SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2010-122 (September cover dress)

11 more reviews
Viewed 563 times 
Reviewed by:CassandraD
photo

 
 
About CassandraDstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 5/11/10
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/29/11 0:06 AM
Last Updated:7/29/11 0:13 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sewingelle said...
Wow, another fabulous version of this pattern! I've been a bit scared of this pattern because I would probably have to muslin it and what would I use to muslin it in that would have the same stretch as a ponte de roma or double knit? What did you use for the muslin?
7/29/11 0:59 AM
CassandraD said...
I had a small amount of black double knit left over from another project (probably about 75cm or a yard in length) and was able to cut the top half of the dress out as a muslin. The dress doesn't need a huge amount of fabric. This brown marl that I used for the dress I had in my stash and it's 150cm wide and I bought 2metres. I probably could have squeezed out the half muslin and dress from the same fabric.
7/29/11 2:23 AM
Aroura said...
Wow a truly beautiful creation, worth all the work of alterations. Just gorgeous on you!
7/29/11 2:42 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Fabulous, I know the sleeves were considered a bit controversial but I love the drama they add to this dress. Great job on getting such a good fit too.
7/29/11 2:44 AM
dingyadi said...
Such a beautiful dress. It looks stunning.
7/29/11 7:41 AM
marymary86 said...
You look fantastic in this dress!
7/29/11 7:46 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Beautiful dress!
7/29/11 8:50 AM
ClioBklyn said...
Tres chic!! This has been on my "to sew" list since that Burda arrived - so glad to see another great version of it. It's incredibly flattering on you! And thanks for all the fitting and construction tips!
7/29/11 10:24 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Fabulous fabulous dress!! It fits you perfectly so all those alterations were totally worth it! And I'm glad my guide was of some help, too!
7/29/11 2:24 PM
cabinbaby said...
That's a great dress!!!!
7/29/11 3:58 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress!
7/29/11 4:30 PM
Sharonspils said...
Stunning dress.
7/29/11 8:21 PM
Gold said...
Beautiful dress!
7/29/11 9:31 PM
beth5646 said...
Dress looks gorgeous on you. And one of the most thorough reviews I have ever read. You are inspiring. Thank you.
7/30/11 0:11 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Your dress is so cute and looks very professionally done.
7/30/11 7:07 PM
inkstain said...
Beautifully executed! http://chanelno6.blogspot.com/
8/1/11 1:16 AM
poppykettle said...
I've been hunting for this pattern since I saw it first, so I'm over the moon to see another review of it. It looks great!! Quick Q - I'm assuming you have this issue of Burda Style Magazine? Or did you get it from somewhere else? I haven't been able to get my hands on a back copy!
8/1/11 7:30 AM
CassandraD said...
Yes, it's from the 2010 September issue of BurdaStyle magazine. I don't believe it's available for download at burdastyle.com but you might be able to get it from burdastyle.de instead. Or try your library for loan copies of BurdaStyle. My library has a subscription perhaps yours does too :)
8/3/11 5:27 AM
poppykettle said...
Thanks a million - I hadn't thought to check my local library!
9/21/11 10:28 PM
loribee said...
Thanks so much for the detailed comments about doing the sleeves...I had no idea what the pattern directions were trying to say. Your notes are super-helpful. Beautiful dress you made!
5/23/13 3:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Simplicity 2209

photo
by: thequirkyp...

Review
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Buy Now
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Buy Now