Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8631 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 447 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Tailypo
photo
About Tailypostarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/6/03
Reviews written: 79
Favored by: 65 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/25/11 1:27 PM
Last Updated:7/25/11 2:12 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ladybegood said...
Thanks for the review. What a shame... it looks better on your dressform than on you. I think you could have gone down another size or two. Maybe you can salvage it by taking it it more and raising the underarm seam. The great thing about kimono sleeves is that they're the one sleeve you can raise after sewing. I think if you could get it to fit you the way it fits your dressform it would be a winner.
7/25/11 2:41 PM
ladybegood said...
... Or save it for your next gyno exam and be the chicest patient in the office!
7/25/11 2:42 PM
JDpenelope said...
How disappointing. I wonder if the fabric could be part of the problem. The color is beautiful on you.....but, well you know. Your review is helpful and a good reality check.
7/26/11 7:57 AM
Mufffet said...
I think it's a style for those who are about 5'11" and weigh about 95 pounds, really. It's a style that would be good in a silk or some such and in a light weight, and perhaps longer? All that though, and it is a nice garment in a nice color! I see ladybegood suggested "smallerizing" it and I think that would really be a good tangent toward better fit!
7/26/11 11:46 AM
RoseFromThule said...
I've made this and had exactly the same problem. Fortunately my fabric is very drapey so with a cami it's still cute. I think that maybe it comes from the front bodice being cut on the straight grain - so that the neckline is on the bias. I have another dress from Vogue with a similar bodice (surplice) and it was cut on the bias, so that the neckline is on straight grain and the whole "cross over" doesn't stretch too much.
8/5/11 4:36 AM
Anne Cherry said...
Your review makes me feel better! I made this up in a green poly cotton (ie did not closely read recommended fabrics) ...totally agree with your description of the 'hospital gown' look! Horrendous! This happened early in my return-to-sewing adventure and nearly put me off! I ended up harvesting the pieces for small projects; cutting the ugly thing up was a distinct pleasure...Now, having seen other versions in much softer fabric, I am contemplating trying again....just contemplating...(and if I go beyond this phase, I now know more re: how to cut the bulk down to size) Edit - forgot to comment that I think this style works much better with a print fabric than solid...The drawings on the front of the pattern lead you to think otherwise (the dresses are presented in solid colours, which attracted me, esp the yellow short sleeve version) but in practice, solids perpetuate the 'hospital gown' look....
12/7/11 9:41 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Vogue Patterns 8784 dress
photo
Review by mnitts on 11/8/12
Read Review

Petite Plus 150 Pattern
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Flippy Skirt Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Flippy Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1194
photo
Review by TheaBerlin on 6/10/10
Read Review

McCalls 6790 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6790 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4051 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4051 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us