SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1240 (Misses' Dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1212 times 
Reviewed by:Catherine Daze
photo

 
 
About Catherine Dazestarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/23/09
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 45 people
patterns reviewed: 49
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/23/11 10:13 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wench34 said...
Stunning! I think I am going to try it after seeing how lovely it is on you! Congratulations!
2/8/12 5:33 PM
norie creates said...
Your dress looks amazing. I have this pattern and I am very apprehensive about trying it, but thanks to your review, I may give it a shot.
2/5/12 10:25 AM
valkyrie01 said...
My hats off to you, it is stunning! Doubly so since I hate Guy Laroche; anyway that this designer can make a design more complicated and palpitation - inducing, he does so! In fact one of his designs that I was sewing up years ago was so frustrating that I gave up and threw it out! Thanks for warning about this one. It is a shame because his designs are lovely but unbearable to make, as you pointed out in your review. Thank you for writing such an informative review, because I was considering giving this pattern a shot (despite past difficulties with Guy Laroche patterns) but will spend my energies elsewhere. Again, you look fantastic in it, and congratulations for sticking it out! After that I seriously think that you should increase your sewing skills level on your profile to at least intermediate from advanced beginner!
12/4/11 11:54 AM
inkstain said...
Well, the dress looks great and I would never have guessed the "faff-factor." Well worth it!
7/28/11 2:59 AM
SewWil said...
Your struggles paid off. Your dress looks wonderful on you.
7/27/11 0:00 AM
Irina Grace said...
Thanks Catherine. I did not quite understand from your explanation how did you adjust the armholes. You wrote "I took it in something like 3cm at the top of each side seam and sewed the armscyes with a tiny seam allowance to raise them". I will be making a muslin first. It will help me to adjust and fit it right.
7/26/11 0:12 AM
Catherine Daze said...
Irina, your measurements are similar to mine and I made a 10 and took it in under the arms a lot. My guess is you'll be fine with an 8 or a 10 as a starting point - but the fit is so off you'll need to baste it and try it on as you go anyway. Good luck and do show us the results!
7/25/11 6:58 AM
Irina Grace said...
This dress looks beautiful on you! Thank you so much for the review. Inspite on all negative reviews I ordered this pattern because this is the only design I have found for my silk charmuese with abstract pattern. So, I got the pattern and now I am absolutely puzzled by the size. I never bought anything larger then size 8, usually 4 or 6. I even have size 2 skirts that are not tight on me. I have a small waist 26 in (66cm) and this is a size 12 on this pattern's body measurements chart! My bust is 36 in (92 cm ) and my hip size iz 38 in (97 cm) - size 14 on a chart! I ordered the pattern with sizes 4-6-8-10 without questioning myself. Please help me to figure this out... This is the first time I ordered Vogue pattern. I used only Burda patterns with european sizes.
7/24/11 3:32 PM
becca a said...
I looked at the pictures first and thought how chic you look. I was surprised to see your rating of the pattern given how great it looks. All that work redrafting the fit was worth it.
7/24/11 12:19 PM
marec said...
I've long admired this pattern and was pleased to see your review. The entire outfit is so perfect for you and the dress is gorgeous. Thanks for a very helpful review.
7/24/11 9:44 AM
cleverkitty said...
sharp sharp sharp despite everything you look so stylish, I wish I could capture your look.
7/24/11 9:14 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking dress!
7/24/11 8:04 AM
Fran G said...
This dress is gorgeous on you... AND love your shoes!!!
7/24/11 6:46 AM
Fran G said...
This dress is gorgeous on you... AND love your shoes!!!
7/24/11 6:46 AM
pdiddly said...
looks great, despite the frustrations and fight
7/24/11 5:15 AM
carolynw said...
Catharine I was so surprised when I saw "would not recommend" after first seeing the photo in the gallery - it looks so terrific on you - then I read your review - lots of hard work and problems but it all worked out - thankfully
7/24/11 0:00 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
I have loved that pattern and tossed up whether to get it. Thanks for the review. Your dress looks fab and was worth the effort!
7/23/11 11:22 PM
FreyaStark said...
It looks good on you, and there's no sign of the effort you put in to make it work. I hope you wear it and enjoy it.
7/23/11 6:59 PM
DreinPA said...
Catherine, so glad my review was helpful; it sure looks great on you!! One and you're done. Killer shoes too.
7/23/11 6:01 PM
ArtAttack said...
Absolutely adorable on you! Great and honest review...this pattern is not for me...thanks
7/23/11 4:42 PM
sew2little said...
Having just made a Vogue top with similar armholes decency issues, I am in total sympathy. However, you look absolutely smashing in this dress, so the compliments you get may outweigh the complications. I hope so!
7/23/11 4:05 PM
sfshaza said...
Ah-mazing on you. Normally I wouldn't even click on a design like this, but the little pic grabbed my attention, partly because of the floaty print goodness. And, wow, so amazing. I could never wear this in a zillion years. ;)
7/23/11 2:23 PM
Catbird said...
This looks fantastic on you and I love the shoes with it. You worked your way through a lot of hurdles to achieve a really beautiful result -- great job!! Excellent review, too.
7/23/11 1:41 PM
sewsewboy said...
Your dress came out very nice. My sister wanted me to make her this in a champagne painted effect chiffon BUT the reviews turned us off to it. May try it after all. Perhaps will make a muslin to work out the armhole issues. We'll see. Good job.
7/23/11 12:48 PM
Lisette said...
It looks wonderful on you!
7/23/11 12:01 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Very cute on you! Thanks for the honest review!
7/23/11 11:37 AM
rutaliet said...
Ah yes, I feel your pain, but in the end your dress is fabulous and looks incredible on you. Though the chiffon is difficult to work with, it is a nice choice for this design because it is floaty, as you mention. Otherwise, with all of the pleats and folds it can end up being too bulky. Really nice job!
7/23/11 10:30 AM
Twinset said...
This looks really great on you, well worth the fight! Thanks for the review!
7/23/11 10:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

McCall's 5633

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Downloadable 04-2013-116

photo
by: carrie1858...

Review