SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Brown Paper Patterns> Top Package One (Top Package One)

8 more reviews
Viewed 2221 times 
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 267
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 232
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/10/02 1:49 AM
Last Updated:7/31/02 0:38 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Nikki--This was an excellent review and I really liked your "Lessons Learned" section. I have made this top (the flower-pot neckline) and felt it was a little to large in the bust area, but I am small-busted too. I agree with your tip about topstitching around the neckline; I think that would help to hold down the facings. I will do that the next time.
7/10/02 10:03 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Nikki, very pretty tops! I love the orange one! Did you line or underline the silk top?
7/10/02 10:40 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for the review, this is a pattern I have been considering.
7/10/02 12:52 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Cassandra - I wanted a fairly loose shirt, so I was happy with the amount of room in the bust, but if I wanted a more fitted style, I would probably have to mess around with the darts or something to get a closer fit. Deepika - I was too lazy to bother! The silk is a bit wrinkly, and would probably hold up better with underlining.
7/10/02 1:31 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
What a goodlooking threesome:-)
7/10/02 6:24 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Nikki, they're beautiful! How fun for us that you stitched up so many for us to see!
7/10/02 11:47 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for the review..I have been wondering about this pattern for some time now! I love the orange, one of my favorites!!
7/11/02 1:17 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for a well-written informative review. I have this pattern, and am thinking about making the button front top-yours looks really nice. About binding the square neck-yes it is possible, but not easy. It helps to round the corners slightly. For sharp corners you would need to miter the binding. I have always found this too fussy, so I don't do it. If you wanted to line the top, it could be lined to the neck edge and the linig would finish the square neck. I hate facings, but they are still the easiest finish for square necks.
7/31/02 12:39 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Nikki, thanks for a terrific review. Your tops are very pretty and would create a whole wardrobe just with a couple of bottom pieces.
7/31/02 1:18 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
hi nikki, thanks for the excellent review. i have considered buying this pattern and your review certainly helps in that decision. there is a place on the web that sells rayon seam bindings (http://thesewingplace.com/Notions/Seam%20Binding/seam_binding.htm). i have not tried them but they seem to offer a number of different color choices.
7/31/02 4:21 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
This was a good, well-written review. It helps to know how it fits, because I like my clothes very loose-fitting. I have an illness that causes a lot of pain, and can't stand tight clothing. I also like soft material. Now I know what a flower-pot neckline is. I never heard it called that. Thanks
10/25/02 12:23 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2010-147

photo
by: Renren

Review
Simplicity 3881

photo
by: westmoon

Review
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Buy Now
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Buy Now