Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1036 (MISSES' JACKET) thumbsup - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 572 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:sewingmel
photo
About sewingmelstar
TX
Member since: 4/3/07
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/9/11 7:52 PM
Last Updated:7/9/11 8:11 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $25.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Scheryka said...
Great job! I love your topstitching. Your jacket should be on the cover!
7/9/11 9:06 PM
Renren said...
Great jacket and nicely detailed review. Two questions: 1) What kind of snaps did you use and how did you apply them so perfectly? 2) When you say you lowered the feed dogs, how did you do that? (Maybe my machine can't do it.) Thanks!
7/9/11 9:07 PM
Claverie said...
I'm in awe that after making such a time consuming jacket, you took the time to write a very detailed review ;) This indeed was a tricky project in places, but you've definitely proved it can be done well. Very nice work.
7/9/11 9:10 PM
Ann Smith said...
Beautifully done. The top stitching really makes this wonderful.
7/9/11 9:22 PM
sewingmel said...
I used size 24 heavy duty snaps from Dritz, and I used the hammer tool with it. I don't really have a trick for setting them. I do always put the decorative side on first, and I use those snaps to set the placement for the other side. If I get a little off in my placement, then they still match up with the other part of the snap. I try to measure on each one rather than just going by the marks on the pattern. To lower my feed dogs, I just flip a lever on my Singer 500A. Your machine manual should be able to tell you if you can do it. It is common for quilters, but I drop my feed dogs ALL the time in garment sewing. As for the detailed review, I have been saving this as a project in progress for the last few days. I had the review written by the time I finished, and I only had to add some pictures. Thanks!
7/9/11 9:31 PM
Lori V said...
Amazing jacket, great review. Your topstitching is superb.
7/10/11 0:21 AM
Renren said...
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed reply. I truly appreciate it.
7/10/11 1:27 AM
Lynnelle said...
Love it! Great job!
7/10/11 8:02 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Beautiful jacket! Thanks for the info about feed dogs. I'll try that. I usually sew tops and do not have big issues with bulky seams. Now, I'll have another trick up my sleeve! Thanks.
7/10/11 8:45 AM
halleyscomet said...
Wow all the effort put into this amazing jacket! I think the topstitching really adds to it!
7/10/11 8:45 AM
BexInMD said...
Beautiful jacket! I especially like the detail on the sleeves highlighted with topstitching. Thanks for a very helpful review.
7/10/11 8:56 AM
Amanda S. said...
I just added this to my list! What a gorgeous jacket - your topstitching looks perfect!
7/10/11 9:43 AM
RobinE said...
Wow! Beautiful work. Your close attention to all of the details really make this jacket sing. And thank you for the awesome review. I'm hoping to get brave enough to attempt a jacket here soon, and I'll definitely be looking to this for guidance and inspiration.
7/10/11 2:25 PM
GodsgirlT said...
Wow! This is so sharp looking!!! I know that's it's already been said but it's gorgeous!....REALLY! What great skill you've illustrated here! You'll be wearing this for years to come! Nice work and GREAT review!
7/11/11 10:11 AM
LynnG said...
You did a beautiful job on your jacket.
7/13/11 1:58 PM
SavageCoco said...
Absolutley OUTSTANDING work.
2/15/12 1:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

New Look 6160
photo
Review by Latricia on 10/22/03
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Peep Toe Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Peep Toe Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6844
photo
Review by Sheila457 on 2/9/14
Read Review

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Couch Caddy
Couch Caddy

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 2931 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
Vogue 2931 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2801 Pattern
Jalie 2801 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us