SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2444 (Misses' Dresses)

88 more reviews
Viewed 669 times 
Reviewed by:Time4me
photo

 
 
About Time4mestar
BC CANADA
Member since: 1/22/08
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/1/11 4:22 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
persevering said...
You look great in your dress and I appreciate your wonderful review (info on measurements/sizing is so helpful to me!). A tutorial on the petticoat (yes I linked to your Blog) would be amazing too - I'm interested especially to see how you dealt with the waist (like how do you keep the waist of the petticoat to be the least bulky possible).
8/1/11 5:02 PM
JenniferMM said...
This dress is so cute! (Btw, the pink and the lavender versions of this fabric are currently 75% off). Thanks for noting the length - at 5'10", that's always a concern for me too. I'd also be interested in the petticoat tutorial. Great job :)
8/1/11 5:18 PM
LorrieAnn said...
You achieved a great fitting dress, and you look very nice indeed in it. I found your review very helpful, and I too would be most grateful for a petticoat tutorial.
8/1/11 5:53 PM
Christas said...
Super cute dress! The fit is wonderful, and I love your fabric choice!
8/1/11 7:01 PM
Sewiing Sue said...
Pearl bow is fun! All that gingham that matches--kudos to you! The skirt is full but not overwhelming. Lovely.
8/1/11 8:11 PM
SewWil said...
Very cute dress! Looks great on you.
8/1/11 8:19 PM
miausiau said...
Excellent fit and great retro look. I thought it was a vintage pattern for a sec. Unusual construction on the waist but how convenient for fit.
8/1/11 8:41 PM
becca a said...
What a lovely dress! Thanks for the thorough review and photographs.
8/1/11 8:59 PM
Cristinagf said...
Love it! Your dress looks very flattering and classy.
8/1/11 9:26 PM
sewtofit said...
That is a really nice color for gingham. I was required to use gingham in my custom patterns class, and I went with black...the instructor was facinated when I added a red belt and wore the "assignment" during class. It was fun, and so too your dress looks fun. I think that details are terrific.
8/2/11 0:12 AM
pdiddly said...
your dress looks wonderful and I especially like the thrift shop bow
8/2/11 4:34 AM
Cands said...
great dress.
8/2/11 7:50 AM
Time4me said...
Thank you, everyone, for you lovely comments. I have always loved gingham but thought it was to feminine for me to pull off. However, when I saw it in kelly green, I figured it would take a chance! I am so glad I did. I think the double darts take a simple bodice and gives it a bit of a sassy edge! I am planning on writing up the petticoat tutorial tonight. Thanks again.
8/2/11 12:13 PM
ggf2005 said...
this brings back memories of when my Mom sewed for me. very cute
8/2/11 1:39 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I love the vintage feel of your dress. Very cute!
8/3/11 9:32 PM
sewinghoneybee said...
So adorable! The sizing info is so helpful as I have the same measurements. Great work!
8/15/11 12:50 PM
MamaLusco said...
Beautiful dress! Thanks for the helpful blog post & review.
3/12/12 10:59 PM
MariaDenmark said...
Great review - I love the dress! Thank you for the thoruogh review - it is very helpful!
4/9/12 10:47 AM
BettyJones said...
Thanks so much for the detailed review. I think the waist looks perfect where it is. Very lovely dress
5/7/12 6:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2012-16

photo
by: cath1492

Review
Simplicity 1926

photo
by: Saint Nolt...

Review
Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Buy Now