SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6412 (suits)

3 more reviews
Viewed 2224 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/12/04 1:32 PM
Last Updated:9/25/04 7:25 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bheath said...
DrSue - beautiful suit!!!!!! Great color and the pin really adds to the overall look! Very Coco Chanel
9/12/04 1:40 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
OMG! Your suit is *gorgeous! So feminine. Love the buttons you chose and that pin is fab.
9/12/04 1:56 PM
Eli said...
Beautiful!
9/12/04 2:30 PM
JoleneF said...
This is great! Lvoe the color!
9/12/04 2:38 PM
Levone said...
I love your suit. Great job!
9/12/04 2:42 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Your suit looks like the ones in the new Vogue Pattern Magazine by Donna Karan. You are very "IN". Lovely fabric and suit. Glad to read NL pattern worked well for you. I am always concerned they are going to be way to big for me being on the petite side. Sound like they work well though. Thanks for the review.
9/12/04 3:51 PM
Gladys said...
This is fantastic! I have seen some of your other pieces and your work is beautiful.
9/12/04 3:55 PM
MaryBeth said...
Very nice, I'd love to see it on you! Your coice to use a different skirt, change the flouce and the button placment are brilliant. Bravo!
9/12/04 4:27 PM
jlg said...
Sue, this suit is fabulous. It is beautiful and very expensive looking. This is impressive!
9/12/04 5:07 PM
Lou. said...
Oh wow, this looks so good, what an inspiration.
9/12/04 5:21 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Beautiful! It makes me wish I had a place to wear a suit.
9/12/04 7:06 PM
Sew it seams said...
Oh, I just love your suit! It looks very expensive. I love your pin, too.
9/12/04 7:50 PM
CarolynGM said...
Gorgeous suit. It looks like you bought it in a fashionable, expensive boutique.
9/12/04 7:56 PM
drsue said...
I'll try to put up a pic of me in the suit at a later date. Right now we're in the midst of a major heat wave and I can't bear to wear it right now. It looks good on me as well as the form. I love to see it on the form. When I was a highschooler in Virginia, I would take a bus through Old Town Alexandria. There was a boutique we passed by that always had the most wonderful clothes on a dress form like this. It really brings me back.
9/12/04 8:01 PM
Lori V said...
gorgeous
9/12/04 10:49 PM
PVA said...
Drsue, this suit is absolutely smashing! Thanks for the review & all the construction details. What a great pin, perfect finish for a very professional look.
9/13/04 10:26 AM
SueV said...
Great suit; and very professional work. I love your reviews and the garments you make. Thanks!
9/13/04 10:48 AM
Teenie said...
Beautiful!!! and the pin, is great!
9/14/04 7:29 PM
appleC said...
Ah... having buttons above and below the bust will cause a bust gap! Thank you so much for the tip. Very lovely suit.
9/15/04 2:28 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
Beautiful suit - retro, classic, yet so up to date. It looks like high grade RTW. I appreciate your comments about the fringing, it's a detail I feel a bit diffident about too.
9/15/04 5:45 PM
captreestarfish said...
That suit is just so stunning. Very, Very helpful review. So inspiring and lovely.
9/15/04 8:40 PM
mag said...
Drsue, your suit is gorgeous. I just got some black and white tweedy wool boucle, and I want to try that pattern. I travel to DC frequently and I know the shop in Old Town that you are talking about. I would like to reproduce many of the items I have seen displayed there.
9/17/04 6:41 PM
jlg said...
It looks great on you. Thanks for the picture with you as the model.
9/25/04 8:50 PM
Elona said...
That suit is just perfect. It looks terrific on you. The pin is indeed cool. I'm not a jewelry expert, but my first thought was someplace in the 30s or 40s. However, there's something a little Art-Deco-ish about the design, so it might go back further. Are there any identifying marks on it?
9/25/04 10:14 PM
Schnauzer said...
Fabulous suit drsue & the pin looks lovely with it.
9/26/04 1:53 AM
D1Diva said...
Oh yes, much better to see you wearing the suit. It is beautiful. Thanks for sharing!
9/26/04 2:05 AM
candyo said...
Very classy! I love it!
9/26/04 8:31 AM
AnneM said...
Wonderful job; I just added this pattern to my wish-list. You look VERY fashionable, & that pin does go great.
9/26/04 8:40 AM
cindyann said...
That fits you like a dream. Very, very nice.
9/26/04 10:16 AM
drsue said...
Elona: Thanks for your comments on the pin. Unfortunately there are no markings at all. It's in excellent shape so I didn't think it was that old. However, it is quite hefty, very solidly put together. The small rhinestones are slighty yellow with age. Maybe 30's is right, doubt the 40's as its too flashy me thinks for a war time piece. Wish I knew for sure.
9/26/04 10:49 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Wow. If you told me you had paid $800 for that outfit, I wouldn't have been surprised. I might have thought "Gee, I could have made it for lot less" - but I would never have gotten around to it. You did and what a reward you have. A great outfit that fits perfectly.
9/26/04 11:25 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Fabulous! You are a very talented sewist.
9/26/04 6:19 PM
Skymom said...
You look great in that suit! The proportions are really terrific on you, which must be a treat for a petite person. This is a great version of the season's biggest career look--and I agree about the fringe. Probably would be a bit much on you, plus, it will date the suit. Without it, you'll be able to wear this for many seasons.
9/27/04 9:54 AM
Debra H said...
This is very helpful to me...I am trying to decide between this pattern and La Fred's Maia Jacket...both are very cute. This jacket looks great on you...very flattering! Love the cool pin...no idea how old it is, but the important thing is that it look great and it does!
2/21/05 9:22 PM
DJM said...
Thank you for your comments and photos. Your suit look great! Three suits a season is indeed a lofty goal, but you are already 1/3 there. Congratulations! DJM
5/12/05 3:29 PM
QuickFade said...
Just bought the pattern and happened upon your review. Really great review. Thanks for the helpful tips. Although I'm much larger than you, I have often found it hard to find clothes that are big enough, at least in the misses department (juniors are different but most of the clothes are not appropriate for women our age). So, it's nice to see how this fits on someone with delicate bones and a tiny ribcage. I thought this would look good with it's substantial collar and waistline interest. Now, it will definitely get made.
8/1/05 3:13 AM
Soliel said...
I know this is an older review..but I have to say, Dr. Sue, you make the most awesome clothes. I am in love with your suit.
1/28/07 10:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Other Autumn love

photo
by: MiniandMer...

Review
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now
SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

Buy Now