Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2489 (Misses' Bra and Boxer Shorts) thumbsup - Type:Lingerie
Review submitted in One Pattern Many Looks Contest    printable version
Viewed 912 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 31 people   
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
NA GERMANY
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 290
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 270
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/31/11 4:09 PM


See other patterns in this category: Lingerie    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bananaoil said...
Thanks for the review. I'd like to know whether you can achieve really good comfort by making it yourself? I'm out of mine the minute I come through the door.
7/31/11 5:44 PM
Renren said...
Astonishing! I'm probably 2 yrs away from making something like this and I am in awe at your new bra collection.
7/31/11 6:14 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Sewing Buddy!! NOW you make bras... in Germany, eh!! You must be proud of your accomplishments. (Don't tell my DH we could save $$$ by sewing, OK!!) LOVE the red one the best, of course!! ;)
7/31/11 6:20 PM
treefrog said...
Wow! I'm so impressed! I love the embroidery on the red one.
7/31/11 7:11 PM
becca a said...
Wow! Terrific bras and fabulous review. I love your tutorial and explanations of each picture. You make bra-making look doable.
7/31/11 7:28 PM
Aroura said...
These are all amazing! I love them all, but have to agree the red one really stands out, though I also love the blue denim, blue with anchor buttons, and cream lace versions. I am very intrigued, and will keep this pattern in mind when I feel I have the skill to make my own bras. I also agree, I hate the comfort of most RTW bras, and would LOVE to make my own like yours, better fitting and more comfortable, and prettier!!
7/31/11 8:19 PM
Sewiing Sue said...
Great review and pictures with commentary. So much to admire--the red with the embroidery, the blue/denim, the lacey white, the cross stitched etc.
7/31/11 8:40 PM
jannw said...
Great collection!! Love the interesting fabrics and the embellishments...what a fun project!
7/31/11 9:25 PM
marec said...
Off to investigate this pattern and see if I can make my own cotton bras. Thanks so much for the inspiration-your work is terrific.
8/1/11 0:55 AM
FreyaStark said...
Amazing. A highly original lingerie wardrobe, and a fine effort.
8/1/11 3:26 AM
Margaret said...
Wow, thanks for all your kind comments! Yes, my favorites are the more decorated linen and ramie ones too. For some reason, the cotton ones didn't turn out as smooth. Perhaps starching them before sewing would help.

bananaoil, yes, I did get good comfort, as long as the elastic I used was wide enough (1cm or 3/8" is the width this pattern uses, and I would say that is a bare minimum, except maybe for an A cup size or smaller). Making these yourself does allow you to choose your own materials, so you would be able to use whatever fabric and elastic you would find most comfortable. Also, if you have a very large cup size and small band that's hard to find in RTW, or vice versa, making your own might be a way to get a better fitting size. The downside is, fitting is definitely a trial and error process and you might have to make several before you get one that really fits well.

becca, it's definitely doable -- most RTW seems to use only straight stitch, zigzag and three-step zigzag. The only thing they have that we don't is a machine to stamp out molded cups (like on T-shirt bras).

I just remembered, I have another few pics that show fitting the cup onto an existing RTW bra... will add those to the album.
8/1/11 8:04 AM

loti said...
Fabulous job, what a great selection of bras, the cross stitch detail was lovely... and the guipure.
8/1/11 9:21 AM
marjoriekh said...
Seven bras-- a real achievement! I love the embroidery and decorative stitching, and your fabric choices. Inspiring.
8/1/11 11:41 AM
Cuffs said...
Excellent review! I'm getting ready to attempt bra sewing, and this is just what I needed for inspiration. Very impressed with what you've accomplished here. Thank you!
8/1/11 12:02 PM
chicagochef said...
What a tour de force - beautiful work - I love the red one best. You added unique details to each one. I am really inspired.
8/1/11 8:43 PM
ElizabethDee said...
Oh my goodness! I'm totally awed. I was going to say how RTW your bras look, but really they are much prettier. And then there's your skill at fitting yourself! I can't imagine ever being able to sew a bra for myself, but if I did, I'd be bookmarking your review for your tips and for inspiration.
8/2/11 4:22 PM
Annette1 said...
WOW-WEE! You reall went to town with this pattern! I LOVE all your new bras, and you've provided us all with another GREAT review. :o)
8/2/11 4:47 PM
kremmer said...
Great review! You have done a fantastic job on all your bras. Well done!
8/3/11 0:21 AM
quixoticpixels said...
These are incredible!
8/3/11 2:00 PM
valkyrie01 said...
I am coming to this review abit late, having only recently become interested in bra-making.I have to say this is a tremendous effort, and what gorgeous results! you have really inspired me; i just ordered he pattern, and forgot that I had scrap embroidered red silk dupioni leftover that would make a divine bra! Thank you fro a very informative review, I have taken a lot of it to heart. fortunately I am pretty average in fitting but will make a muslin frst as you suggested. Again, they are gorgeous!
4/2/12 11:22 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Burda 7798
photo
Review by Mufffet on 8/23/08
Read Review

Simplicity 1613 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1613 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8806 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8806 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4017 OOP
photo
Review by carolynw on 3/15/09
Read Review

Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern
Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern
Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern
Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us