SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6355 (MIsses Top and Dresses)

20 more reviews
Viewed 904 times 
Reviewed by:3kids1036
photo

 
 
About 3kids1036starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 10/10/06
Reviews written: 261
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 220 people
patterns reviewed: 261
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/24/11 8:28 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JudiBee2 said...
Very nice job. My tip would be: make a full front pattern and cut one piece. Check that stripes are the same in bith sides. For back, if there us a seam, cut each half separately by flipping the pattern piece. Check match, front and back before cutting. Baste first. Use walking foot for seams. Check every few inches for shifting.
10/22/14 9:56 AM
Leu said...
Thanks for reviewing this pattern. I love the maxi length! I have the pattern in my stash, but hesitate every time I look at the tank top picture--it is the dress I want but the picture is horrid. Yours, on the other hand, looks awesome!
3/6/12 3:09 PM
kchow said...
I love this dress on you! I just bought the pattern, so thanks for posting your picture of this dress.
9/16/11 5:38 PM
3kids1036 said...
Thanks everyone @marec no I didn't make it, I got it from the thrift store lol.
7/25/11 11:50 PM
Obrooks770 said...
Cute dress, it looks great on you!
7/25/11 10:14 AM
Ach said...
I've used Wonder Tape on the seam line - not in seam allowance kwim? Doesn't gum up the needle and washes out if any peeks out on rs. Love the look and adore your jean jacket!
7/25/11 8:46 AM
Scheryka said...
Chic. I like it. Love the length.
7/24/11 9:25 PM
Barbara V said...
Love your maxi dress in stripes. You look great in it.
7/24/11 7:43 PM
Jacqui315 said...
I'm loving the stripes! It's very flattering. I like that it has darts even though its for knits. As for matching stipes, I usually pin each stripe, too, then use just a sewing machine instead of a serger.
7/24/11 3:38 PM
quixoticpixels said...
Cute dress! I usually pin at one edge of every stripe and then baste and adjust before putting in the final stitching.
7/24/11 3:00 PM
sewtime said...
Cute dress!!
7/24/11 11:18 AM
gernella said...
I've just bought this pattern so I was really interested to see what it would like on someone who is not stick thin. I think this looks really good on you, in fact much better than the model. I will cut a larger size as I don't want it hugging too much.
7/24/11 10:02 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
This is adorable! I love how it is paired with the short jean jacket. I think matching stripes on jersey is so hard because of the nature of jersey. I'll check back to see what tips you get.
7/24/11 10:01 AM
marec said...
Cute dress, especially with the jacket. Did you make the jacket too? I just read about matching stripes...solosmocker's blog? I'm just not sure. Did you use a walking foot?
7/24/11 9:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member