Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Advance Pattern Company: 4147 (Playsuit with skirt) - Type:Activewear
Review submitted in Vintage Pattern 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 761 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 120 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/11 2:56 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Laurie Lou said...
This was the Best!!! Excellent review and so glad to see this posted here! And love yor fabric choice for this vintage pattern. You sure did capture the era and your Novella was once again a hit. perhaps your best so far!
6/30/11 3:35 PM
Aroura said...
Peter, as usual your review is helpful and your photo shoot / story are entertaining ++. Cathy looks fabulous in her new playsuit. Love that you made the top reversible to match the shorts AND skirt. Really fantastic outfit. :)
6/30/11 4:13 PM
AuntieShel said...
Peter, so good to see you and what a lovely outfit you've made!! Please tell Cathy to watch out for sailors...as long as she's just looking for some fun, she'll be fine!!!
6/30/11 6:41 PM
fourkid said...
What a great outfit - and I love the story line ~ though Cathy stepping in front of the bus scared me.
6/30/11 10:37 PM
Karen Easter said...
ahahahahahaha! This is what I've been missing!
7/1/11 0:15 AM
TracyTheMaterialGirl said...
All the girls love a sailor - and they also love a playsuit. Great story and photos.
7/1/11 2:36 AM
dingyadi said...
Gorgeous outfit, and Cathy looks fabulous as always. Remarkable to think the pattern is 65 years old.
7/1/11 1:07 PM
craftygamma said...
You are so clever. Loved your slide show!
7/1/11 5:13 PM
AnneM said...
I can't believe that was an old sheet. I just LOVE how those fabrics look together. Great idea on the back elastic section. That really is a pattern that works in many eras.
7/2/11 10:55 AM
Andreahg said...
Cousin Cathy looks fantastic! I love your playsuit!
7/2/11 11:21 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, everybody!
7/2/11 11:46 AM
AndreaSews said...
Love the outfit and the slideshow. The outfit reminds me of what Mom wore back in the day. ;)
7/2/11 4:15 PM
ladybegood said...
Thanks for all the ideas for a reversible outfit. I adore these vintage play suits. Now if only I had Kathy's legs!
7/3/11 5:26 PM
GwenH said...
Looks great! I agree it doesn't look museum or costume party. It looks very contemporary and fun. :-)
7/7/11 3:06 PM
JETrinity said...
This sure looks great. You always find the perfect fabric and this does not look vintage to me. Great job.
7/7/11 7:00 PM
Margaret said...
Great playsuit! Very fun photo shoot, as always!
7/9/11 3:47 PM
SoVintage said...
LOVE THIS!
7/11/11 3:01 PM
RachelStonebreaker said...
Great idea on reversible! Thanks for such a good review. I hadn't heard of the Advance patterns. Now I'm on the look out.
7/11/11 6:13 PM
FreyaStark said...
A gorgeous outfit and beautiful work. Well done.
7/12/11 8:36 PM
cindy-lou said...
Great pattern, great story line, and technically-perfect outfit! I adore it. Love the look, the story, and all.
7/13/11 1:44 PM
DesignsByDenise said...
What a lovely story, and the perfect outfit to go sailor-hunting in! You've put our (secret) dreams into words and photos. Highly entertaining, as always, and the outfit was gorgeous! Lucky, lucky Cathy - to have her own personal seamstress/tailor. And she was pretty lucky to finally find those sailors too!
7/19/11 10:35 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Thank you, folks!
7/20/11 10:45 PM
Carolyn C said...
When I grow up I want to sew as well as you do. And if I ever moved to New York I want to be best friends with you and Michael.
7/30/11 10:48 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Vogue Patterns 1182 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by MarianS on 8/16/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern
You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2008-7
photo
Review by Sandi S on 4/2/09
Read Review

Kwik Sew 4016 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4016 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2858 Pattern
Kwik Sew 2858 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us