SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6069 (Misses' Dresses and Sash)

47 more reviews
Viewed 599 times 
Reviewed by:Tailypo
photo

 
 
About Tailypostarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/6/03
Reviews written: 81
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/18/11 1:34 AM
Last Updated:7/19/11 7:13 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Now that's a party dress! I like it a lot. You know, lots of movie stars stay our of the sun and are pale too. It's just too much to worry about. You look great.
7/18/11 2:17 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Turned out very cute! :)
7/18/11 6:43 AM
Lynnelle said...
LOL @ "fruitlessness of actually punching a dress." Fruitless, maybe. Freeing, oh yeah. Thanks for the laugh and review.
7/18/11 8:31 AM
Immelu said...
You know...I made this dress with the cowl front and back and it irritates me...but I love the dress once it's on and I forget about it. I need to mess with it and see if I can figure out a good back solution. Despite your problems, I think yours looks great! I love the print!
7/18/11 9:36 AM
ArtAttack said...
To spite all your frustrations it looks FAB! Love the dress, fit and fabric!
7/18/11 10:26 AM
Mermie said...
Love this dress and it looks great on you. "fruitlessness of actually punching a dress." made me laugh out loud. Been there!
7/18/11 10:44 AM
marjoriekh said...
You look fantastic -- I hope someone takes you out somewhere in that dress. The back is why I avoided this pattern (bought McCalls 6112 instead), but maybe next time you could redraw the square neckline as a shallow curve, then use a narrow binding turned to the inside (a la Jalie), and topstitch, maybe?
7/18/11 10:51 AM
marec said...
Not only do you look great in this dress, but your review made me laugh out loud, which isn't easy early in the morning.
7/18/11 11:16 AM
hme75 said...
This dress looks great on you, and the review was both informative AND entertaining!
7/18/11 1:05 PM
Erin D said...
Have you experimented with clear elastic for your knit necklines? Sometime it helps with baggyness, and it might work for a square neckline. Your dress is really cute and your review gave me a big laugh.
7/18/11 2:51 PM
VtMartha said...
You always write the best reviews and the dress is seriously cute on you. I can't see the stitching from here. :)
7/18/11 5:19 PM
JuanitaVA said...
I'm so glad I wasn't drinking anything when I read this. LOL I think we can all relate to the urge for punching a dress. Been there, done that. ;) I think this looks great on you, despite the issues you had with it.
7/19/11 1:14 PM
Kay Y said...
This is gorgeous on you, stretched out neck and all.
7/19/11 7:44 PM
Elona said...
Your review made me laugh out loud--but the dress is stunning on you. Trust me: Make that number up in something black and watch the responses when you go out.
7/19/11 8:29 PM
sew2little said...
Great dress--and I love your (is it new?) hair style.
7/19/11 10:18 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
BTW I too LOVE your new hair style! You look fabulous.
7/22/11 2:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now