SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2601 (Shaped Midriff Peplum Blouse)

25 more reviews
Viewed 338 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/26/11 10:42 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
olgarosita said...
Very pretty blouses, I love them both! I see that you prefer lining most of your garments, which I like, but I am always concerned that this would make the ironing more difficult. Especially when the lining is completely attached to the outer shell (at shoulders, hem, etc). I wonder if I am overthinking re: ironing :)
7/26/11 11:10 AM
marec said...
These are so cute. I have planned on using this pattern for more than a year but it keeps getting set aside. I love your versions.
7/26/11 11:32 AM
mad stash said...
They're both sweet! By the way, I think you might have coined a new phrase with "undifferentiated polka dots". Love it, only on PR! :D
7/26/11 1:46 PM
Mufffet said...
Great blouses! I love the coral one on you, and the block and white is a sensational pattern and looks great! SO - I guess you have two winners here! :) nice style for you. Extremely becoming.
7/26/11 2:40 PM
nicegirl said...
Olgarosita--I solve that problem by never ironing! I put almost nothing in the dryer and hang to dry. Most things dry wrinkle-free enough for my taste (=this is what it would look like after an hour of wear anyway). That said, I don't find a lining makes it too hard to iron, especially if the lining can take the same amount of heat as the fashion fabric.
7/26/11 4:43 PM
SewWil said...
Both of your blouses are very pretty. As usual thank you for the great review.
7/27/11 0:30 AM
MarianS said...
They are all so pretty. You look great in this style. I love the polka dots, even if they are undifferentiated!
7/27/11 0:55 AM
FreyaStark said...
Two cute blouses. I love the polka dots, even undifferentiated.
7/27/11 7:45 AM
olgarosita said...
Nicegirl, wow, maybe I should start thinking about a way to eliminate ironing, what a time saver that would be! I hope you see this comment, because I forgot to ask you in my first one about how you narrowed the bust gather for SBA. I read your blog post but I don't think there was anything related to this. Thank you!
7/28/11 3:59 AM
nicegirl said...
olgarosita--the SBA is the same as narrowing a dart. Just overlap the tissue as though you are folding a dart to take out some width. There is a photo of how I did it on another pattern here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/7573004@N06/3393851252/
7/28/11 9:29 AM
olgarosita said...
Nicegirl, thank you so much for your answer! :)
7/29/11 3:17 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Burda 7318

photo
by: Lori V

Review
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Buy Now