patterns. Now I'm on the look out.
7/11/11 6:13 PM
SoVintage said...
LOVE THIS!
7/11/11 3:01 PM
Margaret said...
Great playsuit! Very fun photo shoot, as always!
7/9/11 3:47 PM
JETrinity said...
This sure looks great. You always find the perfect fabric and this does not look vintage to me. Great job.
7/7/11 7:00 PM
GwenH said...
Looks great! I agree it doesn't look museum or costume party. It looks very contemporary and fun. :-)
7/7/11 3:06 PM
ladybegood said...
Thanks for all the ideas for a reversible outfit. I adore these vintage play suits. Now if only I had Kathy's legs!
7/3/11 5:26 PM
AndreaSews said...
Love the outfit and the slideshow. The outfit reminds me of what Mom wore back in the day. ;)
7/2/11 4:15 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, everybody!
7/2/11 11:46 AM
Andreahg said...
Cousin Cathy looks fantastic! I love your playsuit!
7/2/11 11:21 AM
AnneM said...
I can't believe that was an old sheet. I just LOVE how those fabrics look together. Great idea on the back elastic section. That really is a pattern that works in many eras.
7/2/11 10:55 AM
craftygamma said...
You are so clever. Loved your slide show!
7/1/11 5:13 PM
dingyadi said...
Gorgeous outfit, and Cathy looks fabulous as always. Remarkable to think the pattern is 65 years old.
7/1/11 1:07 PM
TracyTheMaterialGirl said...
All the girls love a sailor - and they also love a playsuit. Great story and photos.
7/1/11 2:36 AM
Karen Easter said...
ahahahahahaha! This is what I've been missing!
7/1/11 0:15 AM
fourkid said...
What a great outfit - and I love the story line ~ though Cathy stepping in front of the bus scared me.
6/30/11 10:37 PM
AuntieShel said...
Peter, so good to see you and what a lovely outfit you've made!! Please tell Cathy to watch out for sailors...as long as she's just looking for some fun, she'll be fine!!!
6/30/11 6:41 PM
Aroura said...
Peter, as usual your review is helpful and your photo shoot / story are entertaining ++. Cathy looks fabulous in her new playsuit. Love that you made the top reversible to match the shorts AND skirt. Really fantastic outfit. :)
6/30/11 4:13 PM
Laurie Lou said...
This was the Best!!! Excellent review and so glad to see this posted here! And love yor fabric choice for this vintage pattern. You sure did capture the era and your Novella was once again a hit. perhaps your best so far!
6/30/11 3:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1312

photo
by: Graca

Review
New Look 6119

photo
by: slmstyle

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

More Info