SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 8587 Vintage (Beautiful Buttons Everywhere)

Review submitted in Vintage Pattern 2011 Contest
Viewed 257 times 
Reviewed by:bananaoil
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About bananaoilstar
Member since: 7/9/05
Reviews: 40 (patterns: 40)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/11 10:55 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bananaoil said... (2/15/12 9:04 PM) Reply
Hi Folks, a picture is not worth a thousand words and I gave that dress away after ONE wearing. I learned something: I hate confinement. Maybe I didn't fit it well enough but it got on my last good nerves and I couldn't wait to get it off!
Miss Fairchild said... (2/14/12 8:24 AM) Reply
Love your sheath dress!
Margaret said... (7/9/11 3:53 PM) Reply
Very nice looking dress! Those buttonholes are just GREAT and the fabric really shows them off. Good solution to the sleeve problem too, looks like it was meant to be that way because a lot of those 50s/60s dresses did have gussets.
fourkid said... (7/2/11 3:56 PM) Reply
I love this dress - and your review just cracks me up. Very impressive work - you may call it simple, but there is a lot of obvious skill shown here. I especially love the sleeve detail.
JTink said... (7/2/11 9:24 AM) Reply
Who wouldn't love a dress with pockets like that :-)
pterion said... (7/1/11 10:42 AM) Reply
Oh, I love this dress! The buttons on the sleeves are my favorite. And I imagine it's way more comfortable without rubber undergarments.
FreyaStark said... (7/1/11 6:31 AM) Reply
A really nice, cool-looking dress.
Sallygirl1 said... (6/30/11 11:19 PM) Reply
The white buttons and matching accented belt makes the dress look absolutely stunning!
Aroura said... (6/30/11 11:09 PM) Reply
Oh, the vintage undergarment problem! But it looks very nice as is. :)
Norsecross said... (6/30/11 11:06 PM) Reply
Your button holes absolutely ROCK. That is true devotion!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Kwik Sew 2821

photo
by: LoriB

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 159384-1000

photo
by: SewLibra

Review
Pamela's Patterns Magic Pencil Skirt Pattern

Pamela's Patterns Magic Pencil Skirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Pattern Details