Online Sewing Class: The Contemporary Couture Jacket
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8380 (MISSES' DRESS)

37 more reviews
Viewed 558 times 
Reviewed by:redcleo
photo

 
 
About redcleo
MN USA
Member since: 12/23/08
Reviews: 32 (patterns: 31)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/2/11 3:20 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
redcleo said... (8/8/11 2:24 PM) Reply
Thanks so much for the kind comments!
a life in stitches said... (8/3/11 5:50 AM) Reply
Lovely result. I'm pleased to see the lower neckline, having made this pattern with the higher version a few summers back, and thinking of trying the other style because it is a lovely easy dress to wear in warm weather. I like the way the straps work too, but I did find that once I had them in the right position it was worth putting in a few handstitches to secure them to the casing, on the inside. This saves having to re-position after washing. I remember finding the midriff band a bit close-fitting on first fit - so recommend anyone making it the first time to check that measurement carefully before cutting, or add a little extra on the side-seam allowance in case it's needed.
sewtofit said... (8/3/11 2:26 AM) Reply
I made this dress for myself. I think it is cute and very comfortable..thinking about making it long for my upcoming cruise. Yours is really nice.
The Funky Seamstress said... (8/2/11 11:35 PM) Reply
I have this pattern in my stash, with plans to make the higher neckline. I'm so glad I get to see it! Yours looks absolutely awesome! I especially love the fit at the back. Thanks for motivating me to make mine!
Sue Parrott said... (8/2/11 10:48 PM) Reply
I really like your dress! It is very cute on you and the fabric is perfect!
ButtonFaith said... (8/2/11 5:38 PM) Reply
This is a great view and avery pretty dress! I love the print and it made up so well in this pattern! You mentioned you didn't think it was flattering on you...I disagree! Good point about pockets being a good addition to this pattern.
redcleo said... (8/2/11 4:29 PM) Reply
It's on the inside... I often use flexi-lace for the inside of the hem, but tried ribbon on a skirt and liked it. I loved that this ribbon coordinated, but it was much too busy to put it on the outside. So it's like a secret, just for me. Like a lacy trim on a slip or a bow on a bra - no one else knows, but it makes me smile.
Laurie Lou said... (8/2/11 4:03 PM) Reply
very VERY cute! and the Fabric (from fabric.com :) looks terrific with your red hair. I was curious why you used such a pretty trim on the inside of the dress or is it on the outside and I can't see it. You did a wonderful job and enjoyed reading your review.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

McCall's 7084

photo
by: BlueSkysAh...

Review
Simplicity 4711

photo
by: Grizabella

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Pattern Details
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Pattern Details