SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5466 (Misses' Skirt and Belt)

34 more reviews
Viewed 285 times 
Reviewed by:redcleo
photo

 
 
About redcleo
MN USA
Member since: 12/23/08
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/26/11 10:24 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nicegirl said...
Very cute! It's great to find those TNT patterns. I am going against Grain Orthodoxy here, but as long as your fabric is stable cutting on the crossgrain probably won't be a problem. I've done it in fabric shortage emergencies with no noticeable ill effect. It is best to cut all pieces on the same grain, though, whether straight of grain or crossgrain.
7/26/11 10:50 AM
ClioBklyn said...
The fun fabric really works on such an unfussy pattern! Very fun! I second cutting it crossgrain. I just used a border print which I cut crosswise and it turned out fine.
7/26/11 11:14 AM
redcleo said...
Thanks for the cross-grain advice! I'm going to give it a shot! What do I have to lose, except one yard of fabric.
7/26/11 2:07 PM
hme75 said...
Another great skirt! I've been trying to decide on a pencil skirt pattern for fall and I'll definitely take a closer look at this. Too bad I just missed the $0.99 Butterick sale at Joanns..
7/26/11 11:40 PM
sewman100 said...
Can this Skirt be made below the knee as I am looking for patterns below the knew to mid calf and longer
7/27/11 1:11 AM
sewman100 said...
Can this Skirt be made below the knee as I am looking for patterns below the knew to mid calf and longer
7/27/11 1:11 AM
redcleo said...
sewman100 - I hemmed this up 4 1/2" and I'm 5'8", so it's pretty much a below-the-knee skirt already. I think if it was much longer, you'd have to add in a back vent, as it's fairly slim. My stride wasn't hindered with the shorter length, but I think it might be awkward if it was longer. Otherwise, I don't see why you couldn't make it longer. All of the pattern pieces are just a plain rectangle except for the hips/waistline part, so it would be really easy to make longer.
7/27/11 11:29 AM
Anne Cherry said...
Wow love the fabric you used! I LOVE this pattern - really need to break out and try some of the other views (I'm stuck on View A) :-0 I added a back vent to my versions - it helps with movement but not critical for knee length. Agree that you need it if making a below knee version. Also, I've made this on the cross grain, works fine!
7/29/11 10:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Colette Patterns Pastille

photo
by: miausiau

Review
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Buy Now