SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Mood Fabrics
Mood Fabrics

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6111 (Misses' Dresses)

4 more reviews
Viewed 174 times 
Reviewed by:Petula
photo

 
 
About Petula
ME USA
Member since: 10/4/04
Reviews written: 1
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/20/11 0:07 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mollyshark said... (6/27/12 3:36 PM) Reply
I know this is an older review, but just a head's up. When you are doing one of the big four pattern companies (vogue, butterick, simplicity, mccalls), ALWAYS use high bust for measurement, not full bust. So if your full bust is 36, your high bust is probably like 34 or even smaller depending on cup size. Match up high bust with the pattern sizing and you'll eliminate much of the HUGE plus have shoulders fitting well. Waist and hip are easy adjustments on a dress compared to upper body.
trifles said... (3/22/12 4:52 PM) Reply
So, I consider myself warned about the pattern, but had to say that your review made me laugh out loud. Thanks - I needed that! :D
Bendy said... (2/7/12 10:35 PM) Reply
Yep, I am just finishing this dress. Made a size 6 too. I found that the facing was too big for the size, it was far too long, and quite shapeless. I did heed the warnings and tapered the pattern in from the top of the sides to the bottom, where I ended up taking 3" off each side of each piece. Still looks too much like a bag. Ah, well. I had to try!
SamO said... (7/21/11 8:26 PM) Reply
Agreed. I made this pattern in a size 6 since I have a size 30 bust and the dress turned out huge and instead of the bottom of the dress hitting mid-thigh, it came down several inches past my knee!
SamO said... (7/21/11 8:25 PM) Reply
Agreed. I made this pattern in a size 6 since I have a size 30 bust and the dress turned out huge and instead of the bottom of the dress hitting mid-thigh, it came down several inches past my knee!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Skinny Bitch Curvy Chick SB300

photo
by: susandf

Review
Towne Purse

Towne Purse

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Pattern Details