SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2601 (Shaped Midriff Peplum Blouse)

26 more reviews
Viewed 344 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews: 325 (patterns: 325)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 334 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/26/11 10:42 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
olgarosita said... (7/29/11 3:17 AM) Reply
Nicegirl, thank you so much for your answer! :)
nicegirl said... (7/28/11 9:29 AM) Reply
olgarosita--the SBA is the same as narrowing a dart. Just overlap the tissue as though you are folding a dart to take out some width. There is a photo of how I did it on another pattern here: http:[email protected]/3393851252/
olgarosita said... (7/28/11 3:59 AM) Reply
Nicegirl, wow, maybe I should start thinking about a way to eliminate ironing, what a time saver that would be! I hope you see this comment, because I forgot to ask you in my first one about how you narrowed the bust gather for SBA. I read your blog post but I don't think there was anything related to this. Thank you!
FreyaStark said... (7/27/11 7:45 AM) Reply
Two cute blouses. I love the polka dots, even undifferentiated.
MarianS said... (7/27/11 0:55 AM) Reply
They are all so pretty. You look great in this style. I love the polka dots, even if they are undifferentiated!
SewWil said... (7/27/11 0:30 AM) Reply
Both of your blouses are very pretty. As usual thank you for the great review.
nicegirl said... (7/26/11 4:43 PM) Reply
Olgarosita--I solve that problem by never ironing! I put almost nothing in the dryer and hang to dry. Most things dry wrinkle-free enough for my taste (=this is what it would look like after an hour of wear anyway). That said, I don't find a lining makes it too hard to iron, especially if the lining can take the same amount of heat as the fashion fabric.
Mufffet said... (7/26/11 2:40 PM) Reply
Great blouses! I love the coral one on you, and the block and white is a sensational pattern and looks great! SO - I guess you have two winners here! :) nice style for you. Extremely becoming.
mad stash said... (7/26/11 1:46 PM) Reply
They're both sweet! By the way, I think you might have coined a new phrase with "undifferentiated polka dots". Love it, only on PR! :D
marec said... (7/26/11 11:32 AM) Reply
These are so cute. I have planned on using this pattern for more than a year but it keeps getting set aside. I love your versions.
olgarosita said... (7/26/11 11:10 AM) Reply
Very pretty blouses, I love them both! I see that you prefer lining most of your garments, which I like, but I am always concerned that this would make the ironing more difficult. Especially when the lining is completely attached to the outer shell (at shoulders, hem, etc). I wonder if I am overthinking re: ironing :)
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

McCall's 6747

photo
by: grays08

Review
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Pattern Details
New Look 6288

photo
by: halleyscom...

Review