SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2010-122 (September cover dress)

11 more reviews
Viewed 568 times 
Reviewed by:CassandraD
photo

 
 
About CassandraDstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 5/11/10
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/29/11 0:06 AM
Last Updated:7/29/11 0:13 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
loribee said...
Thanks so much for the detailed comments about doing the sleeves...I had no idea what the pattern directions were trying to say. Your notes are super-helpful. Beautiful dress you made!
5/23/13 3:37 PM
poppykettle said...
Thanks a million - I hadn't thought to check my local library!
9/21/11 10:28 PM
CassandraD said...
Yes, it's from the 2010 September issue of BurdaStyle magazine. I don't believe it's available for download at burdastyle.com but you might be able to get it from burdastyle.de instead. Or try your library for loan copies of BurdaStyle. My library has a subscription perhaps yours does too :)
8/3/11 5:27 AM
poppykettle said...
I've been hunting for this pattern since I saw it first, so I'm over the moon to see another review of it. It looks great!! Quick Q - I'm assuming you have this issue of Burda Style Magazine? Or did you get it from somewhere else? I haven't been able to get my hands on a back copy!
8/1/11 7:30 AM
inkstain said...
Beautifully executed! http://chanelno6.blogspot.com/
8/1/11 1:16 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Your dress is so cute and looks very professionally done.
7/30/11 7:07 PM
beth5646 said...
Dress looks gorgeous on you. And one of the most thorough reviews I have ever read. You are inspiring. Thank you.
7/30/11 0:11 AM
Gold said...
Beautiful dress!
7/29/11 9:31 PM
Sharonspils said...
Stunning dress.
7/29/11 8:21 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress!
7/29/11 4:30 PM
cabinbaby said...
That's a great dress!!!!
7/29/11 3:58 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Fabulous fabulous dress!! It fits you perfectly so all those alterations were totally worth it! And I'm glad my guide was of some help, too!
7/29/11 2:24 PM
ClioBklyn said...
Tres chic!! This has been on my "to sew" list since that Burda arrived - so glad to see another great version of it. It's incredibly flattering on you! And thanks for all the fitting and construction tips!
7/29/11 10:24 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Beautiful dress!
7/29/11 8:50 AM
marymary86 said...
You look fantastic in this dress!
7/29/11 7:46 AM
dingyadi said...
Such a beautiful dress. It looks stunning.
7/29/11 7:41 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Fabulous, I know the sleeves were considered a bit controversial but I love the drama they add to this dress. Great job on getting such a good fit too.
7/29/11 2:44 AM
Aroura said...
Wow a truly beautiful creation, worth all the work of alterations. Just gorgeous on you!
7/29/11 2:42 AM
CassandraD said...
I had a small amount of black double knit left over from another project (probably about 75cm or a yard in length) and was able to cut the top half of the dress out as a muslin. The dress doesn't need a huge amount of fabric. This brown marl that I used for the dress I had in my stash and it's 150cm wide and I bought 2metres. I probably could have squeezed out the half muslin and dress from the same fabric.
7/29/11 2:23 AM
Sewingelle said...
Wow, another fabulous version of this pattern! I've been a bit scared of this pattern because I would probably have to muslin it and what would I use to muslin it in that would have the same stretch as a ponte de roma or double knit? What did you use for the muslin?
7/29/11 0:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

More Info
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

More Info
Vogue Patterns 8913

photo
by: annie11

Review