Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Du Barry: 1086B (Slip) - Type:Lingerie
Review submitted in Vintage Pattern 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 168 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:fourkid
photo
Friend of PR
About fourkidstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 8/30/08
Reviews written: 95
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/11 9:46 PM
Last Updated:6/30/11 10:02 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aroura said...
A very elegant slip. It sounds like a pain to make out of woven, I'm glad it worked well for you in the lovely satin stretch. Great job!
6/30/11 11:18 PM
Renren said...
That Whisper II fabric looks wonderful. A practical yet lovely slip. But I'm curious about all that straightstitching on a knit. I guess after all I've read, I would have chosen a small, very small, zigzag. Interesting . . . fourkid, do you think this Whisper II would work for panties?
7/1/11 9:03 AM
marec said...
I love it and am so impressed with your work, especially given the instructions.
7/1/11 10:43 AM
marec said...
double post
7/1/11 10:43 AM
JTink said...
This is the style of slip I've been looking for. I've tried to morph some of my tank top patterns, but it's just not the same. This is a great looking slip.
7/1/11 6:52 PM
CAgirl said...
What a lovely idea - vintage lingerie ! It sounds like you did a bit of trouble shooting along the way- it was worth it as your daughter have a perfectly lovely slip.
7/1/11 7:30 PM
fourkid said...
Thank you. For Renren - it wasn't actually a normal straight stitch. The name the SM instruction book gives it is a straight stretch stitch. It actually looks a little like a lightening bolt. It looks pretty and it stretches even better than a zig-zag stitch. It is a bit slow - and there are 6 very long seams. For CAgirl - I did do a lot of practice work before I tried a new step - I learned the hard way. And this fabric and this stitch would be impossible to pick out, so I wanted to be doubly careful.
7/1/11 9:37 PM
fourkid said...
Oops, on the panties question - I am not sure Renren. It is very soft and slinky - not as much recovery as I think most panty fabric has - but one can always try it and see.
7/1/11 9:42 PM
Margaret said...
Lovely slip -- looks very luxurious! The fabric sounds great! BTW, for side closures on these old patterns I often use an invisible zipper. It's an anachronism, but it's less bulky than a standard zipper and smoother (and much less work to do) than a snap placket, which might be what this pattern intended.
7/9/11 2:42 PM
fourkid said...
Yes, Margaret - that is exactly what it was, a snap placket. An invisible zipper did cross my mind - but I have not done one since high school (I was fearless then) - and I don't have the foot for it now. But I think maybe I should pursue that option since you reinforce that idea and have experience with it working out for this need. And yes, the slip is luxurious. Hannah oves it. I planned to make just the one for this year, but it is working so well for her that I will go ahead and make a black and a nude one too. I can do one up in a day (now that I have the correct stitch down) so it will not be a problem to work them into the schedule - and I will try the woven version again too. This is a great pattern.
7/10/11 9:18 AM
ladybegood said...
I love these vintage slip patterns. Thanks for the tips.
7/12/11 7:34 PM
circetwo said...
You don't really need a special foot for the invisible zipper. There are a couple of really good tutorials online for that. Make sure you get the one that has good photos (www.coletterie.com is my favorite) and remember to put the zip in first.
12/2/11 9:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Jalie 2449 Crossover Top
photo
Review by RuthieSews on 5/23/07
Read Review

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern
SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver   S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns OOP 9387
photo
Review by Marji on 11/13/06
Read Review

Simplicity 1695 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1695 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1557 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1557 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us