Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5353 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 598 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Norsecross
photo
Friend of PR
About Norsecrossstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/3/02
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 44
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/10/11 9:44 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gold said...
Beautiful!
7/10/11 9:55 PM
mesewlot said...
I'm in love with this dress! You turned a simple-looking pattern into such elegance, wow! I enjoyed reading your review and seeing your pics. Glad your family and friends were there to rescue you. :)
7/10/11 10:05 PM
Scheryka said...
Too beautiful and too funny! I love the neck beads!
7/10/11 10:23 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dress - what a time with the zipper but help was at hand - at my DS's wedding th ehem in my long and rather full skirt came apart so that I was in danger of tripping and making a very ungainly sight - true friend had Scotch tape with her - I never did find out why - so my hem was stuck together for most of the evening - yes indeed - test drive a few times to get all the little and big problems sorted out
7/10/11 11:30 PM
Karen Easter said...
Your dress (and you!) are lovely. And you are a very good sport!
7/10/11 11:42 PM
Christas said...
Wow, what a good sport you are! The dress is so pretty. So sorry about the zipper failure. You definitely made the best of it and will have many memories of the dress you made for the wedding! Your solutions were great. I hope you fix the zipper, as the dress is far too gorgeous to leave it broken! The beading at the neckline is especially lovely.
7/11/11 0:29 AM
sunnysewer said...
beautiful dress and great story. glad you had a great day.
7/11/11 11:04 AM
mizvi said...
You look amazing in your creation! Gorgeous!
7/11/11 11:13 AM
RLL said...
So beautiful and fabulous beading. Thanks for the advice on test driving the dress B4 the wedding...my DS is getting married in Oct. Don't know what I am making for myself yet (still making 6 bridesmaids dresses) but I will take your advice!
7/11/11 11:29 AM
Vintage Joan said...
GORGEOUS!! (sorry about the all caps, but your dress deserves them, lol)
7/11/11 12:57 PM
SewWil said...
Wow! Beautiful dress and it looks great on you. Glad to read that you were able to rescue the dress for the day.
7/11/11 1:05 PM
JenniferMM said...
So lovely! It's definitely worth repairing the zipper so you can wear it again. What a story!
7/11/11 4:29 PM
moresewing said...
Very, very nice.
3/29/12 6:42 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Vogue Patterns 1086 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by ohsewcraft... on 4/26/09
Read Review

Kwik Sew 2589 Pattern
Kwik Sew 2589 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 22 )
Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 22 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2608
photo
Review by Steffie on 3/18/11
Read Review

Cool Cowl Tank
Cool Cowl Tank

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us