SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1105 (Brussels Skirt)

24 more reviews
Viewed 5000 times 
Reviewed by:mudcat
photo

 
 
About mudcatstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/17/02
Reviews written: 91
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 71
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/9/02 11:05 PM
Last Updated:6/16/03 0:51 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
I've made four of these too and love the pattern. I have machine hemmed each one by using a topstitch across and it looks fine. I hate hemming by hand. Did you use your machine's blindhem stitch? I don't have a blindhem foot so have not do that yet.
7/10/02 0:27 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Michelle, I haven't tried my blindhem stitch. Since most of what I make is casual I tend to sew most of my hems by machine (with the thread showing) so it never occurs to me to use the blind hem. I'll have to try to remember to do that on the next rayon skirt.
7/10/02 1:56 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Michelle - you can use the stitch without the blindhem foot. I do it that way on purpose a lot of times. It takes practice - get some strips of different types of fabrics and you'll be a pro in no time! Big time saver!
7/13/02 11:27 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I've made this pattern at least four times from a variety of fabrics. I used a lightweight denim and topstitced the hem. It gave it a great casual look. I've also made it in a cotton knit with a topstitched 5/8" hem. The only time I've used a blindhem was with a rayon. This is the one pattern that my best friend,she is 5'7'' tall and I'm 4'11", find flattering to both of us.
7/28/02 6:47 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Yes, Roberta, I like this skirt in knit also...I use my serger's cover stitch to hem it in that instance and it looks great. Good job on these mudcat!
7/30/02 4:39 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Rustybobn said...
Love that! Thanks for the great idea! I enjoy this skirt pattern--there are about 5 hanging in my closet now. I see a Tulip skirt knockoff in my future!
6/16/03 12:44 PM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
You did a great job knocking off the Tulip Skirt. It looks great! I think I may need to copy your copy!
6/16/03 10:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Burda 7690

photo
by: Rianna

Review
Simplicity 3673

photo
by: Sunkissedj...

Review
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now