SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6378 OOP 

1 more reviews
Viewed 212 times 
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 118
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/5/11 0:37 AM
Last Updated:9/5/11 8:19 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


McCall's: 6378 OOP by FreyaStark  McCall's: 6378 OOP by FreyaStark  
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
I love the robe and the fabric is gorgeous. No, freyastark, the Empress of China did not come to mind. But I'll bet you end up shortening those sleeves. Long robe sleeves are always such a hazard in the kitchen, lol.
9/5/11 2:49 AM
mssewcrazy said...
This is a great review. I am very interested in vintage sleepwear patterns at the moment. The ones in the books now leave lots to be desired. That is a really nice robe.
9/5/11 6:31 AM
Renren said...
That is some very lovely fabric! How innovative to add the mandarin collar and the satin trim at the sleeve bottoms. Both definitely move the overall interest of the gown up a notch or two. The sleeve length seems ideal for keeping warm; however, I agree--use extreme caution around campfires. Oh, yes--fun review, too!
9/5/11 7:58 AM
Mufffet said...
I do love this. I love floor length robes with high collars and zippers. Very lovely fabric as well. :) My solution for the sleeves is to not cook in them and wear this to sit and read. :)
9/5/11 10:27 AM
carolynw said...
Love this - if I were closer I swear I would steal it. As a lover of long sleeves on dressig gowns I must however agree with Cathy LF - long sleeves are a huge hazzard in the kitchen - my DS just asked me to shorten hers drastically and tha tmade me think I should do the same - settled on elastic in the hems. Whatever - you do look very regal and as said I would steal it in a second
9/5/11 10:47 AM
mendospot said...
funny review! and lovely nightgown.
9/5/11 11:54 AM
OlindaM said...
I loved the review and the gown - leave the sleeves alone and get someone else to cook!
9/5/11 2:04 PM
Heatherrique said...
Sleepwear? Your gown has elegance and style. You could have guests over and they would not notice that it is a "night" gown, but maybe a comfortable "evening" gown. Very nicely done!
9/5/11 3:34 PM
jenleeC said...
A very glam nightgown (not a mere nightie!). And I'm sure the St Trinian's Headmistress would never have cooked so the sleeves should not be a problem!
9/5/11 7:14 PM
cleverclogs said...
The mandarin collar is a really nice touch. Not empress of China at all- no corded frog closures! And to look like the head of St Trinians I think you'd need a fluffy perm. The sleeves however may be a fire hazard. Tell someone one else to do the cooking while you recline elegantly with a glass of wine.
9/6/11 7:32 AM
Calendria said...
Gorgeous! absolutely gorgeous!
9/6/11 2:12 PM
fourkid said...
Splendid! This is beautiful. I love the collar and the sleeve trims.
9/8/11 10:15 PM
Margaret said...
Very lovely robe -- wonderful print and ribbon. Thanks for this review. I actually have this pattern and you have made it up much more stylishly than I would have thought possible from the drawings.
9/12/11 10:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 2345

photo
by: sewmodest

Review
McCall's M5948

photo
by: Sixtiesgir...

Review
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Buy Now
The City Bag

The City Bag

Buy Now