Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
StyleArc: Cruise Club Kim Dress (Cruise Club Kim Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 732 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Knitz
photo
About Knitz
VA USA
Member since: 11/19/06
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/1/11 5:07 PM
Last Updated:6/28/12 1:01 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ArtAttack said...
Adorable! So simple and chic...and like you said can be dressed up or down...love it!
7/1/11 6:12 PM
CAgirl said...
You look very chic in this dress!
7/1/11 7:36 PM
GlobalMom said...
So glad you posted this one! It's on my wish list...
7/1/11 9:01 PM
qz said...
You look great in this. I just ordered six new patterns. Now I wish I had ordered seven :) oh well... august is another month
7/1/11 9:13 PM
sfshaza said...
THe dress looks great and, you are right, the fit of the armhole is perfection!
7/1/11 9:55 PM
ChristmasHills said...
Don't envy us Aussies too much, we have to send to the US for fabric. Stretch fabric here in non made fabric is appallingly limited.
7/2/11 3:48 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous Dress, glad you like the Style Arc patterns :) We have lucked out in oz with a wonderful pattern designer but buying the fabric is not always easy.
7/2/11 6:01 AM
Fran G said...
Very chic and cool looking. May I ask what size you generally buy in RTW and what size you used for this ARC dress? As they are not multi sized, I am interested in learning how their sizing runs. Thanks.
7/2/11 7:04 AM
Knitz said...
Thanks everyone -- appreciate the nice comments! FranG -- forget your RTW size and just go by the measurements listed for each size on the Style Arc site -- I find the patterns very true to the measurements listed. Of course, no matter what pattern company you use it's always possible you may need to make some adjustments, but what I like about Style Arc is that there doesn't seem to be a lot of excess fabric -- especially in the pants. Point taken Australians :-) -- still, three cheers for a great Australian product!
7/2/11 8:16 AM
becca a said...
This dress is so simple and comfortable looking. It looks great on.
7/2/11 9:53 AM
qz said...
Fran G - I wear an 8-10 in RTW as sized here in the states. The style arc pattern size 14 corresponds to a US size 10/medium. my pattern adjustments are less with this line than any other other. HTH
7/2/11 10:10 AM
Renren said...
Very nice dress--glad to see all the positive buzz this new pattern line is getting.
7/2/11 1:42 PM
Knitz said...
FranG -- The size I sewed in the Style Arc garments I've made (2 pants, 1 top and this dress) is a 12 -- but again, I suggest you take honest measurements and go by the measurement chart on the SA web site as I don't think there is much correlation between US RTW sizes and pattern sizes. I 'may' have read somewhere that SA uses standard Australian RTW sizing, but I really don't know that for a fact. I 'do' know that here in the US I can be one of several different RTW sizes -- depends on the manufacturer, the cut of the garment, the type of garment, etc., etc. In any case, my (limited) experience with SA patterns would suggest that they run true to the sizing stated, with sufficient ease for wearing comfort. Hope that makes things a little clearer.
7/2/11 2:07 PM
Fran G said...
Thanks all for your sizing information!
7/3/11 5:38 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely summer dress! Thanks for the review.
7/5/11 9:49 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

New Look 6571
photo
Review by MiamiNice on 10/15/08
Read Review

Vogue 8958 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8958 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6973 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )
McCalls 6973 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6292
photo
Review by sunflower2... on 7/17/12
Read Review

MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For C-Cup Bust )
MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For C-Cup Bust )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 303 Pattern
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us