SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 07-2011-105 (Drapey Chiffon Top)

6 more reviews
Viewed 705 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 313 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/2/11 11:11 AM
Last Updated:8/2/11 11:42 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sue Anfang said...
Wow, what a super helpful review and video! I read another review that said that it was cut on the bias which was problematic - did you cut yours on the bias?
8/2/11 11:32 AM
nicegirl said...
Oh, thanks for reminding me, Sue! I did *not* cut this on the bias. Adding that info.
8/2/11 11:41 AM
aliesje said...
oh wow - i was just about to get started on this project today - and also in yellow (a silk cotton voile)! thanks for the helpful review; i'm definitely keeping it on hand when I start making my own. I don't think i'll be adding the lining or moving the flounce - i'm cool with wearing a cami underneath (i'm in the pacific northwest). I don't think skirt number three (not tucked in) reveals the top to be a sack. I just don't think those two shapes are made to be together. the other outfits look awesome.
8/2/11 11:51 AM
Aroura said...
Super SUPER cute top! Great review. I'm going to have to get Burda magazine for sure, now.
8/2/11 12:10 PM
marjoriekh said...
Great review (as usual!) -- I agree the top looks particularly good tucked in, but I still like it worn out as well. Love the flounce. I'm a pear, and would never have had the courage to attempt a hip-banded style.
8/2/11 12:31 PM
olgarosita said...
Thank you so much for the review and for the video! I like it best with the pants or the straight skirt. This top was one of my favorites from the last Burda issue, but this is the second opinion about it being problematic, so I don't know anymore...
8/2/11 12:58 PM
Elke said...
Very pretty top! Thanks for the very helpful video and review.
8/2/11 2:10 PM
Deepika said...
If I were to give out awards for the best review for 2011, this would be IT! Seriously, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a helpful review and video. The blouse is beautiful!
8/2/11 2:22 PM
SewWil said...
I've been eyeing this top since I received my magazine. Thank you for your wonderful review. Your top turned out great!
8/2/11 2:23 PM
Mufffet said...
WOW...lovely blouse, great fabric, and just a great color for you. Interesting styling on this top. Your video is so helpful to anyone making this. I would be totally at sea with that! I agree with aliesje that the first two pictures are great outfits but the eyelet skirt isn't really a style that meshes! Still looks cute though! :)
8/2/11 2:25 PM
mun3 said...
Very cute blouse.
8/2/11 3:25 PM
MichelleE said...
Wow, you put A LOT of work into this! And thanks for unravelling the origami mystery on video. I love these kind of tops because they are flowy and cool but I've had some what to wear with it issues too. I definitely like it with the jeans on you! Super job!
8/2/11 5:24 PM
cindy-lou said...
Pretty! I love it with the pencil skirt.
8/2/11 5:34 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Very pretty and versatile top! The colour looks great on you too. Love the video too. Great idea.
8/2/11 7:11 PM
Sewrapy said...
Very pretty, love the pencil skirt as well . I've seen burda patterns however I keep hearing about burda magazine ??? How to I get one?
8/3/11 1:01 AM
Terri A said...
Great review and really coooool top!
8/3/11 1:02 AM
dingyadi said...
Oh wow! I love it. I loved this pattern when I saw it in the mag and tried it myself in bias fabric as they recommend and it was truly diabolical - to make and to wear. I'm really happy to see what it looks like on the straight grain (eminently sensible idea!) -it looks much better that way. Gorgeous fabric too.
8/3/11 7:24 AM
FreyaStark said...
A cute top, even if you have doubts about it. I think it works best with the jeans and pencil skirt.
8/3/11 7:25 AM
waltzqueen said...
OH MY!!! Who would think a flirty little top like this could take so much work! I am in total awe of you! The detail, technique, problem solving and overall knowledge of sewing and fitting represented in this delicate blouse are astonishing. Your blouse is gorgeous. I love the yellow too!
8/3/11 10:46 AM
Anniinbc said...
Thank you doing the video. It turns Burdaese into plain English in under 60 seconds.
8/3/11 1:19 PM
Diane333 said...
Great video. Very clear.
8/3/11 7:10 PM
yummymummy38 said...
Thanks so much for the video, it does look simple and saves a lot of head scratching. BTW I loved you and Cidell's latest podcast, I liked much the same outfits in May and had the same gripes as you two re BurdaStyle, hope to hear more.
8/4/11 8:30 AM
SewPie said...
I totally agree with Deepika! Best review! I love the video, you've got a natural instructing style. The instructions look as you say atrocious, but your video shows this to be a clever idea that is quite simple (although without your video I wouldn't have realized). Thank you for your time.
9/22/11 3:43 AM
SewPie said...
I totally agree with Deepika! Best review! I love the video, you've got a natural instructing style. The instructions look as you say atrocious, but your video shows this to be a clever idea that is quite simple (although without your video I wouldn't have realized). Thank you for your time.
9/22/11 3:53 AM
Mikgirl said...
I'm starting to make this top, and i had to read the instruction over and over and just didn't get it... Your video really helped! Thank you!
12/12/11 11:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Contest Mini wardrobe Challenge

photo
by: House of P...

Review
Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Buy Now
Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Buy Now