Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Brown Paper Patterns: Top Package One (Top Package One) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2216 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 266
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 231
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/10/02 1:49 AM
Last Updated:7/31/02 0:38 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Nikki--This was an excellent review and I really liked your "Lessons Learned" section. I have made this top (the flower-pot neckline) and felt it was a little to large in the bust area, but I am small-busted too. I agree with your tip about topstitching around the neckline; I think that would help to hold down the facings. I will do that the next time.
7/10/02 10:03 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Nikki, very pretty tops! I love the orange one! Did you line or underline the silk top?
7/10/02 10:40 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for the review, this is a pattern I have been considering.
7/10/02 12:52 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Cassandra - I wanted a fairly loose shirt, so I was happy with the amount of room in the bust, but if I wanted a more fitted style, I would probably have to mess around with the darts or something to get a closer fit. Deepika - I was too lazy to bother! The silk is a bit wrinkly, and would probably hold up better with underlining.
7/10/02 1:31 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
What a goodlooking threesome:-)
7/10/02 6:24 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Nikki, they're beautiful! How fun for us that you stitched up so many for us to see!
7/10/02 11:47 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for the review..I have been wondering about this pattern for some time now! I love the orange, one of my favorites!!
7/11/02 1:17 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for a well-written informative review. I have this pattern, and am thinking about making the button front top-yours looks really nice. About binding the square neck-yes it is possible, but not easy. It helps to round the corners slightly. For sharp corners you would need to miter the binding. I have always found this too fussy, so I don't do it. If you wanted to line the top, it could be lined to the neck edge and the linig would finish the square neck. I hate facings, but they are still the easiest finish for square necks.
7/31/02 12:39 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Nikki, thanks for a terrific review. Your tops are very pretty and would create a whole wardrobe just with a couple of bottom pieces.
7/31/02 1:18 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
hi nikki, thanks for the excellent review. i have considered buying this pattern and your review certainly helps in that decision. there is a place on the web that sells rayon seam bindings (http://thesewingplace.com/Notions/Seam%20Binding/seam_binding.htm). i have not tried them but they seem to offer a number of different color choices.
7/31/02 4:21 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
This was a good, well-written review. It helps to know how it fits, because I like my clothes very loose-fitting. I have an illness that causes a lot of pain, and can't stand tight clothing. I also like soft material. Now I know what a flower-pot neckline is. I never heard it called that. Thanks
10/25/02 12:23 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

brerrabbit.com Easy Table Runner Kit
photo
Review by Mary Stief... on 3/12/12
Read Review

Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Beach Bum Bermuda Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Beach Bum Bermuda Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2938 Misses top
photo
Review by KarlaB on 7/3/12
Read Review

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8908 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8908 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1439 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1439 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us