SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6111 (Misses' Dresses)

4 more reviews
Viewed 173 times 
Reviewed by:Petula
photo

 
 
About Petula
ME USA
Member since: 10/4/04
Reviews written: 1
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/20/11 0:07 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SamO said...
Agreed. I made this pattern in a size 6 since I have a size 30 bust and the dress turned out huge and instead of the bottom of the dress hitting mid-thigh, it came down several inches past my knee!
7/21/11 8:25 PM
SamO said...
Agreed. I made this pattern in a size 6 since I have a size 30 bust and the dress turned out huge and instead of the bottom of the dress hitting mid-thigh, it came down several inches past my knee!
7/21/11 8:26 PM
Bendy said...
Yep, I am just finishing this dress. Made a size 6 too. I found that the facing was too big for the size, it was far too long, and quite shapeless. I did heed the warnings and tapered the pattern in from the top of the sides to the bottom, where I ended up taking 3" off each side of each piece. Still looks too much like a bag. Ah, well. I had to try!
2/7/12 10:35 PM
trifles said...
So, I consider myself warned about the pattern, but had to say that your review made me laugh out loud. Thanks - I needed that! :D
3/22/12 4:52 PM
mollyshark said...
I know this is an older review, but just a head's up. When you are doing one of the big four pattern companies (vogue, butterick, simplicity, mccalls), ALWAYS use high bust for measurement, not full bust. So if your full bust is 36, your high bust is probably like 34 or even smaller depending on cup size. Match up high bust with the pattern sizing and you'll eliminate much of the HUGE plus have shoulders fitting well. Waist and hip are easy adjustments on a dress compared to upper body.
6/27/12 3:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Simplicity 4134

photo
by: chesneykat

Review
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Buy Now
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Buy Now