SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Japanese Pattern Books> Pattern Magic (Pinafore with Kakurenbo)

2 more reviews
Viewed 490 times 
Reviewed by:jenleeC
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jenleeCstar
WA Australia
Member since: 6/4/11
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/3/11 10:27 PM
Last Updated:8/28/11 8:18 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
peachfuzz said...
this is fabulous and inspiring...making a project from Pattern Magic is like the pinnacle of my sewing dreams.
8/3/11 10:56 PM
mm said...
This is wonderful and it was very brave of you to attempt it. Enjoy it!
8/3/11 11:20 PM
gsp1066 said...
Wow! I saw the pattern in the book, but couldn't imagine how it would work in real life. IMHO, yours looks nicer than the one in the book--and much more wearable. Kudos!
8/4/11 0:27 AM
marec said...
What a wonderful dress both in its concept and reality. I love your version, and am intrigued yet again by this book. But no, not for me...thanks for sharing with those of us who are not yet ready for drafting.
8/4/11 1:15 AM
Carolyn.S said...
This turned out just beautiful!! I have this book and you have inspired me to have a go at this pattern too... (and are you in Perth too??!)
8/4/11 1:17 AM
a life in stitches said...
Absolutely lovely dress and thank you for sharing your experience of the pattern drafting and making-up.
8/4/11 5:44 AM
Fran G said...
Absolutely chic! Gorgeous styling..love the neutral tones. Thank you for posting the photo from PM where those front seams can clearly be seen..stunning! Carolyn S...I saw your comment and had to tell you that as I read jenlee's review I thought of you and how this dress would so fit your style! Will be expecting your version in the coming months!! Thanks Jenlee..great review!
8/4/11 6:23 AM
Sewiing Sue said...
You did a gorgeous job.
8/4/11 9:35 AM
AuntieShel said...
Although I cannot enlarge your pic (problems with my computer) your thumbnail is gorgeous. I have this book and am so inspired by yours to give it a try. Are the bodice and skirt sections sewn right sides together? That must have been difficult. And you understitched as well? Wow!! Beautiful job and thanks so much for sharing this inspiring project.
8/4/11 9:49 AM
a life in stitches said...
A further thought - would you like to review the book? There are 2 reviews already, and although helpful, neither reviewer has actually drafted anything from it, so I think your insight would be valuable. I have been intrigued by this book and PM2, but only had a brief look at them in a bookshop, and would welcome comments that might help me make up my mind whether to buy it.
8/4/11 9:59 AM
sfshaza said...
This is so fabulous! It is so flattering on you. You really should make it again!! :D
8/4/11 11:24 AM
Karine said...
A masterpiece! That bodice seam is crazy! Great job.
8/4/11 11:38 AM
jenleeC said...
AuntieShel, yes I sewed the bodice and skirt right sides together, and yes, it was hard! I must have unpicked & re-sewed some sections 4 or 5 times! Next time I would try sewing from the right side of the fabric as I think this may be easier and it would also make more of a feature of the curve. Judging from the photos I think this is the construction method used on the PM sample. Thanks for your lovely comments!
8/5/11 5:27 AM
21wale said...
Beautiful dress! I'm glad to see this make up. Your softer fabric makes your version more wearable, I think, than the original version. Nice work!
8/5/11 9:31 AM
DorothyK said...
Wow. This is wonderful - and so inspiring. I have put off buying this book but now I don't think I will be able to resist. Thanks for your review.
8/8/11 10:11 AM
becca a said...
What an amazing dress! I love those curved lines where the skirt and bodice join. Wow! It looks gorgeous on you. I am afraid of these Japanese pattern drafting books, but one day when I feel ready to tackle this challenge, I will refer to your review.
8/9/11 8:52 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, the curved bodice is quite impressive. I am so glad you showed a close up of that detail. This is very cool and cute! I love it!
8/28/11 9:25 AM
VtMartha said...
Beautifully done! Thanks for sharing.
8/28/11 10:17 AM
Claverie said...
Wow, so glad you made the effort to try this out! Great design, and your dress hangs so nicely. But, what accounts for the emphasis in the original design? And I think you're right, top stitching probably would be a good move -- on your next one :). Hope you make another ... :D
8/28/11 11:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 1312

photo
by: Graca

Review
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Buy Now