Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Japanese Pattern Books: Pattern Magic (Pinafore with Kakurenbo) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 477 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:jenleeC
photo
Friend of PR
About jenleeCstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/4/11
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/3/11 10:27 PM
Last Updated:8/28/11 8:18 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
peachfuzz said...
this is fabulous and inspiring...making a project from Pattern Magic is like the pinnacle of my sewing dreams.
8/3/11 10:56 PM
mm said...
This is wonderful and it was very brave of you to attempt it. Enjoy it!
8/3/11 11:20 PM
gsp1066 said...
Wow! I saw the pattern in the book, but couldn't imagine how it would work in real life. IMHO, yours looks nicer than the one in the book--and much more wearable. Kudos!
8/4/11 0:27 AM
marec said...
What a wonderful dress both in its concept and reality. I love your version, and am intrigued yet again by this book. But no, not for me...thanks for sharing with those of us who are not yet ready for drafting.
8/4/11 1:15 AM
Carolyn.S said...
This turned out just beautiful!! I have this book and you have inspired me to have a go at this pattern too... (and are you in Perth too??!)
8/4/11 1:17 AM
a life in stitches said...
Absolutely lovely dress and thank you for sharing your experience of the pattern drafting and making-up.
8/4/11 5:44 AM
Fran G said...
Absolutely chic! Gorgeous styling..love the neutral tones. Thank you for posting the photo from PM where those front seams can clearly be seen..stunning! Carolyn S...I saw your comment and had to tell you that as I read jenlee's review I thought of you and how this dress would so fit your style! Will be expecting your version in the coming months!! Thanks Jenlee..great review!
8/4/11 6:23 AM
Sewiing Sue said...
You did a gorgeous job.
8/4/11 9:35 AM
AuntieShel said...
Although I cannot enlarge your pic (problems with my computer) your thumbnail is gorgeous. I have this book and am so inspired by yours to give it a try. Are the bodice and skirt sections sewn right sides together? That must have been difficult. And you understitched as well? Wow!! Beautiful job and thanks so much for sharing this inspiring project.
8/4/11 9:49 AM
a life in stitches said...
A further thought - would you like to review the book? There are 2 reviews already, and although helpful, neither reviewer has actually drafted anything from it, so I think your insight would be valuable. I have been intrigued by this book and PM2, but only had a brief look at them in a bookshop, and would welcome comments that might help me make up my mind whether to buy it.
8/4/11 9:59 AM
sfshaza said...
This is so fabulous! It is so flattering on you. You really should make it again!! :D
8/4/11 11:24 AM
Karine said...
A masterpiece! That bodice seam is crazy! Great job.
8/4/11 11:38 AM
jenleeC said...
AuntieShel, yes I sewed the bodice and skirt right sides together, and yes, it was hard! I must have unpicked & re-sewed some sections 4 or 5 times! Next time I would try sewing from the right side of the fabric as I think this may be easier and it would also make more of a feature of the curve. Judging from the photos I think this is the construction method used on the PM sample. Thanks for your lovely comments!
8/5/11 5:27 AM
21wale said...
Beautiful dress! I'm glad to see this make up. Your softer fabric makes your version more wearable, I think, than the original version. Nice work!
8/5/11 9:31 AM
DorothyK said...
Wow. This is wonderful - and so inspiring. I have put off buying this book but now I don't think I will be able to resist. Thanks for your review.
8/8/11 10:11 AM
becca a said...
What an amazing dress! I love those curved lines where the skirt and bodice join. Wow! It looks gorgeous on you. I am afraid of these Japanese pattern drafting books, but one day when I feel ready to tackle this challenge, I will refer to your review.
8/9/11 8:52 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, the curved bodice is quite impressive. I am so glad you showed a close up of that detail. This is very cool and cute! I love it!
8/28/11 9:25 AM
VtMartha said...
Beautifully done! Thanks for sharing.
8/28/11 10:17 AM
Claverie said...
Wow, so glad you made the effort to try this out! Great design, and your dress hangs so nicely. But, what accounts for the emphasis in the original design? And I think you're right, top stitching probably would be a good move -- on your next one :). Hope you make another ... :D
8/28/11 11:32 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Simplicity 2282
photo
Review by Irene Bull... on 4/1/12
Read Review

Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Pristine Swing Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Pristine Swing Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4109
photo
Review by oliveoyl45 on 4/7/07
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7037 Pattern
Burda 7037 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse Tank Dress Group
Loes Hinse Tank Dress Group

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us