Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1105 (Brussels Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 5000 times 24 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:mudcat
photo
Friend of PR
About mudcatstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/17/02
Reviews written: 91
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 71
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/9/02 11:05 PM
Last Updated:6/16/03 0:51 AM


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
I've made four of these too and love the pattern. I have machine hemmed each one by using a topstitch across and it looks fine. I hate hemming by hand. Did you use your machine's blindhem stitch? I don't have a blindhem foot so have not do that yet.
7/10/02 0:27 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Michelle, I haven't tried my blindhem stitch. Since most of what I make is casual I tend to sew most of my hems by machine (with the thread showing) so it never occurs to me to use the blind hem. I'll have to try to remember to do that on the next rayon skirt.
7/10/02 1:56 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Michelle - you can use the stitch without the blindhem foot. I do it that way on purpose a lot of times. It takes practice - get some strips of different types of fabrics and you'll be a pro in no time! Big time saver!
7/13/02 11:27 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I've made this pattern at least four times from a variety of fabrics. I used a lightweight denim and topstitced the hem. It gave it a great casual look. I've also made it in a cotton knit with a topstitched 5/8" hem. The only time I've used a blindhem was with a rayon. This is the one pattern that my best friend,she is 5'7'' tall and I'm 4'11", find flattering to both of us.
7/28/02 6:47 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Yes, Roberta, I like this skirt in knit also...I use my serger's cover stitch to hem it in that instance and it looks great. Good job on these mudcat!
7/30/02 4:39 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Rustybobn said...
Love that! Thanks for the great idea! I enjoy this skirt pattern--there are about 5 hanging in my closet now. I see a Tulip skirt knockoff in my future!
6/16/03 12:44 PM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
You did a great job knocking off the Tulip Skirt. It looks great! I think I may need to copy your copy!
6/16/03 10:05 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Simplicity 2922
photo
Review by karen n on 2/25/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $17.65
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $12.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Clara Twirl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Clara Twirl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 9586
photo
Review by sewdc on 6/7/11
Read Review

McCalls 6885 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
McCalls 6885 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2526 Pattern( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
Simplicity 2526 Pattern( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us