SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Advance Pattern Company> 4147 (Playsuit with skirt)

Review submitted in Vintage Pattern 2011 Contest
Viewed 763 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/11 2:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Laurie Lou said...
This was the Best!!! Excellent review and so glad to see this posted here! And love yor fabric choice for this vintage pattern. You sure did capture the era and your Novella was once again a hit. perhaps your best so far!
6/30/11 3:35 PM
Aroura said...
Peter, as usual your review is helpful and your photo shoot / story are entertaining ++. Cathy looks fabulous in her new playsuit. Love that you made the top reversible to match the shorts AND skirt. Really fantastic outfit. :)
6/30/11 4:13 PM
AuntieShel said...
Peter, so good to see you and what a lovely outfit you've made!! Please tell Cathy to watch out for sailors...as long as she's just looking for some fun, she'll be fine!!!
6/30/11 6:41 PM
fourkid said...
What a great outfit - and I love the story line ~ though Cathy stepping in front of the bus scared me.
6/30/11 10:37 PM
Karen Easter said...
ahahahahahaha! This is what I've been missing!
7/1/11 0:15 AM
TracyTheMaterialGirl said...
All the girls love a sailor - and they also love a playsuit. Great story and photos.
7/1/11 2:36 AM
dingyadi said...
Gorgeous outfit, and Cathy looks fabulous as always. Remarkable to think the pattern is 65 years old.
7/1/11 1:07 PM
craftygamma said...
You are so clever. Loved your slide show!
7/1/11 5:13 PM
AnneM said...
I can't believe that was an old sheet. I just LOVE how those fabrics look together. Great idea on the back elastic section. That really is a pattern that works in many eras.
7/2/11 10:55 AM
Andreahg said...
Cousin Cathy looks fantastic! I love your playsuit!
7/2/11 11:21 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, everybody!
7/2/11 11:46 AM
AndreaSews said...
Love the outfit and the slideshow. The outfit reminds me of what Mom wore back in the day. ;)
7/2/11 4:15 PM
ladybegood said...
Thanks for all the ideas for a reversible outfit. I adore these vintage play suits. Now if only I had Kathy's legs!
7/3/11 5:26 PM
GwenH said...
Looks great! I agree it doesn't look museum or costume party. It looks very contemporary and fun. :-)
7/7/11 3:06 PM
JETrinity said...
This sure looks great. You always find the perfect fabric and this does not look vintage to me. Great job.
7/7/11 7:00 PM
Margaret said...
Great playsuit! Very fun photo shoot, as always!
7/9/11 3:47 PM
SoVintage said...
LOVE THIS!
7/11/11 3:01 PM
RachelStonebreaker said...
Great idea on reversible! Thanks for such a good review. I hadn't heard of the Advance patterns. Now I'm on the look out.
7/11/11 6:13 PM
FreyaStark said...
A gorgeous outfit and beautiful work. Well done.
7/12/11 8:36 PM
cindy-lou said...
Great pattern, great story line, and technically-perfect outfit! I adore it. Love the look, the story, and all.
7/13/11 1:44 PM
DesignsByDenise said...
What a lovely story, and the perfect outfit to go sailor-hunting in! You've put our (secret) dreams into words and photos. Highly entertaining, as always, and the outfit was gorgeous! Lucky, lucky Cathy - to have her own personal seamstress/tailor. And she was pretty lucky to finally find those sailors too!
7/19/11 10:35 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Thank you, folks!
7/20/11 10:45 PM
Carolyn C said...
When I grow up I want to sew as well as you do. And if I ever moved to New York I want to be best friends with you and Michael.
7/30/11 10:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Other BY Hand London

photo
by: House of P...

Review
Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

Buy Now