SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1960s 3991 (60's Dress with welt pockets)

Review submitted in Vintage Pattern 2011 Contest
Viewed 355 times 
Reviewed by:ladybegood
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ladybegoodstarstar
Member since: 5/19/03
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/11 11:21 PM
Last Updated:7/1/11 0:06 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aroura said...
This is SO cute! the skull fabric is totally adorable, and I love the character it adds to this dress. I think it looks really good without the peticoat, too, still lots of body.
7/1/11 0:15 AM
AuntieShel said...
This dress is absolutely adorable!!
7/1/11 5:38 AM
mm said...
Pretty dress.
7/1/11 5:56 AM
mizvi said...
Yes. This is another winner. You just have a gift for putting the right fabric and style together. I love your work!
7/1/11 9:36 AM
Mebber said...
This is wonderful! Great combination of pattern and fabric- I love those whimsical Alex Henry cottons and this is an excellent use of them. The lines on this dress are very flattering. Beautiful work. Thanks for posting!
7/1/11 9:59 AM
marec said...
Very lovely. I was drawn to the sweet print and then saw the skull motif-nice.
7/1/11 10:21 AM
Norsecross said...
Bravo to the original dress designer, it is so unique, yet functional! Your updating it with little skulls is a hilarious juxtaposition to the original goodie-two-shoes style. Bravo to you too! I would love to get my hands on this pattern!
7/1/11 11:57 AM
JTink said...
I just love this.
7/1/11 6:42 PM
CAgirl said...
You certainly handled all of the fitting challenges expertly! Lovely dress!
7/1/11 7:17 PM
poppykettle said...
Very summer-y and definitely a winner. Nice work!
7/1/11 8:47 PM
AnneM said...
Love it! Congratulations on your results. The fabric is so fun. Sans petticoat is much more wearable for modern times, and is a nice look.
7/2/11 10:41 AM
Sewiing Sue said...
Very good fit. Front bodice lays nicely, I like the height of the neckline, armsyces seem perfect. A fun fabric!
7/2/11 11:57 AM
fourkid said...
Really cute. Yes, you need a petticoat :)
7/2/11 9:12 PM
Margaret said...
Great dress! Looks like all the fitting work really paid off. Love the skull fabric!
7/9/11 2:45 PM
SexiSadi said...
That fabric is teh awsome!
7/11/11 9:02 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a cute style. Well done!
7/12/11 5:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Butterick 5821

photo
by: cmarie12

Review
Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Buy Now