Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2444 (Misses' Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 653 times 77 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Time4me
photo
About Time4mestar
BC CANADA
Member since: 1/22/08
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/1/11 4:22 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
persevering said...
You look great in your dress and I appreciate your wonderful review (info on measurements/sizing is so helpful to me!). A tutorial on the petticoat (yes I linked to your Blog) would be amazing too - I'm interested especially to see how you dealt with the waist (like how do you keep the waist of the petticoat to be the least bulky possible).
8/1/11 5:02 PM
JenniferMM said...
This dress is so cute! (Btw, the pink and the lavender versions of this fabric are currently 75% off). Thanks for noting the length - at 5'10", that's always a concern for me too. I'd also be interested in the petticoat tutorial. Great job :)
8/1/11 5:18 PM
LorrieAnn said...
You achieved a great fitting dress, and you look very nice indeed in it. I found your review very helpful, and I too would be most grateful for a petticoat tutorial.
8/1/11 5:53 PM
Christas said...
Super cute dress! The fit is wonderful, and I love your fabric choice!
8/1/11 7:01 PM
Sewiing Sue said...
Pearl bow is fun! All that gingham that matches--kudos to you! The skirt is full but not overwhelming. Lovely.
8/1/11 8:11 PM
SewWil said...
Very cute dress! Looks great on you.
8/1/11 8:19 PM
miausiau said...
Excellent fit and great retro look. I thought it was a vintage pattern for a sec. Unusual construction on the waist but how convenient for fit.
8/1/11 8:41 PM
becca a said...
What a lovely dress! Thanks for the thorough review and photographs.
8/1/11 8:59 PM
Cristinagf said...
Love it! Your dress looks very flattering and classy.
8/1/11 9:26 PM
sewtofit said...
That is a really nice color for gingham. I was required to use gingham in my custom patterns class, and I went with black...the instructor was facinated when I added a red belt and wore the "assignment" during class. It was fun, and so too your dress looks fun. I think that details are terrific.
8/2/11 0:12 AM
pdiddly said...
your dress looks wonderful and I especially like the thrift shop bow
8/2/11 4:34 AM
Cands said...
great dress.
8/2/11 7:50 AM
Time4me said...
Thank you, everyone, for you lovely comments. I have always loved gingham but thought it was to feminine for me to pull off. However, when I saw it in kelly green, I figured it would take a chance! I am so glad I did. I think the double darts take a simple bodice and gives it a bit of a sassy edge! I am planning on writing up the petticoat tutorial tonight. Thanks again.
8/2/11 12:13 PM
ggf2005 said...
this brings back memories of when my Mom sewed for me. very cute
8/2/11 1:39 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I love the vintage feel of your dress. Very cute!
8/3/11 9:32 PM
sewinghoneybee said...
So adorable! The sizing info is so helpful as I have the same measurements. Great work!
8/15/11 12:50 PM
MamaLusco said...
Beautiful dress! Thanks for the helpful blog post & review.
3/12/12 10:59 PM
MariaDenmark said...
Great review - I love the dress! Thank you for the thoruogh review - it is very helpful!
4/9/12 10:47 AM
BettyJones said...
Thanks so much for the detailed review. I think the waist looks perfect where it is. Very lovely dress
5/7/12 6:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

New Look 6774
photo
Review by magsfs on 9/9/08
Read Review

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Much Ado Skipper Top Skipper Top
photo
Review by MayenDesig... on 10/4/13
Read Review

Burda 8061 Pattern
Burda 8061 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 2842 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Vogue 2842 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us