SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 3022 (Yoga pants and shorts)

17 more reviews
Viewed 494 times 
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 146
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 82 people
patterns reviewed: 137
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/2/11 4:01 PM
Last Updated:7/3/11 5:30 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Loungewear    Shorts    Activewear    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.99 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.99 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Margaret said...
I think they look really good! Thanks for posting the details of the construction and lining. The gripper elastic sounds like a great idea.
7/5/11 5:49 PM
BexInMD said...
Yay for perseverance! Your latest version looks great and solves the fit issues. You should write a column about swimwear construction.
7/4/11 8:52 AM
CSM--Carla said...
Great review! Super nice look! I never heard of gripper elastic--though I have often wondered what that elastic was inside my sportswear--thanks for the education! Carla
7/3/11 10:22 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Great review! I was going to suggest the gripper elastic around the leg hems but you did that you smart girl! I honestly don't mind the zig-zag stitch you used and I don't think it makes the shorts look 'custom' made at all! I too would love to have a cover stitch machine or option but that is pretty far down the road for me!
7/3/11 10:00 AM
JEF said...
Super review and the shorts look great on you. Is it creepy or flattering to say "wish I had your butt"??
7/3/11 9:56 AM
becca a said...
Great review and great shorts! Thanks for all the details about construction.
7/3/11 9:04 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
This review has such great information. I did not even know about gripper elastic!! Really great shorts!!
7/3/11 8:37 AM
marec said...
Great boy shorts! I admire all your hard work on details.
7/3/11 2:52 AM
Mushywear said...
Fantastic review. Looks like you've gotten some good advice from the other comments. These boy shorts looks absolutely perfect for wakeboarding or waterskiing, the way you have fortefied them!
7/3/11 0:40 AM
kenndap said...
Love your review! In response to your...ahem... desert animal concerns, I wonder if a gusset in the crotch area would work. All of my favorite workout wear have this feature and make it much more comfortable to wear in private and public.
7/2/11 10:16 PM
Elke said...
They look great! Thanks for the review.
7/2/11 9:01 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great review and I love your sun-smart outfit! It's very sun-smart but also quite chic.
7/2/11 7:48 PM
Renren said...
Oh, these look great. I love the interior shot with the power net and gripper elastic all nice and tidy.
7/2/11 6:08 PM
sewing for fun said...
NEVER too much detail - love your reviews! I found this pattern ran VERY small. With gripper elastic I use 1:1 ratio or even less on shorts bottoms, because elastic has less give than the fabric... sometimes I even cut elastic larger and stretch fabric to fit, since I want the gripper aspect without any cutting in at the edges of garment. To avoid homemade look, you could try twin needle topstitching instead, with wooly nylon in the bobbin so it will stretch better. I also use my lightning stitch and topstitch 1 or two rows... it stretches nicely and has the illusion of a straight stitch. There are also some decorative stitches that look like the decorative serger-type stitching often found on the outside of RTW garments. I have even serged wrong sides together, then topstitched down, to achieve that look - especially fun with a variegated thread!
7/2/11 5:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

New Look 6886

photo
by: rochellema...

Review

Pattern

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Buy Now
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now