SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 07-2011-105 (Drapey Chiffon Top)

6 more reviews
Viewed 707 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 323
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 319 people
patterns reviewed: 323
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/2/11 11:11 AM
Last Updated:8/2/11 11:42 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mikgirl said...
I'm starting to make this top, and i had to read the instruction over and over and just didn't get it... Your video really helped! Thank you!
12/12/11 11:59 PM
SewPie said...
I totally agree with Deepika! Best review! I love the video, you've got a natural instructing style. The instructions look as you say atrocious, but your video shows this to be a clever idea that is quite simple (although without your video I wouldn't have realized). Thank you for your time.
9/22/11 3:53 AM
SewPie said...
I totally agree with Deepika! Best review! I love the video, you've got a natural instructing style. The instructions look as you say atrocious, but your video shows this to be a clever idea that is quite simple (although without your video I wouldn't have realized). Thank you for your time.
9/22/11 3:43 AM
yummymummy38 said...
Thanks so much for the video, it does look simple and saves a lot of head scratching. BTW I loved you and Cidell's latest podcast, I liked much the same outfits in May and had the same gripes as you two re BurdaStyle, hope to hear more.
8/4/11 8:30 AM
Diane333 said...
Great video. Very clear.
8/3/11 7:10 PM
Anniinbc said...
Thank you doing the video. It turns Burdaese into plain English in under 60 seconds.
8/3/11 1:19 PM
waltzqueen said...
OH MY!!! Who would think a flirty little top like this could take so much work! I am in total awe of you! The detail, technique, problem solving and overall knowledge of sewing and fitting represented in this delicate blouse are astonishing. Your blouse is gorgeous. I love the yellow too!
8/3/11 10:46 AM
FreyaStark said...
A cute top, even if you have doubts about it. I think it works best with the jeans and pencil skirt.
8/3/11 7:25 AM
dingyadi said...
Oh wow! I love it. I loved this pattern when I saw it in the mag and tried it myself in bias fabric as they recommend and it was truly diabolical - to make and to wear. I'm really happy to see what it looks like on the straight grain (eminently sensible idea!) -it looks much better that way. Gorgeous fabric too.
8/3/11 7:24 AM
Terri A said...
Great review and really coooool top!
8/3/11 1:02 AM
Sewrapy said...
Very pretty, love the pencil skirt as well . I've seen burda patterns however I keep hearing about burda magazine ??? How to I get one?
8/3/11 1:01 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Very pretty and versatile top! The colour looks great on you too. Love the video too. Great idea.
8/2/11 7:11 PM
cindy-lou said...
Pretty! I love it with the pencil skirt.
8/2/11 5:34 PM
MichelleE said...
Wow, you put A LOT of work into this! And thanks for unravelling the origami mystery on video. I love these kind of tops because they are flowy and cool but I've had some what to wear with it issues too. I definitely like it with the jeans on you! Super job!
8/2/11 5:24 PM
mun3 said...
Very cute blouse.
8/2/11 3:25 PM
Mufffet said...
WOW...lovely blouse, great fabric, and just a great color for you. Interesting styling on this top. Your video is so helpful to anyone making this. I would be totally at sea with that! I agree with aliesje that the first two pictures are great outfits but the eyelet skirt isn't really a style that meshes! Still looks cute though! :)
8/2/11 2:25 PM
SewWil said...
I've been eyeing this top since I received my magazine. Thank you for your wonderful review. Your top turned out great!
8/2/11 2:23 PM
Deepika said...
If I were to give out awards for the best review for 2011, this would be IT! Seriously, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a helpful review and video. The blouse is beautiful!
8/2/11 2:22 PM
Elke said...
Very pretty top! Thanks for the very helpful video and review.
8/2/11 2:10 PM
olgarosita said...
Thank you so much for the review and for the video! I like it best with the pants or the straight skirt. This top was one of my favorites from the last Burda issue, but this is the second opinion about it being problematic, so I don't know anymore...
8/2/11 12:58 PM
marjoriekh said...
Great review (as usual!) -- I agree the top looks particularly good tucked in, but I still like it worn out as well. Love the flounce. I'm a pear, and would never have had the courage to attempt a hip-banded style.
8/2/11 12:31 PM
Aroura said...
Super SUPER cute top! Great review. I'm going to have to get Burda magazine for sure, now.
8/2/11 12:10 PM
aliesje said...
oh wow - i was just about to get started on this project today - and also in yellow (a silk cotton voile)! thanks for the helpful review; i'm definitely keeping it on hand when I start making my own. I don't think i'll be adding the lining or moving the flounce - i'm cool with wearing a cami underneath (i'm in the pacific northwest). I don't think skirt number three (not tucked in) reveals the top to be a sack. I just don't think those two shapes are made to be together. the other outfits look awesome.
8/2/11 11:51 AM
nicegirl said...
Oh, thanks for reminding me, Sue! I did *not* cut this on the bias. Adding that info.
8/2/11 11:41 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Wow, what a super helpful review and video! I read another review that said that it was cut on the bias which was problematic - did you cut yours on the bias?
8/2/11 11:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Kwik Sew 3484

photo
by: JUNIPERJUN...

Review

Pattern

Farbenmix Imke

photo
by: wildbluest...

Review
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

Buy Now