Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6111 (Misses' Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 172 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Petula
photo
About Petula
ME USA
Member since: 10/4/04
Reviews written: 1
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/20/11 0:07 AM
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SamO said...
Agreed. I made this pattern in a size 6 since I have a size 30 bust and the dress turned out huge and instead of the bottom of the dress hitting mid-thigh, it came down several inches past my knee!
7/21/11 8:25 PM
SamO said...
Agreed. I made this pattern in a size 6 since I have a size 30 bust and the dress turned out huge and instead of the bottom of the dress hitting mid-thigh, it came down several inches past my knee!
7/21/11 8:26 PM
Bendy said...
Yep, I am just finishing this dress. Made a size 6 too. I found that the facing was too big for the size, it was far too long, and quite shapeless. I did heed the warnings and tapered the pattern in from the top of the sides to the bottom, where I ended up taking 3" off each side of each piece. Still looks too much like a bag. Ah, well. I had to try!
2/7/12 10:35 PM
trifles said...
So, I consider myself warned about the pattern, but had to say that your review made me laugh out loud. Thanks - I needed that! :D
3/22/12 4:52 PM
mollyshark said...
I know this is an older review, but just a head's up. When you are doing one of the big four pattern companies (vogue, butterick, simplicity, mccalls), ALWAYS use high bust for measurement, not full bust. So if your full bust is 36, your high bust is probably like 34 or even smaller depending on cup size. Match up high bust with the pattern sizing and you'll eliminate much of the HUGE plus have shoulders fitting well. Waist and hip are easy adjustments on a dress compared to upper body.
6/27/12 3:36 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Butterick 4789
photo
Review by chicagoche... on 3/12/10
Read Review

Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2652
photo
Review by NhiHuynh on 1/6/12
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 202 Pattern
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9793 Pattern
Burda 9793 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8983 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8983 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us