SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8709 (misses jacket)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1073 times 
Reviewed by:Doobee64
photo

 
 
About Doobee64star
Member since: 7/31/10
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 46
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/23/11 11:30 PM
Last Updated:8/1/11 8:53 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RLL said...
Very attractive and stylish.
7/24/11 5:17 AM
Janiki said...
This one turned out a real beauty. I also love the way you accessorized it.
7/24/11 8:17 AM
Mary Gillette said...
Gorgeous! And the necklace really sets it off.
7/24/11 8:37 AM
marec said...
Wonderful job! I love the neutral fabric paired with the cool necklace.
7/24/11 9:49 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful and really great with the necklace
7/24/11 10:06 AM
sewtime said...
I love your jacket, very pretty!!
7/24/11 11:25 AM
Athene said...
A very attractive jacket.
7/24/11 2:05 PM
Karine said...
Very nice. Love your fabric choice.
7/25/11 7:35 AM
Irene said...
This is such an appealing jacket, and thank you for writing your first review. Your work is immaculate, and I would like to understand Marcy Tilton's "tip on overlooking the armhole," but I haven't located it on her web site. Might you direct us?
7/25/11 2:56 PM
moushka said...
@Irene: I think she meant 'overlocking the armhole.' Great review, made me want to try the pattern. Your jacket is lovely.
7/26/11 10:38 PM
sfshaza said...
I'm the one who made this and it doesn't look that great on me. But I really love this pattern and yours is gorgeous, esp with that killer necklace! Your finishing with the primitive print Hong Kong seaming is gorgeous.
7/26/11 11:37 PM
FreyaStark said...
A highly original garment without being weird, as you say.
7/27/11 7:16 AM
sewtime said...
I love your jacket!
7/27/11 7:15 PM
ArtAttack said...
I love it! Great detailing...and SO beautiful on the inside, too. Beautiful work!
7/27/11 10:13 PM
DorothyK said...
Beautiful inside and out. This jacket is much more interesting made up than on the pattern envelope. Congratulations on your first review.
7/28/11 10:10 AM
beth5646 said...
Very nice jacket. Your work is immaculate and I love your fabric and your necklace. Don't you love those pockets? I have made this top/jacket using Japanese double gauze. I too love it. I need to write a review. I will make this pattern again, only next time will make it longer. Marcy Tilton has some gorgeous examples of this jacket on her website. Worth checking out. Thanks for the review.
7/28/11 10:45 PM
Carolyn.S said...
This jacket looks great, and I like the HongKong finishing. Great colour too, I'm sure you wil find this useful as well as gorgeous! Your fabric looks a little like ripstop cotton, is this the case?
7/29/11 7:08 AM
Doobee64 said...
Thank you all very much for your kind comments. It certainly is a pleasure to be a part of such a welcoming group of like-minded sewers. As to the fabric, it most certainly could be a ripstop cotton. It has been in my stash for awhile, only with ‘cotton’ as a label. But you are right, it does have the thick threads interwoven at intervals in a crosshatch pattern typical of ripstock. Happy sewing, everyone!
7/30/11 7:34 PM
whistlin dixie said...
What a nice rendition of this pattern! Your finishing is beautiful. The batik bias really adds some kick to the interior. You should definitely show that off!
9/5/11 9:59 PM
annamm said...
Looks marvellous.
10/24/11 7:40 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Burda 2471

photo
by: Thayer Aba...

Review

Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Buy Now