SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6378 OOP 

1 more reviews
Viewed 220 times 
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 167
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 121
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/5/11 0:37 AM
Last Updated:9/5/11 8:19 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


McCall's: 6378 OOP by FreyaStark  McCall's: 6378 OOP by FreyaStark  
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Margaret said...
Very lovely robe -- wonderful print and ribbon. Thanks for this review. I actually have this pattern and you have made it up much more stylishly than I would have thought possible from the drawings.
9/12/11 10:18 AM
fourkid said...
Splendid! This is beautiful. I love the collar and the sleeve trims.
9/8/11 10:15 PM
Calendria said...
Gorgeous! absolutely gorgeous!
9/6/11 2:12 PM
cleverclogs said...
The mandarin collar is a really nice touch. Not empress of China at all- no corded frog closures! And to look like the head of St Trinians I think you'd need a fluffy perm. The sleeves however may be a fire hazard. Tell someone one else to do the cooking while you recline elegantly with a glass of wine.
9/6/11 7:32 AM
jenleeC said...
A very glam nightgown (not a mere nightie!). And I'm sure the St Trinian's Headmistress would never have cooked so the sleeves should not be a problem!
9/5/11 7:14 PM
Heatherrique said...
Sleepwear? Your gown has elegance and style. You could have guests over and they would not notice that it is a "night" gown, but maybe a comfortable "evening" gown. Very nicely done!
9/5/11 3:34 PM
OlindaM said...
I loved the review and the gown - leave the sleeves alone and get someone else to cook!
9/5/11 2:04 PM
mendospot said...
funny review! and lovely nightgown.
9/5/11 11:54 AM
carolynw said...
Love this - if I were closer I swear I would steal it. As a lover of long sleeves on dressig gowns I must however agree with Cathy LF - long sleeves are a huge hazzard in the kitchen - my DS just asked me to shorten hers drastically and tha tmade me think I should do the same - settled on elastic in the hems. Whatever - you do look very regal and as said I would steal it in a second
9/5/11 10:47 AM
Mufffet said...
I do love this. I love floor length robes with high collars and zippers. Very lovely fabric as well. :) My solution for the sleeves is to not cook in them and wear this to sit and read. :)
9/5/11 10:27 AM
Renren said...
That is some very lovely fabric! How innovative to add the mandarin collar and the satin trim at the sleeve bottoms. Both definitely move the overall interest of the gown up a notch or two. The sleeve length seems ideal for keeping warm; however, I agree--use extreme caution around campfires. Oh, yes--fun review, too!
9/5/11 7:58 AM
mssewcrazy said...
This is a great review. I am very interested in vintage sleepwear patterns at the moment. The ones in the books now leave lots to be desired. That is a really nice robe.
9/5/11 6:31 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
I love the robe and the fabric is gorgeous. No, freyastark, the Empress of China did not come to mind. But I'll bet you end up shortening those sleeves. Long robe sleeves are always such a hazard in the kitchen, lol.
9/5/11 2:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

My Image Magazine Winter 2012-M1253

photo
by: squirrelly...

Review
Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Buy Now