SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Brown Paper Patterns> Top Package One (Top Package One)

8 more reviews
Viewed 2222 times 
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 267
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 232
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/10/02 1:49 AM
Last Updated:7/31/02 0:38 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
This was a good, well-written review. It helps to know how it fits, because I like my clothes very loose-fitting. I have an illness that causes a lot of pain, and can't stand tight clothing. I also like soft material. Now I know what a flower-pot neckline is. I never heard it called that. Thanks
10/25/02 12:23 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
hi nikki, thanks for the excellent review. i have considered buying this pattern and your review certainly helps in that decision. there is a place on the web that sells rayon seam bindings (http://thesewingplace.com/Notions/Seam%20Binding/seam_binding.htm). i have not tried them but they seem to offer a number of different color choices.
7/31/02 4:21 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Nikki, thanks for a terrific review. Your tops are very pretty and would create a whole wardrobe just with a couple of bottom pieces.
7/31/02 1:18 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for a well-written informative review. I have this pattern, and am thinking about making the button front top-yours looks really nice. About binding the square neck-yes it is possible, but not easy. It helps to round the corners slightly. For sharp corners you would need to miter the binding. I have always found this too fussy, so I don't do it. If you wanted to line the top, it could be lined to the neck edge and the linig would finish the square neck. I hate facings, but they are still the easiest finish for square necks.
7/31/02 12:39 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for the review..I have been wondering about this pattern for some time now! I love the orange, one of my favorites!!
7/11/02 1:17 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Nikki, they're beautiful! How fun for us that you stitched up so many for us to see!
7/10/02 11:47 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
What a goodlooking threesome:-)
7/10/02 6:24 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Cassandra - I wanted a fairly loose shirt, so I was happy with the amount of room in the bust, but if I wanted a more fitted style, I would probably have to mess around with the darts or something to get a closer fit. Deepika - I was too lazy to bother! The silk is a bit wrinkly, and would probably hold up better with underlining.
7/10/02 1:31 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for the review, this is a pattern I have been considering.
7/10/02 12:52 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Nikki, very pretty tops! I love the orange one! Did you line or underline the silk top?
7/10/02 10:40 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Nikki--This was an excellent review and I really liked your "Lessons Learned" section. I have made this top (the flower-pot neckline) and felt it was a little to large in the bust area, but I am small-busted too. I agree with your tip about topstitching around the neckline; I think that would help to hold down the facings. I will do that the next time.
7/10/02 10:03 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

Buy Now
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now