Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 3022 (Yoga pants and shorts) thumbsup - Type:Activewear    printable version
Viewed 464 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 136
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/2/11 4:01 PM
Last Updated:7/3/11 5:30 PM


See other patterns in this category: Loungewear    Shorts    Activewear    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.99     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewing for fun said...
NEVER too much detail - love your reviews! I found this pattern ran VERY small. With gripper elastic I use 1:1 ratio or even less on shorts bottoms, because elastic has less give than the fabric... sometimes I even cut elastic larger and stretch fabric to fit, since I want the gripper aspect without any cutting in at the edges of garment. To avoid homemade look, you could try twin needle topstitching instead, with wooly nylon in the bobbin so it will stretch better. I also use my lightning stitch and topstitch 1 or two rows... it stretches nicely and has the illusion of a straight stitch. There are also some decorative stitches that look like the decorative serger-type stitching often found on the outside of RTW garments. I have even serged wrong sides together, then topstitched down, to achieve that look - especially fun with a variegated thread!
7/2/11 5:55 PM
Renren said...
Oh, these look great. I love the interior shot with the power net and gripper elastic all nice and tidy.
7/2/11 6:08 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great review and I love your sun-smart outfit! It's very sun-smart but also quite chic.
7/2/11 7:48 PM
Elke said...
They look great! Thanks for the review.
7/2/11 9:01 PM
kenndap said...
Love your review! In response to your...ahem... desert animal concerns, I wonder if a gusset in the crotch area would work. All of my favorite workout wear have this feature and make it much more comfortable to wear in private and public.
7/2/11 10:16 PM
Mushywear said...
Fantastic review. Looks like you've gotten some good advice from the other comments. These boy shorts looks absolutely perfect for wakeboarding or waterskiing, the way you have fortefied them!
7/3/11 0:40 AM
marec said...
Great boy shorts! I admire all your hard work on details.
7/3/11 2:52 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
This review has such great information. I did not even know about gripper elastic!! Really great shorts!!
7/3/11 8:37 AM
becca a said...
Great review and great shorts! Thanks for all the details about construction.
7/3/11 9:04 AM
JEF said...
Super review and the shorts look great on you. Is it creepy or flattering to say "wish I had your butt"??
7/3/11 9:56 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Great review! I was going to suggest the gripper elastic around the leg hems but you did that you smart girl! I honestly don't mind the zig-zag stitch you used and I don't think it makes the shorts look 'custom' made at all! I too would love to have a cover stitch machine or option but that is pretty far down the road for me!
7/3/11 10:00 AM
CSM--Carla said...
Great review! Super nice look! I never heard of gripper elastic--though I have often wondered what that elastic was inside my sportswear--thanks for the education! Carla
7/3/11 10:22 AM
BexInMD said...
Yay for perseverance! Your latest version looks great and solves the fit issues. You should write a column about swimwear construction.
7/4/11 8:52 AM
Margaret said...
I think they look really good! Thanks for posting the details of the construction and lining. The gripper elastic sounds like a great idea.
7/5/11 5:49 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Patrones Magazine 286-25 Jocavi Blouse
photo
Review by calcedonia on 3/28/14
Read Review

You Sew Girl USB Fob Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl USB Fob Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Super Socks Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Super Socks Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $3.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 7608 Jeans
photo
Review by Diane E on 9/10/03
Read Review

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Sheer Black
PerfectFuse Sheer Black

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse Cap Sleeve Dress Pattern
Loes Hinse Cap Sleeve Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7129 Pattern
Burda 7129 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us