SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4107 (Misses' Renaissance Lined Vest)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1244 times 
Reviewed by:eodwif
photo

 
 
About eodwif
UT USA
Member since: 7/30/03
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/8/04 8:57 PM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
rosewood39 said...
Tiger B thanks, I plan to make some renaissance bodices and thought of using the sip ites. It doesn't have to be anything to serious so I think i will try the zip ties, thanks!
10/7/04 6:07 PM
Tiger B said...
rosewood39, I have also used cable ties as bones in a bodice and I think they work great. I don't know if they would be sufficient for a serious Elizabethan corset, but in a case where you just want the bodice to hold its shape (and to an extent, yours) I would recommend them every time. Easy to shorten with a strong scissors, too!
10/1/04 12:09 PM
rosewood39 said...
Your bodice looks great? SO the zipties really work? I have heard of using them for bonning but wondered how much support they give, do they give good support?
9/26/04 10:52 PM
eodwif said...
Yes, Anne, zip ties are those cable wrap tie things. Here's a link to a good picture: http://cableorganizer.com/cable-ties/
9/9/04 10:03 AM
AnneM said...
Looks like a nice top. I'll second the question: what are zipties? Are those like the cablewrap ties?
9/9/04 4:26 AM
Tonya said...
What are zipties? Interesting review, thanks.
9/9/04 0:04 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

McCall's 6544

photo
by: MayenDesig...

Review

Pattern

Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Buy Now
DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

Buy Now