SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6111 (Misses' Dresses)

4 more reviews
Viewed 174 times 
Reviewed by:Petula
photo

 
 
About Petula
ME USA
Member since: 10/4/04
Reviews: 1 (patterns: 1)
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/20/11 0:07 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mollyshark said... (6/27/12 3:36 PM) Reply
I know this is an older review, but just a head's up. When you are doing one of the big four pattern companies (vogue, butterick, simplicity, mccalls), ALWAYS use high bust for measurement, not full bust. So if your full bust is 36, your high bust is probably like 34 or even smaller depending on cup size. Match up high bust with the pattern sizing and you'll eliminate much of the HUGE plus have shoulders fitting well. Waist and hip are easy adjustments on a dress compared to upper body.
trifles said... (3/22/12 4:52 PM) Reply
So, I consider myself warned about the pattern, but had to say that your review made me laugh out loud. Thanks - I needed that! :D
Bendy said... (2/7/12 10:35 PM) Reply
Yep, I am just finishing this dress. Made a size 6 too. I found that the facing was too big for the size, it was far too long, and quite shapeless. I did heed the warnings and tapered the pattern in from the top of the sides to the bottom, where I ended up taking 3" off each side of each piece. Still looks too much like a bag. Ah, well. I had to try!
SamO said... (7/21/11 8:26 PM) Reply
Agreed. I made this pattern in a size 6 since I have a size 30 bust and the dress turned out huge and instead of the bottom of the dress hitting mid-thigh, it came down several inches past my knee!
SamO said... (7/21/11 8:25 PM) Reply
Agreed. I made this pattern in a size 6 since I have a size 30 bust and the dress turned out huge and instead of the bottom of the dress hitting mid-thigh, it came down several inches past my knee!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2010-104

photo
by: Merche

Review
Butterick 5206

photo
by: ElizabethA...

Review
A-Door-Ables Paper Pattern

A-Door-Ables Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details